Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/16 20:35:09
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Audacious Atalan Jackal
UK
|
Hey. I just play a fun list - green tide against Chao!
When I just assult onto chao marine unit with warlord attach to unit.
Warlord issue a challenging on my greentide and my opponent told me I have to accept challenge. My Nob die. Not allow to assult on warlord so I assult his unit instead! Wipe out chao marine... Still locked with warlord, his turn - warlord issue challenging again and kill other Nob... My Boyz do not allow to fight with warlord because warlord had been challenged my Nob but my 100 Boyz unable to do anything! And the result - 0-1. Then my opponent said I have to leadership test for sweeping advance... I thought " what? One vs 100?" Then I say Mobz Rulez! Fearless! ( I know I know.... Bad habit from Old codex! Oops!)
My green tide are locked in combat with single enemy who keeping issue a challenging every single game turn...
After read new codex, mobz rulez do not give my BoyZ fearless...
I just thought...
Is it possible to wipe out the green tide with sweeping advance?!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/16 20:44:08
Subject: Re:Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter
|
Since they are not fearless, then yes you could lose due to sweeping advance.
However a key point here is you should retread the rules regarding challenges. Read the entire section, as there are a couple things your opponent told you that are incorrect.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/16 20:48:20
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Challenges do not work like that anymore. You 100 boyz would attack his warlord.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 00:10:06
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
CC works differently in 7th. Wounds can spill out of and into challenges, and your boys are allowed to hit a challenger if there is nothing else to attack.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 06:00:10
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Per the BRB (digital edition, so I can't quote page numbers):
"“Outside Forces
Whilst the challenge is ongoing, other models locked in the combat can only allocate Wounds to the models involved in the challenge after all other enemy models that are locked in that combat (if any) have been removed as casualties, even if the models fighting in a challenge are the closest "
So, unless I am missing something, you cannot hit a model in a challenge, but only allocate wounds once you run out of other models to allocate them to. If there are no other models to hit, you cannot generate wounds to roll over to the model in the challenge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 06:03:43
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
I think its worth noting that in close combat as long as you have characters and sufficient units size the Mob rule will prevent you from failing morale in combat and will kill a few boyz instead
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/11/17 06:04:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 07:18:28
Subject: Re:Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
Firstly, challenges have changed. You can strike the guyz in challenges if there's noone else to strike and allocate extra wounds to them as well. Just read the challenge part in the BRB.
Secondly, if you have at least 1 character and >10 models in a squad, you can't get a failed result via mob rule.
And thirdly, you're not forced to accept challenges. Only Warboss in this formation must accept challenges and if he's not within fighting range (2' within the b2b model), he can't challenge or be challenged out.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/11/17 07:20:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 08:29:43
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Strtkwr wrote:Per the BRB (digital edition, so I can't quote page numbers):
"“Outside Forces
Whilst the challenge is ongoing, other models locked in the combat can only allocate Wounds to the models involved in the challenge after all other enemy models that are locked in that combat (if any) have been removed as casualties, even if the models fighting in a challenge are the closest "
So, unless I am missing something, you cannot hit a model in a challenge, but only allocate wounds once you run out of other models to allocate them to. If there are no other models to hit, you cannot generate wounds to roll over to the model in the challenge.
I initially thought it was played like that too. Turns out that challenges aren't a safe haven any more
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 08:36:06
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Strtkwr wrote:Per the BRB (digital edition, so I can't quote page numbers):
"“Outside Forces
Whilst the challenge is ongoing, other models locked in the combat can only allocate Wounds to the models involved in the challenge after all other enemy models that are locked in that combat (if any) have been removed as casualties, even if the models fighting in a challenge are the closest "
So, unless I am missing something, you cannot hit a model in a challenge, but only allocate wounds once you run out of other models to allocate them to. If there are no other models to hit, you cannot generate wounds to roll over to the model in the challenge.
Nothing about challenges prevent you from rolling to hit. Challenges only prevented you from allocating wounds into a challenge, which Outside Forces gets around.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 08:40:22
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
Out in the country in Denmark. Zealand
|
And it's also worth pointing out that you can only issue ONE challenge per close combat, so he can't really keep challenging the tide to keep killing your nobs and warboss.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 08:53:16
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
big mek crazygit wrote:And it's also worth pointing out that you can only issue ONE challenge per close combat, so he can't really keep challenging the tide to keep killing your nobs and warboss.
If the Ork characters keep dying there's nothing to prevent further challenges being issued in subsequent turns.
Unless it's changed from 6th.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 09:28:57
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
Out in the country in Denmark. Zealand
|
Trust me, it has. I don't exactly remember the page number of where it states it, but it is there.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 09:33:51
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
big mek crazygit wrote:Trust me, it has. I don't exactly remember the page number of where it states it, but it is there.
The wording is the same as it was in 6ed
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 11:03:42
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
big mek crazygit wrote:Trust me, it has. I don't exactly remember the page number of where it states it, but it is there.
I would rather trust the Rulebook which says otherwise.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 13:28:31
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
big mek crazygit wrote:Trust me, it has. I don't exactly remember the page number of where it states it, but it is there.
It's not there. As long as there are characters, he can challenge.
Nothing has changed from 6th.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 13:56:57
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
AS above. Big mek is incorrect on this, others should not trust them
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 14:14:15
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Audacious Atalan Jackal
UK
|
Yeah Chao warlord killing two Nob per game turn ( one Chao combat turn and one my turn )
Until in 5th game turn the 8th Nobs dying and Chao warlord ran out of Challenging because 2 Nobz and Warboss are too far, back of the Greentide. ( good Job!)
My boyz wipe off this dirty smirk face off the Chao Warlord face! Too bad I only got Victory point from warlord and Chao got 14 VP.. I only have one unit!
Can I refused my opponent a challenge even if they told me that I cannot refuse?
If this was true then I should have won a game because in first close combat I allow to kill that warlord without use up my power-klaw Nobz.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 14:17:54
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Solidcrash wrote:Can I refused my opponent a challenge even if they told me that I cannot refuse?
If this was true then I should have won a game because in first close combat I allow to kill that warlord without use up my power-klaw Nobz.
Yes you can refuse, as long as there's no extra rule that prevents it (if your opponenet has one, ask him to show it to you).
But bare in mind the "Biggest an' da Best" rule from the Green Tide, if the Warboss in there is your Warlord.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 14:26:18
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Audacious Atalan Jackal
UK
|
grendel083 wrote:Solidcrash wrote:Can I refused my opponent a challenge even if they told me that I cannot refuse?
If this was true then I should have won a game because in first close combat I allow to kill that warlord without use up my power-klaw Nobz.
Yes you can refuse, as long as there's no extra rule that prevents it (if your opponenet has one, ask him to show it to you).
But bare in mind the "Biggest an' da Best" rule from the Green Tide, if the Warboss in there is your Warlord.
Yeah His Chao Warlord must issue and accept a challenge whenever possible, and My Warboss are about 12" away. Too far correct?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 14:30:34
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Solidcrash wrote: grendel083 wrote:Solidcrash wrote:Can I refused my opponent a challenge even if they told me that I cannot refuse?
If this was true then I should have won a game because in first close combat I allow to kill that warlord without use up my power-klaw Nobz.
Yes you can refuse, as long as there's no extra rule that prevents it (if your opponenet has one, ask him to show it to you).
But bare in mind the "Biggest an' da Best" rule from the Green Tide, if the Warboss in there is your Warlord.
Yeah His Chao Warlord must issue and accept a challenge whenever possible, and My Warboss are about 12" away. Too far correct?
Corect. If you're too far away to attack, you can't issue/accept challenges.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 14:40:18
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
Out in the country in Denmark. Zealand
|
Ey, 'dat ain't nice.
Nevertheless, if you all don't believe me, check page 101 in the text under "Issuing a Challenge". There's a bolded line stating what I mentioned.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 14:41:11
Subject: Re:Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Audacious Atalan Jackal
UK
|
Bah... I should have this joy just like this part from Planet of the Ape!
Automatically Appended Next Post: big mek crazygit wrote:
Ey, 'dat ain't nice.
Nevertheless, if you all don't believe me, check page 101 in the text under "Issuing a Challenge". There's a bolded line stating what I mentioned.
yeah saw it. only once per close combat phase. that mean unit vs unit, since I only have one unit
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/17 14:44:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 14:49:41
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
big mek crazygit wrote:
Ey, 'dat ain't nice.
Nevertheless, if you all don't believe me, check page 101 in the text under "Issuing a Challenge". There's a bolded line stating what I mentioned.
If you continue reading that rule (in particular the third paragraph) you'll see why you were not correct.
Once one challenge is over, you can issue another one.
"Once one challenge has been made, no further challenges can be issued in that combat that turn. If the challenge is accepted (see opposite), no further challenges can be issued until that challenge has been resolved."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/17 14:59:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 15:06:53
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
Out in the country in Denmark. Zealand
|
grendel083 wrote: big mek crazygit wrote:
Ey, 'dat ain't nice.
Nevertheless, if you all don't believe me, check page 101 in the text under "Issuing a Challenge". There's a bolded line stating what I mentioned.
If you continue reading that rule (in particular the third paragraph) you'll see why you were not correct.
Once one challenge is over, you can issue another one.
"Once one challenge has been made, no further challenges can be issued in that combat that turn. If the challenge is accepted (see opposite), no further challenges can be issued until that challenge has been resolved."
I stand corrected then.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 19:02:50
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The smiley was supposed to make it nicer
As above, this is the exact same rule as in 6th, and if you just read the first line you think it means for the whole combat, as they used a poor choice of words.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 20:40:28
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Audacious Atalan Jackal
UK
|
Yeah. Once per unit who are locked in combat. Or it would be suicidal that I have to sent this single model to kill all ten nob with power klaw and warboss with power klaw!! I would be tabled in my own second turn(!)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 20:51:52
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
It would still be suicide as all your other Nobz and Boyz still get to hit him. I wonder how 90 boyz and all those Nobz didn't finish him off in the first round?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 21:22:51
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Audacious Atalan Jackal
UK
|
FlingitNow wrote:It would still be suicide as all your other Nobz and Boyz still get to hit him. I wonder how 90 boyz and all those Nobz didn't finish him off in the first round?
That was because He issue a challenge in every combat turn. I refuse his challenge because he had a advantage ( high initiative while my nobs has initiative of one.)
He said I cannot refuse challenge and had to challenge him instead. I want to attack him with my boyz, he said I am not allow to do that. Bah I give in and carry on with it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 21:38:36
Subject: Re:Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
if the opponent had just their warlord...
Outside Forces Whilst the challenge is ongoing, other models locked in the combat can only allocate Wounds to the models involved in the challenge after all other enemy models that are locked in that combat (if any) have been removed as casualties, even if the models fighting in a challenge are the closest models.
all of your other models could attack it, even if it is in a challenge with one of your other models.
You can also refuse the challenge, or accept with any character model (nob) if you want and have the rest just beat down the chaos lord.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/17 21:38:46
Subject: Ork Green tide and sweep advanced question
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yes he issues a challenge you accept. He kills the Nob, then your boyz and Nobz kill him. Challenges no longer stop attacks going into or out of them. They are effectively just character sniping now.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|