Switch Theme:

Pariahs and Rites of Battle  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Codex Dark Angels, page 36 (Company Master):

"Rites of Battle: If a Company Master is on the table then all other Dark Angel units may use his Leadership (10)for Morale, Pinning and Leadership tests, but not Psychic tests."

Codex Necron, page 17 (Pariahs):

"Soulless: Any enemy with a model within 12" of a Pariah counts as having Leadership 7, unless it would normally be less than that."

These two seem to be in direct contradiction. How do I resolve this?


PS. Did a quick search and found two relevant threads (Ork Mob Size/Pariahs and Book of St. Lucius/Pariahs) unfortunatly they both ended unconclusive.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






You use the LD of the CM, then it gets modified to 7 due to the Pariahs.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc




OC FTW

Well I'm not sure so I could be totally wrong and if I am I will probably be crucified for it but;
The Pariah's effect should be the dominant one, if a unit is within 12' of him then they are LD 7.
You could argue the other way but by that thinking if the Chapter Master is within 12' then all your dudes using his LD have 7.

Hope that is the answer you were looking for.

 
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc




OC FTW

Edit for echo.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/25 03:16:57


 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Not specifically disagreeing, but the counter-arguments I have heard run along the lines of;

"Yep, and then you can use the marshals leadership 10 for the test, you're not modifying the models leadership to 10, you're using a different models stat, which hasn't been modified. "

and


"Rites of Battle allows you to use the commanders leadership. It's stated pretty clearly that way. As such, if the commander is outside of the pariah's special ability range, his leadership is 9 or 10, whichever version you have. When it's time to take tests, then you may use his, which is 10."



-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc




OC FTW

So unless the Pariah is within range of the Master then you don't need to worry.


 
   
Made in us
Fighter Pilot





Simi Valley, CA

I honestly do not know how the rules stack, but my gut says this.

The Commander is relaying orders thru the marines short range communications. The pariahs send out an aura of fear. I think (and this is based only on action movies) that the fear would take hold of the marines as the commander's voice is heard demanding a response.

"Echo 2, do you copy? Damn it Artimos! Answer me!"

So I vote for Soulless to take priority.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/12/25 05:48:17


"Anything but a 1... ... dang." 
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




I disagree, The rites of battle rule say, and you have to pay attention "may use his Leadership"

The rules for Pariahs are to lower the enemy units leader ship to 7 within a certain number of inches from them

So here we go.

1) the unit is in range and has its leader ship lowered to 7

2) They must take a leadership check for whatever reason.

3) The SM player decides to utilize rites of battle which state that he "may use his Leadership" (meaning the Company Captain)

4) Note: the rule does *not* say it adjusts or changes the leadership of the unit whatsoever, so the units LD is still 7

5) Note: the rule *does* say they may use the company masters leadership for LD checks. Notice there is *no* substitution. Only they are using the LD check from the Comapny master who very well may be across the table.

6) This does mean if the Company Master is within the range of the Pariahs and the SM player wishes to utilize Rites of Battle, then the LD used would be a 7.

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Exactly. The Pariah's ability reduces the Leadership of the models within 12". Unfortunately for them, those models (if there is a character with Rites of Battle on the table) can USE the leadership of that character instead of their own, reduced LD.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





So "using" is not the same as "raising" or "replacing"? effectively, that is.

Im drawing a parallel to "hatches blown" and "doors open" in the Drop Pod discussions.


(Devils Advocate)

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Nope. If your Chaos Space Marine Aspiring Champion replaces his bolt pistol with a plasma pistol, he no longer has the use of the bolt pistol, but can choose to use his other weapons.

Under most circumstances a model uses its own LD for tests, or that of the highest-LD model in its unit. However there are a few special rules which allow it to use the LD of another model (or a different value entirely; see Mob Rule), in which circumstances the fact that the model's own LD has been reduced doesn't impact the test.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





So an Ork Mob consisting of 9 models within 12" of a Pariah, uses 9 as the target-number for a given Break test and not 7?

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Sickening Carrion




Wa. state

I think we could all agree if there are 10 or more Orks. even if the Ld is 7 they would still be fearless.

Who are all these people, and why aren't they dead? 
   
Made in us
Deadshot Weapon Moderati





This sounds more like fishing to me and really looking at a rule six kinds of side ways to be immune to perhaps one of the most rarely seen models in the game. This is more of a RAI type of thing. Verbiage changes over editions and somethings are implied. But this is just silly. Leadership drops if within range.

Why not just take it to the next level? I know I took 5 wounds but I'm using that guys LD so its 10 not 5. Just because your captain is talking to you doesn't mean you should not be running from the very real threat in front of you. Pariahs modify a models leadership regardless of how they got it or who they got it from.

Feel free to abandon common sense and argue this the other way. I do love rolling my eyes at these lil quibbles.
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Actually I am the one playing Dark Angels. I just want to be absolutly sure.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Sha1emade wrote:This sounds more like fishing to me and really looking at a rule six kinds of side ways to be immune to perhaps one of the most rarely seen models in the game. This is more of a RAI type of thing. Verbiage changes over editions and somethings are implied. But this is just silly. Leadership drops if within range.

Why not just take it to the next level? I know I took 5 wounds but I'm using that guys LD so its 10 not 5. Just because your captain is talking to you doesn't mean you should not be running from the very real threat in front of you. Pariahs modify a models leadership regardless of how they got it or who they got it from.
Feel free to abandon common sense and argue this the other way. I do love rolling my eyes at these lil quibbles.


I have highlighted what seems to be your argument. Am I right?
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Sha1emade wrote:This sounds more like fishing to me and really looking at a rule six kinds of side ways to be immune to perhaps one of the most rarely seen models in the game.


When you start your argument by ascribing a dishonest motivation to the opposition, you are creating unnecessary conflict, and sabotaging the validity of your own argument. The fact that Pariahs are a terrible unit and rarely seen actually REDUCES the likelihood that anyone is arguing out of self-interest in this discussion. I’d like it better if they were more useful, personally.

Sha1emade wrote:But this is just silly. Leadership drops if within range.


Being dismissive and proclaiming your opinion to be the right one, without actually addressing the opposing points previously made, is disrespectful and counterproductive.

Sha1emade wrote:Why not just take it to the next level? I know I took 5 wounds but I'm using that guys LD so its 10 not 5.


Are the situations the same? The Pariahs’ rule modifies the LD of the models in range. Rites of Battle allows you to use the LD of a different model (which may be out of range of the Pariahs) in PLACE of your LD. It changes how the test is taken. IIRC the wounds caused differential in a combat is a penalty on the test, not to the LD of the defeated unit.

Sha1emade wrote: Just because your captain is talking to you doesn't mean you should not be running from the very real threat in front of you.


Fluff /= rules. The radio example given earlier makes perfect narrative sense to me too. But you can use rationalizations to make a more or less reasonable explanation for any rule.

Sha1emade wrote: Pariahs modify a models leadership regardless of how they got it or who they got it from.


This is called circular reasoning. You’re substituting your conclusion for your premise.

Sha1emade wrote: Feel free to abandon common sense and argue this the other way. I do love rolling my eyes at these lil quibbles.


When you start with the assumption that people who disagree with you are most likely intelligent human beings, with some kind of reasoning behind their opinions, you get into fewer arguments, and more polite discussions. When you tell people that disagreeing with you is “abandon(ing) common sense” and that you roll your eyes at their “lil quibbles”, it looks like you’re trying to start a fight.

I can absolutely see the fluff justification for saying that units inside the range of the Pariah effect should be scared, and the proximity of the effect could quite reasonably overpower the impact of an officer who is across the battlefield. Of course, in real life and in literature there are many cases of soldiers who have overcome their fear of immediate dangers based on the courage that an inspiring commander, or even an abstract ideal, instills in them.

Ruling either way can easily be justified based on “fluff” or “realism”. When we’re discussing rules in this forum, however, we generally go off the text first.

When I read the text, it tells me that the Pariahs’ rule reduces the Leadership of the model. Then Rites of Battle tells me that said model is able to use a different model’s Leadership when he actually takes his test. You can obey both rules. One just happens to circumvent the effect of the other.
   
Made in us
Deadshot Weapon Moderati





Well thanks for pointing out that I was being obtuse. I was and I apologize. This one got under my skin a bit.

My reasoning is this. A parahia's power is basically a leadership modification with different wording to apply to ALL models in range. If rites of battle circumvents this why does it not change when the model is in CC vs other foes. Say loosing by 5? According to what you say it is reasonable to use the leadership 10 as the captain is not in that fight. So his heroism should transfer to them. So his leadership is not modified by the overwhelming odds. As you say this would also be justifiable by fluff both for and against because he is inspiring. If what you say is RAI then no DA with a captain on the board can ever be effected by leadership modifications positive or negative unless it effects the captain which would be easy to state as if that was the way it was meant. This just feels wrong and against RAI IMHO. The reason I fight aginst this is if it becomes a president for other types of rules discussions.

Just my 2 cents...

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Thanks for the apology.

I see a clear mechanical difference between the substitution of one value for another, vs. a modifier placed on the test. The latter applies no matter which value you’re using in the first place.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Deadshot Weapon Moderati





Well how about the fact that no mention of UNMODIFIABLE is in the wording for the Captain might help put us back on track. Also we have to consider that the DA codex came quite a bit after the crons dex did. GW often does not add a lengthy sentence to help avoid one possible instance. Which makes these conversations happen.

Also it says ANY unit with a model with in range COUNTS AS having a leadership 7. I think the wording counts as pretty much solves the issue for me. Regardless how or what leadership the model has or had it is now 7 as it has A model in range which is the only criteria according to the crons dex and it has been met.

I believe the precedence for this would be vox casters. As they use the same basic mechanic. The Rites of Battle applies but would be overturned the moment it gets in range as the models now COUNT AS leadership 7. As Rites of Battle and Vox casters basically lend leadership but does not change the models existing Ld as this seems to be the problem with this discussion.

In short you can still use both. But common sense tells me it would run like this.

Squad 1 moves into the Pariahs range and it is reduced to ld 7. DA player says he is using the captains leadership. It is now counts as 10. However as they are still in the soulless bubbly it now counts as 7. Both rules and criteria are met for soulless and Rites of Battle. If Rites works it trumps soulless but not the other way around. As I see it all rules work if done like this and still fits with the RAI IMHO. Yes you have a leadership 10 but at the moment it counts as 7. Both rules satisfied.

Just my 2 cents.

   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



Colorado

If the model with Rites of Battle is not within range of Soulless, then the Ld check is taken at a 10, except for Psychic tests.
   
Made in us
Deadshot Weapon Moderati





That seems like an assumption to me. Granted most of my reasoning is based on assumptions so each to their own I suppose.
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



Colorado

The model within the range of Soulless still counts as having Ld 7. However the text of Rites of Battle does not say to substitute or replace the Ld value, it says you can use the Company Master's Leadership. Thus if he is not also in range of Soulless, the check is taken at 10.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

Sha1emade wrote:Squad 1 moves into the Pariahs range and it is reduced to ld 7. DA player says he is using the captains leadership. It is now counts as 10. However as they are still in the soulless bubbly it now counts as 7. Both rules and criteria are met for soulless and Rites of Battle. If Rites works it trumps soulless but not the other way around. As I see it all rules work if done like this and still fits with the RAI IMHO. Yes you have a leadership 10 but at the moment it counts as 7. Both rules satisfied.


I've bolded the part I disagree with. (Disclaimer: I play neither DA nor Necrons.)

The DA squad never has leadership 10, nor does it count as having leadership 10. In this instance, the current Ld of the DA unit is completely irrelevant. What Rites does is allow a unit to test using another unit's leadership - it's a substitution, not a replacement.
   
Made in us
Deadshot Weapon Moderati





So the real question is does a substituted ld get effected. I have yet to hear a convincing argument for or against this. My gut tells me that the final ld should be 7. Say if the Captain is attached to the squad in question but HE is out of range then the squad would still be 7. But if further away using rights of battle then it stays 10? Seems like a wording glitch that would be FAQed against if parahias vs DA was more popular. It just doesn't feel right to me. I play both armies and it still doesn't sit right.
   
Made in us
Dominar






LD 10 would be used.

Normal squad is LD 9 (or something)

Pariahs make them count as Ld7

Captain standing out of Pariah sphere of influence has LD10

Squad can use Captain's leadership.

Captain's leadership is 10.

Squad can use LD 10.
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Alternatively, the unit uses the Captain's leadership of 10, but it is within 12" of a Pariah and has their leadership reduces to 7. So the unit uses Ld7.

Remember, the unit is using the Captain's leadership, and the unit is affected by the Pariahs.

The real problem is when the Captain gets within 12" of a Pariah model. Suddenly his Rites of Battle are useless, since his leadership is reduced to 7!
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

Nurglitch wrote:Alternatively, the unit uses the Captain's leadership of 10, but it is within 12" of a Pariah and has their leadership reduces to 7. So the unit uses Ld7.

Remember, the unit is using the Captain's leadership, and the unit is affected by the Pariahs.


Yes, the unit is using the Capt's leadership. They do not, however, have his leadership. The unit's leadership does not matter here at all.

The real problem is when the Captain gets within 12" of a Pariah model. Suddenly his Rites of Battle are useless, since his leadership is reduced to 7!


Yup, that's how I read it.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Well, as the wording of "Soulless" says "count as 7", the leadership value can be anything you like. It could be 1.000, but it counts as 7. It could be 10, but it counts as 7.

The Rites of Battle does not say "use Captains unmodified Leadership" so it can be modified.

The squad does indeed use the Captains Leadership value of 10. It just happens to count as 7 when the squad gets to use it. The way I see it, it is the only way for us to break no rules.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth






Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.

Shoot the pariahs before they get there.

I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!

The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: