gungo wrote:"All the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more than one Detachment. If you choose to use a Battle-forged army, you must tell your opponent what units belong to what Detachments and what Command Benefits each will receive (if any) before you start deploying your army."
This rule flat out states that formation special rules such as sky hammer formstion are given to units before deployment. And no unit can belong to more then one detachment.
Umm, you have a misquote there. The rule you quoted doesn't actually state anything in your following assertion. You may want to go back and fix that.
And you may want to back to review my case. I actually addressed that earlier in the previous post:
Charistoph wrote:gungo wrote: I can show you the rule that states no model can be part of a formation it was not purchased for.
Again, show it, prove it, at least reference where to look for this rule.
The Formation rules that I have read so far have stated NOTHING in regards to this. They detail that a Formation is a Detachment, and from there is a rule in detachments that a model cannot BELONG to more than one detachment (barring specific exceptions like Primary, Gladius, etc), but that does not mean an
IC cannot join and become part of a Formation they were not purchased with. Indeed, the Levels of Alliance rules state otherwise when Battle Brothers are involved.
gungo wrote:Since sky hammer is a command benefit given before deployment.
Incorrect. This Formation carries no Command Benefits whatsoever (in fact, I cannot think of one that does). It does carry Special Rules, which is actually more your point.
And yes, only the units that are part of the Formation actually carry these rules. Indeed, even the 2 Drop Pods carry the rules to allow a devastator squad to fire and have a higher chance to force a Go To Ground, or allow assault squads to reroll To-Hit and To-Wound against said target. These rules are useless to the Drop Pods, since they are neither devastator squads nor assault squads, but they do possess them.
However, having it on your datasheet is not the only way for an
IC to be affected by a Special Rule.
gungo wrote:And an independent character can never join a unit before deployment.
Not in contention within this thread.
gungo wrote:There is no way they can gain any special rules from a formstion after deployment unless those special rules specifically state that independent character attached to that unit gains those special rules per the rules of independant characters.
Now, this is incorrect, or at least, being misinterpreted. The rules for Independent Characters say in one case that the rule must specify and then references Stubborn as an example. The rules later also assert that a Special Rule that targets a unit that an
IC has joined with an affect, that the
IC will be affected, even after leaving the unit, and then provides Blind as an example.
Neither of these Special Rules ever use the words "Independent Character". Not once. The only way the
IC can be included is only as a member (or being part of) the unit in question.
So, while the rules for the Formation never once mention the phrase "Independent Character", the
ICs who join these units can be affected by them by simply being part of the unit as much as if either were Stubborn or if they were hit by a Weapon with Blind.