Switch Theme:

D-weapon with Instant Death vs a GMC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

Here's a question:

A D weapon with Instant Death hits a GMC and rolls a 2-5 on the D chart. What happens?

1) It does 1d3 wounds from the D chart and a further 1d3 for Instant Death, as if it had done a single instant death wound.

2) It does 1d3 wounds from the D chart and then rolls a further 1d3 wounds per wound inflicted due to the chart? That is to say, if I roll a 3 on the d3 from the D chart, is that 3 Instant Death wounds?

I believe the D chart says it does d3 instead of 1 wounds, meaning that it is in fact d3 Instant Death wounds (instead of one Instant Death wound). But I have no idea.

I hope the question is clear.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






I agree with #3; all wounds inflicted have all special rules for those wounds applied, so 3 wounds rolled with the ID rule causes d3 additional wounds per against GCs.

A roll of 6 would cause d6+6 d3 additional wounds.

Luckily there are very few(if any) inherent ID D-weapons(or gcs with T5 or less); so it is not likely to come up too often.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

The Ordinatus Ulator is Str D against GMCs and has the Instant Death special rule as well as auto-hitting and ignoring cover.
   
Made in gb
Proud Triarch Praetorian





 Unit1126PLL wrote:
The Ordinatus Ulator is Str D against GMCs and has the Instant Death special rule as well as auto-hitting and ignoring cover.
That thing is all kinds of ridiculous enough already though to be fair.

To answer your actual question though, yes I believe that each "unsaved wound" from that as a result of the D-Table would inflict D3 wounds instead of the one. As such, the 2-5 results would be (D3)D3 wounds, and the 6 being (D6+6)D3 wounds.

Mildly ludicrous

Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: