Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 01:31:50
Subject: ObSec unit in non ObSec vehicle - still superscoring?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Hi Dakka,
I had this situation come up on the weekend. GK ObSec henchmen (because of Coteaz) were embarked on a LRC. GK can't take LR as dedicated transports, so the LR was scoring, but not Objective Secured (ObSec).
The LR moved up to within 3" of an objective, which had an ObSec enemy drop pod controlling it.
Two questions:
1) ERB Pg 594 "Controlling Objectives" doesn't have the 6e restriction about embarked troops not controlling objectives, so, I claimed the objective was contested by the ObSec unit inside. I think that was OK per RAW. Any concerns with that?
2) Then there was confusion as to where to measure from? If the embarked troop is ObSec and the embarked unit is trying to control the objective, do you have to measure from an access point for the 3" to get ObSec, or can you measure from any point on the vehicle hull? We played the access point, but I can't find anything either way on this.
Note, the question is specifically about getting ObSec benefits, as noted before, the LR is scoring anyway.
Thanks!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/30 01:32:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 02:17:58
Subject: ObSec unit in non ObSec vehicle - still superscoring?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
The closest situation I can find is BRB 134, "Controlling Objective Markers."
"Any unit that is in a building is considered to be w/i 3" of any Objective Markers that are on or w/i 3" of the building." Embarking in a building is very similar to embarking in a vehicle, so you may be able to draw the same conclusion.
This, though, means that you measure anywhere on the hull of the LR, not just the access points (which was an unfounded idea, I think, but probably a safer way to play since you were unsure).
This basically means that putting an ObSec unit inside a normal Transport makes the Transport ObSec. Interesting.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 02:19:46
Subject: ObSec unit in non ObSec vehicle - still superscoring?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
I agree on your conclusion, and in fact state that they must be included in the calculations thanks to the removal of that very Restriction. You did make a mistake however, as the Transport section allow us to measure to the Hull of the Vehicle for these purposes.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/30 02:24:23
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 02:36:47
Subject: ObSec unit in non ObSec vehicle - still superscoring?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Thanks guys.
It was interesting, because that means there are a couple of situations that could arise
a) A hovering SR or a LR with a 12pt acolyte unit embarked (assuming Coteaz) becomes superscoring.
b) I'll need to measure my Ghost Arks, because I think they are just over 6" long. That means that a GA with an embarked unit can juuuusst control 2 objectives placed 12" apart (if you measure from hull), one for the GA and the other from the embarked unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 03:16:03
Subject: ObSec unit in non ObSec vehicle - still superscoring?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
On that second point, keep in mind that you must decide which of the two you are controlling as Restrictions exist preventing one Unit from controlling both.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 03:22:01
Subject: ObSec unit in non ObSec vehicle - still superscoring?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Aren't there 2 units though? The GA itself, and the embarked unit? So, I was thinking the GA would control one, and the embarked unit the other.
If that isn't the case, how does the original example work - I think the original example requires the embarked unit to control the objective to get ObSec?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
There is a follow up question....
If you have a combat squadded GKSS unit in a LR, you have two embarked units.
If you are playing a BAO mission then, and a scouring objective is within 12" of a Maelstrom objective, can you ObSec control both with the embarked units? Per the logic above, I think the answer would be yes.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/06/30 03:41:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 05:16:40
Subject: ObSec unit in non ObSec vehicle - still superscoring?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
That is a good point.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 08:45:41
Subject: ObSec unit in non ObSec vehicle - still superscoring?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, as you gave two units in range
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 16:59:29
Subject: ObSec unit in non ObSec vehicle - still superscoring?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:
This, though, means that you measure anywhere on the hull of the LR, not just the access points (which was an unfounded idea, I think, but probably a safer way to play since you were unsure).
Rulebook even says that if you need to measure to a unit inside a transport (other than shooting), then you measure to/from the hull.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|