Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 20:50:41
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Student Curious About Xenos
|
Coteaz has a special rule which states him and his unit can make an immediate out of sequence shooting attack at any enemy unit that arrives from reserves within 12" of Coteaz himself. There's NO LIMIT to the amount of times this can be used each turn.
If a drop pod arrives from reserves within 12 inches (so after scatter) and a unit of assault marines disembarks and heads toward Coteaz, ending within 12", does his unit just shoot the drop pod, shoot both the pod and the marines, or just the marines?
Now I've always assumed he would just be shooting just the Marines. But look, thinking about it, the drop pod arrived from reserves as well so he should get to shoot at that too. The shot happens immediately after an enemy unit arrives from reserves. So as soon as the drop pod lands, he shoots at it, right? Does his mean even before the assault marines have disembarked? See Interceptor is at the end of the movement phase which makes it simpler, but Coteaz's rule is different. So he shoots at the pod and can potentially destroy it before the assault marines have disembarked? Then, if he didn't destroy the drop pod, after the marines disembark, he gets to shoot them too because they arrived from reserves this turn.
So, two shots yes? And can he blow up the pod before the assault marines disembark (this would cause emergency disembark)?
Thanks. Can you cite the section of the book when you make the call?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 22:04:47
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
He gets to shoot at the pod and marines. If the marines combat squad you can even shoot each individual unit as well as the pod.
If he destroys the pod whilst the marines are embarked it works just like any other transport that is destroyed and you still get to fire at the marines if they are within 12" and LOS.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 22:14:11
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Disembarking from a Deep Striking Transport is part of the Deep Striking event for the Drop Pod's rules.
So, you cannot shoot the Drop Pod first before they Disembark.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/28 22:35:11
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
california
|
Charistoph wrote:Disembarking from a Deep Striking Transport is part of the Deep Striking event for the Drop Pod's rules.
So, you cannot shoot the Drop Pod first before they Disembark.
However what is above this post is correct in the sense of drop pod, squad, and if combat squadded, both squads, can be shot at. With full bs. At rapid fire range if with other types of marines. Oh yeah.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/29 07:27:17
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Both the marines disembarking and the IBEY attack occur at the same time. The player who's turn it is therefore gets to select order.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/30 18:00:44
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Snord
|
The marines didn't arrive from reserve... they disembarked. Coteaz can shoot the pod, not he unit that disembarks
|
LunaHound wrote:Eldrad was responsible for 911 *disclaimer, because Eldrad is known to be a dick, making dick moves that takes eons to fruit.
tremere47 wrote:fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate, leads to triple riptide spam |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/30 18:13:07
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Von Chogg wrote:The marines didn't arrive from reserve... they disembarked. Coteaz can shoot the pod, not he unit that disembarks
"In the Movement phase during which they arrive, Deep Striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a Deep Striking Transport vehicle if they are in one."
- Arriving by Deep Strike
Marines arrived by Deep Strike in Deep Striking Transport and Coteaz can shoot at them.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/30 18:13:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/30 19:35:44
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
california
|
Von Chogg wrote:The marines didn't arrive from reserve... they disembarked. Coteaz can shoot the pod, not he unit that disembarks
Lol I hope you don't really play like this. It's complete disregard of the actual rules. Coteaz will proceed to blast your marines away
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/02 15:54:50
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Marines are never inside a drop pod. The drop pod enters at the same time as the marines. You can coteaz against both.
Both the marines and drop pod arrive from reserves at the same time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/02 16:00:22
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
die toten hosen wrote:Marines are never inside a drop pod. The drop pod enters at the same time as the marines. You can coteaz against both.
Both the marines and drop pod arrive from reserves at the same time.
Reserves Rules, Deep Strike Rules, and Transport Rules state otherwise.
While the models themselves would not literally be embarked or inside the drop pod, the unit would be in gameplay terms, and that is what we are concerning ourselves with. This is not Rogue Trader or 2nd Edition where the Transport Capacity could be "whatever you could fit, and if they fall out, they die".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/02 16:00:43
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/02 16:33:55
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
california
|
Charistoph wrote:die toten hosen wrote:Marines are never inside a drop pod. The drop pod enters at the same time as the marines. You can coteaz against both.
Both the marines and drop pod arrive from reserves at the same time.
Reserves Rules, Deep Strike Rules, and Transport Rules state otherwise.
While the models themselves would not literally be embarked or inside the drop pod, the unit would be in gameplay terms, and that is what we are concerning ourselves with. This is not Rogue Trader or 2nd Edition where the Transport Capacity could be "whatever you could fit, and if they fall out, they die".
I agree with you on that, however to say the unit that was inside the transport can not be targetted is ignore and disobeying rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/02 16:52:31
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Pain4Pleasure wrote:Charistoph wrote:die toten hosen wrote:Marines are never inside a drop pod. The drop pod enters at the same time as the marines. You can coteaz against both.
Both the marines and drop pod arrive from reserves at the same time.
Reserves Rules, Deep Strike Rules, and Transport Rules state otherwise.
While the models themselves would not literally be embarked or inside the drop pod, the unit would be in gameplay terms, and that is what we are concerning ourselves with. This is not Rogue Trader or 2nd Edition where the Transport Capacity could be "whatever you could fit, and if they fall out, they die".
I agree with you on that, however to say the unit that was inside the transport can not be targetted is ignore and disobeying rules.
Not saying otherwise. In fact, my earlier post said as much. Drop Pod Deep Strikes and immediately Disembarks the unit(s) it is carrying and then is Immobilized. These are the Drop Pod's rules, and how it works in gameplay. Coteaz cannot do anything in the middle of that. After that is processed, is a completely different story.
Model-wise, Die Toten Hosen, is pretty much correct. Marines are never inside the drop pod (well, not if you want to be practical, and are physically placed on the board right after the Drop Pod (to verify Disembarking locations). But this isn't a question on how to carry your models to the table.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/04 06:22:54
Subject: Coteaz shooting at units in drop pods (two shooting attacks or just one?)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Charistoph wrote:die toten hosen wrote:Marines are never inside a drop pod. The drop pod enters at the same time as the marines. You can coteaz against both.
Both the marines and drop pod arrive from reserves at the same time.
Reserves Rules, Deep Strike Rules, and Transport Rules state otherwise.
While the models themselves would not literally be embarked or inside the drop pod, the unit would be in gameplay terms, and that is what we are concerning ourselves with. This is not Rogue Trader or 2nd Edition where the Transport Capacity could be "whatever you could fit, and if they fall out, they die".
No, you are wrong.
The unit and the drop pod are two seperate units arriving from reserves using the deepstrike rules. As soon as the drop pod scatter is resolved and the pod placed, the unit arrives on the table.
Then coteaz resolves his ability against both.
|
|
 |
 |
|