Switch Theme:

kastellax reflect shots, can they hit embarked units.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel






So you can't target units in vehicles. But the kastellax reflects shots back at the attacker. Long story short a unit of IG targeted my robots yesterday from inside a chimera with a melts that I saved on a 6+. We ruled it hit a randomized guy inside and killed him. But raw it seems impossible, also wouldn't he at least get a cover save inside there?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/22 04:17:30


warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!

8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
 
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

Doesn't the robots rule say something like "as if shot by the kastellax"

If thats the case you cannot allocate wounds anywhere due the unit being out of sight of the robots

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel






It does not say that. It says the gak reflects back at the source roll to wound/ pen normally. What's funny is you could be hit by a d str non template weapon, make your 6+, then roll against the original shooter and roll a 6.

warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!

8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
 
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

 Orock wrote:
It does not say that. It says the gak reflects back at the source roll to wound/ pen normally. What's funny is you could be hit by a d str non template weapon, make your 6+, then roll against the original shooter and roll a 6.


That........would be the best thing EVER!

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Orock wrote:
... roll to wound/ pen normally.

Which leaves you with nobody in sight to take the wound.

 
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

Would open topped be the same? You cant draw line of sight but can allocate wounds.




Automatically Appended Next Post:
I suppose that sounds exactly like the blast question

Never mind

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/22 06:28:15


"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




How can you allocate wounds to a unit inside of an open toopped vehicle, without the "no escape" rule or similar?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



chicagoland

Id say the tank gets hit
   
Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker






sangheili wrote:
Id say the tank gets hit


This seems like the best way to handle it...treat the tank as the source of the attack.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






It depends on how the rule is worded. Since most people won't have the codex you're asking about, most people would have to guess how it works until someone quotes the rule in question.
   
Made in ca
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine





Canada

Here is the RAW from the rules section in the Kastelan kit:


Furthermore, each time a Kastelan Robot is targeted by a shooting attack and passes a saving throw of any kind on the roll of a 6, the shot is deflected. If a shot is deflected, the unit that fired it suffers an immediate hit resolved with the Strength, AP value and special rules of the hit that was originally allocated to the Kastelan Robot, as if it had just been shot at by that Kastelan Robot. Cannot deflect Blast or Template weapons or Psychic Shooting Attacks.

Seems RAW, embarked people would be immune because they aren't a model within range and LoS to be wounded....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/24 23:41:48


Dark Angels 1st, 2nd, 5th, 10th Companies,
~14,000 points
36-21-4

~ 4500 points of Tau
5-5-1

~2500 points of Admech 40k

~6500 points of Tyranids: Hive Fleet Niadra
1-2-0 
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator




Bournemouth

HIWPI, Resolve against the tank, it makes the most sense.

WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






RAW say that the unit that fired the shot "suffers a hit" ... "as if it had just been shot by the robot". It doesn't say the robot has to shoot the unit. It doesn't have to roll to hit or even have to be able to target the unit, and it doesn't tell us that anything besides the unit that fired the shot can be hit.

HIWPI: the unit suffers a hit with the wound allocated randomly to one of the models in the unit. This doesn't break any rules since:

1) the robot isn't making a shooting attack and therefore it isn't bound by any of the rules for targeting, LOS, etc.

2) the special rule "reflect" or whatever it's called tells you that the unit which shot the robot "suffers a hit" and doesn't give any reason to think embarked units are immune.

3) the rule only breaks down because we're not told how to allocate the hit to the unit. So patch it with a "random allocation".

Again, that's HIWPI, and I feel that it's as close to RAW as you can get.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

No, as close to RAW as you can get is:

- The embarked unit suffers a hit
- Roll to wound as normal.
- No model in the unit is in LOS, and therefore the wound pool immediately empties, and so no wounds are allocated.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/05/25 03:47:52


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Right. I wasn't thinking it through. At the top of page 35 of the BRB is the "Out of Sight" rule. "If none of the firing models can draw a line of sight to a particular model in the target unit, then wounds cannot be allocated to it... If there are no visible models in the target unit, all remaining wounds are lost."

If the original shot had a special rule that it did not require LoS, then I'm not sure if it would be so clear, but shots from any other weapon would be lost.

Thanks insaniak.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Crew and embarked unit are two separate things.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: