Switch Theme:

Mek guns and ammo runts  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





If i take a mek gun and miss with the scatter does the ammo runt allow a reroll on the scatter or the gets hot (if using the kustom mega kannon) or both? Can i choose to reroll the gets hot and this gives me a reroll on scatter or do i need to use an ammo runt to reroll the gets hot then another runt to reroll the scatter?
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

What does the Blast and Gets Hot rules say about rerolls?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Honestly, not enough on conditional rerolls.

Blasts that have reroll to hit reroll scatter.

Gets hot blasts that have reroll reroll the "gets hot result"(the 1 before firing).

But you do not have the reroll to hit until the ammo runt is used.

Gets hot blasts and ammo runts are a legitimate question in the rules.

The closest I can figure is that ammo runt and gets hot blast cannot reroll the gets hot result(can't use the ammo runt until you strike, cannot strike when you gets hot, gets hot lets you reroll the gets hot if you reroll the strike.)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Bismarck ND

This is very interesting, does an Ammo Runt let you reroll a Gets Hot blast, and if that is true does rerolling a Gets Hot blast consume the Ammo Runt.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






That... Was exactly the question asked.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






One use only. A model with an ammo runt can re-roll one To Hit roll when shooting.

The funny thing is that RAW you don't need to spend an ammo runt to re-roll something as it says "a model with an ammo runt". And actually, when you do use one, it stops giving you re-rolls emidiately cause you no longer have an ammo runt and thus don't meet requirement to be "a model with an ammo runt".

So, RAW, you simply get master-crafted for 3 pts. How i play it is that you spend an ammo runt to either re-roll a gets hot result or a scatter.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
If it was written "A model with an ammo runt can use it to re-roll..." but as now, you just get a 3 pt re-roll untill you want to spend it...for no good reason but orkiness.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/16 04:36:42


 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

 koooaei wrote:
One use only. A model with an ammo runt can re-roll one To Hit roll when shooting.

The funny thing is that RAW you don't need to spend an ammo runt to re-roll something as it says "a model with an ammo runt". And actually, when you do use one, it stops giving you re-rolls emidiately cause you no longer have an ammo runt and thus don't meet requirement to be "a model with an ammo runt".

So, RAW, you simply get master-crafted for 3 pts. How i play it is that you spend an ammo runt to either re-roll a gets hot result or a scatter.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
If it was written "A model with an ammo runt can use it to re-roll..." but as now, you just get a 3 pt re-roll untill you want to spend it...for no good reason but orkiness.


Someone who sees the RAW laid out the same way i did, causing this entire scenario to be brought to the fore in the first place. Mainly i was digging through my ork codex looking for things that would help them stay competitive in the face of eldar, khorne daemonkin, battle companies, and the like. I like Kustom Mega Kannons, and using ammo runts to keep them from overheating probably makes them the best artillery in the game.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Wichita, KS

 koooaei wrote:
The funny thing is that RAW you don't need to spend an ammo runt to re-roll something as it says "a model with an ammo runt". And actually, when you do use one, it stops giving you re-rolls emidiately cause you no longer have an ammo runt and thus don't meet requirement to be "a model with an ammo runt".
That isn't how "One Use Only" works.

Rules:
Spoiler:
BRB page 168:
"One Use Only:
A weapon or ability with this special rule can only be used once during the course of a battle."

Ork Codex page ??
"Ammo Runt:
One Use Only. A Model with an ammo runt can re-roll one To Hit roll when shooting."

Because of the One Use Only rule, you can only use the ammo runt's ability once per game. Even though the Ammo Runt isn't technically consumed, it no longer grants its ability.




Now lets get down to answering the original question.


Rules:
Spoiler:
BRB page 164:
"Gets Hot and Weapons that don't Roll to hit:
Weapons that do not roll to Hit (Such as blast weapons) must roll a D6 for each shot immediately before firing. On a 2+, the shot is resolved as normal. For each roll of a 1, the weapon Gets Hot; that shot is not fired and the firing model immediately suffers a wound..."

BRB page 164:
"Gets Hot and Re-rolls:
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin Linked special rule) a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit."

The "Gets Hot" roll is part of Rolling to Hit. For a blast weapon, it is a single roll to hit. 1st your roll gets hot. If you roll a 1 you do not roll to scatter, the weapon didn't fire. If you roll a 2+ then you roll the scatter, but both the roll for "Gets Hot", and the Roll to Scatter are part of the "Roll to Hit".


Q. Can you reroll a "Gets Hot"?
A. Yes. Using an ammo runt allows you to reroll a single To Hit roll. The Gets Hot is part of that roll.

Q. Can you reroll a Scatter?
A. Yes. Using an ammo runt allows you to reroll a single To Hit roll. The Scatter is part of that roll.

Q. If I rerolled a "Gets Hot", can I reroll the scatter on that same To Hit roll?
A. Yes. Using an ammo runt allows you to reroll a single To Hit roll. You can reroll both parts on the turn you use an Ammo Runt.

Q. Can I use an Ammo Runt more than once?
A. No. The One Use Only rule means that the ability only works once per game.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: