Switch Theme:

How will you play it? Vehicles surrounded by 25mm bases and disembarking.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Destroyed or Disembarked?
My superior generalship allowed me to surround the vehicle, they should be destroyed.
My marines have extra jumpy legs and they jumped over the enemy. They can disembark.

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Here is the situation: a rhino is surrounded completely by models with 25mm bases. One inch is 25.4 mm.

The attacking models destroy the rhino with a "vehicle destroyed-wrecked" result.

By the rules, a model has to be placed within 2" of an access point in order to disembark, or if they cannot use an access point, they simply use the vehicle's hull. Since the attacking minis must be in base-contact with the vehicle, the area that models cannot disembark into because of enemy models ends slightly less than 2" from the vehicle's hull.

Because simply touching the 2" measurement from the disembark point (or hull) counts as being "within 2 inches" then models are mathematically capable of disembarking on the other side of the enemy models' bases.

This seems like a strange situation, however, and I don't think a lot of people would play it this way.

So, how will you play it?

Are the models destroyed, or are they allowed to disembark on the other side of the enemy's bases?

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in ca
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God





Inactive


If i have to guess (this is a guess!!! cuz i dunno!)

i would place the occupants in the area where the rhino was. if the models dont fit , the left overs are count as dead.

Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
           ◂◂  ►  ▐ ▌  ◼  ▸▸
          ʳʷ   ᵖˡᵃʸ  ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ  ˢᵗᵒᵖ   ᶠᶠ 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

LunaHound wrote:
If i have to guess (this is a guess!!! cuz i dunno!)

i would place the occupants in the area where the rhino was. if the models dont fit , the left overs are count as dead.


That's how a "vehicle destroyed- explodes!" is played out. If the vehicle is wrecked rather than exploded, the models disembark and the vehicle is left in play as terrain.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Option C:
Clearly, now would be a good time to debate such fine points as "How does one determine when a model is in base contact with a vehicle?", "Due to a manufacturing defect, is my opponent using 26mm bases?", "Are any of the measuring devices in use accurate to .05mm so that this can even be determined?", and "Why the are we playing each other?"
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

.4 mm is something that can be measured and seen by the eye.

If you're trying to say that disembarking would be unsportsmanlike...

Well I counter that refusing to play by the rules is unsportsmanlike.

This is one of those situations where I'd probably count my own models as destroyed, but I have actually allowed my opponent to disembark in a similar situation as well.

Following the rules is not unsportsmanlike behavior.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Oh, hai Guise!

I'm gonna have to say Destroyed, because you Must Disembark from the Transport FIRST, only Then does it become terrain, not before. And before it is terrain, it is a model, which cannot have another model occupying its personal space! (page 67: The passengers must immediately disembark and then take a Pinning test . Any models that cannot disembark are destroyed. After this, the vehicle becomes a wreck.)

Also, read the rules for disembarking again. They say: "Models cannot disembark within 1" of an enemy". This does NOT change in the Assault Phase, so even in the assault phase, if you cannot place the models within 2" of the hull AND 1" from models, they count as being unable to even emergency disembark (as the vehicle becomes a wreck only AFTER they disembark) and are destroyed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/12 00:48:02


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Gwar! wrote:Oh, hai Guise!

I'm gonna have to say Destroyed, because you Must Disembark from the Transport FIRST, only Then does it become terrain, not before. And before it is terrain, it is a model, which cannot have another model occupying its personal space!

Also, read the rules for disembariking again. They say: "Models cannot disembark within 1" of an enemy". This does NOT change in the Assault Phase, so even in the assault phase, if you cannot place the models within 2" of the hull AND 1" from models, they count as being unable to even emergency disembark (as the vehicle becomes a wreck only AFTER they disembark) and are destroyed.


Hi, Gwar, I think you're misinterpreting things.

My first post is intended to show how you can disembark within 2" of the hull (I did not mention disembarking in the vehicle's space at all) but since a 25mm base is less than 1" wide, you can, legally, disembark on the other side of the enemy's bases.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





Lake Stevens, WA

While I realize the models aren't physcially moving from the vehicle to their disembark point, it's certainly implied. Since you cannot move through other models...

When someone smiles at me, all I see is a chimpanzee begging for its life. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







willydstyle wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Oh, hai Guise!

I'm gonna have to say Destroyed, because you Must Disembark from the Transport FIRST, only Then does it become terrain, not before. And before it is terrain, it is a model, which cannot have another model occupying its personal space!

Also, read the rules for disembariking again. They say: "Models cannot disembark within 1" of an enemy". This does NOT change in the Assault Phase, so even in the assault phase, if you cannot place the models within 2" of the hull AND 1" from models, they count as being unable to even emergency disembark (as the vehicle becomes a wreck only AFTER they disembark) and are destroyed.


Hi, Gwar, I think you're misinterpreting things.

My first post is intended to show how you can disembark within 2" of the hull (I did not mention disembarking in the vehicle's space at all) but since a 25mm base is less than 1" wide, you can, legally, disembark on the other side of the enemy's bases.
I remind you that in order to disembark legally, they must remain more than 1" away from any enemy models, as per page 67, and nothing changes this for the assault phase. 0.4mm is just a tiny bit less than 1", so they cannot disembark.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch






Odenton, MD

Willy, do you not understand the rules regarding minimum distance from enemy models?


You have to stay a least 1 " away unless you are assaulting.


So that only gives a .4 MM area to deploy. Hense they are destroyed.
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

A tiny bit less than 1" is still less than 1".

@Clthomps:

2" away from the hull will be 1" plus .4 mm away from the enemy models, if the attacking models have been placed correctly against the vehicle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/12 00:56:18


Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in ca
Infiltrating Broodlord






Gwar! wrote:Oh, hai Guise!

I'm gonna have to say Destroyed, because you Must Disembark from the Transport FIRST, only Then does it become terrain, not before. And before it is terrain, it is a model, which cannot have another model occupying its personal space! (page 67: The passengers must immediately disembark and then take a Pinning test . Any models that cannot disembark are destroyed. After this, the vehicle becomes a wreck.)

Also, read the rules for disembarking again. They say: "Models cannot disembark within 1" of an enemy". This does NOT change in the Assault Phase, so even in the assault phase, if you cannot place the models within 2" of the hull AND 1" from models, they count as being unable to even emergency disembark (as the vehicle becomes a wreck only AFTER they disembark) and are destroyed.


Yes, but hes saying since the rhino allows you to have a 2" placement zone around the rhino, and a single base isnt big enough to cover over an inch away from the hull, can you simply place them on the other side.

I personally think its silly for any army to lose a unit because their transport has been surrounded. I do play by that if theres no where to place my unit (its really my fault if that happens), but I have no problem "hopping" over them. It doesnt say they have to walk out.

Tyranids
Chaos Space Marines

 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





Lake Stevens, WA

From the edge of the hull, base + base is .8 mm less than 2"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/12 00:56:52


When someone smiles at me, all I see is a chimpanzee begging for its life. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







willydstyle wrote:A tiny bit less than 1" is still less than 1".
Yes, it is Less than 1". Models may not Disembark within 1" of enemy models (page 67).

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

But the entirety of the disembarked troops base does not have to be within the 2" zone, as shown on the example on page 67.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Gwar! wrote:
willydstyle wrote:A tiny bit less than 1" is still less than 1".
Yes, it is Less than 1". Models may not Disembark within 1" of enemy models (page 67).


Exactly, so if you are exactly 2" away from the hull, you will be 1" plus .4 mm from the enemy model.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/12 00:58:30


Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







willydstyle wrote:But the entirety of the disembarked troops base does not have to be within the 2" zone, as shown on the example on page 67.
That is not the point I am making. You are correct in stating they do not have to be fully in the 2" zone. However, I assume that the vehicle is fully surrounded by enemies on 25mm bases. As such, when you place your model at the edge of the disembarking zone, they would be less than 1" away from an enemy model (0.3-0.4mm as you said.) As such, they cannot disembark, as per page 67, which does not change in the assault phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/12 00:59:54


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Gwar! wrote:
willydstyle wrote:But the entirety of the disembarked troops base does not have to be within the 2" zone, as shown on the example on page 67.
That is not the point I am making. You are correct in stating they do not have to be fully in the 2" zone. However, I assume that the vehicle is fully surrounded by enemies on 25mm bases. As such, when you place your model at the edge of the disembarking zone, they would be less than 1" away from an enemy model (0.3-0.4mm as you said.) As such, they cannot disembark, as per page 67, which does not change in the assault phase.


No, they'd be more than one inch from the enemy model, since a base is less than one inch wide, not more.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in ca
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God





Inactive

Get the rulers !
wait i have one here , its exactly 1 inch diameter

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/12 01:03:16


Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
           ◂◂  ►  ▐ ▌  ◼  ▸▸
          ʳʷ   ᵖˡᵃʸ  ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ  ˢᵗᵒᵖ   ᶠᶠ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







willydstyle wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
willydstyle wrote:But the entirety of the disembarked troops base does not have to be within the 2" zone, as shown on the example on page 67.
That is not the point I am making. You are correct in stating they do not have to be fully in the 2" zone. However, I assume that the vehicle is fully surrounded by enemies on 25mm bases. As such, when you place your model at the edge of the disembarking zone, they would be less than 1" away from an enemy model (0.3-0.4mm as you said.) As such, they cannot disembark, as per page 67, which does not change in the assault phase.


No, they'd be more than one inch from the enemy model, since a base is less than one inch wide, not more.
What? Look, i think we have gotten mixed up, let me draw a diagram.

As you can see, if a Transport is totally surrounded by 25mm bases, there is only a 0.4mm space to deploy, because deploying there would place the models within 1" of an enemy, they cannot disembark.

I was gonna use VASSAL but I haven't re-installed it yet, so M$ Paint will do
[Thumb - Image.JPG]

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/12 01:07:56


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

And I have a tape measure that shows me the base is slightly less than 1"... about half a millimeter less.

But Gwar, those blue bases are not two inches from the vehicle's hull, and those assaulting models are not "base to base" with the vehicle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/12 01:09:32


Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







willydstyle wrote:And I have a tape measure that shows me the base is slightly less than 1"... about half a millimeter less.
It doesn't matter, in that case you are deploying 0.45mm away from an enemy, which you cannt do because Page 67 says you must disembark more than 1" from an enemy, which 0.45mm is not.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
willydstyle wrote:But Gwar, those blue bases are not two inches from the vehicle's hull, and those assaulting models are not "base to base" with the vehicle.
Pretend they are then, its the same, just imagine all the white space is gone. I made it in 7 seconds, but I shall get VASSAL installed ASAP to make a nice scale pic for you :3

Edit: Woops it seems GW shut down another fan project, oh well.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/08/12 01:12:55


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in ca
Infiltrating Broodlord








This pic isnt an emergency disembark either (only 2" from the door), so the roundness does not apply.

Tyranids
Chaos Space Marines

 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Thanks, night lords.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







That is clearly less than 1" edge to edge though....

But anyway, it's on a case by case basis. If they get to be more than 1", go them, if not, they are killed.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/08/12 01:16:21


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

But it's also not mathematically accurate, it just displays the concept.

2" from hull, minus .98" (25mm/25.4mm) is 1.02 inches, so you have .02 inches to disembark in. Also, the picture showed me that it's actually even easier to disembark more than one inch from enemy models, while still being within 2" of the hull, because the bases are round.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in ca
Infiltrating Broodlord






Gwar! wrote:That is clearly less than 1" edge to edge though....


Well, its not easy to tell. I dont feel like converting mm to inches myself to do the math but....the bases are less than 1" wide. lets says its 0.9". If I have two inches to work with, its 2-0.9 = 1.1".

Not only that, but the bases are round, so you can easily squeeze inbetween 2 round based units.

Tyranids
Chaos Space Marines

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







While you may be theoretically correct, things are never that accurate. your base might be a bit too big, things cannot actually be in base contact (there is always SOME empty space between them) and lets not forget the added distance the bevelled edge gives to the base width. But as I said, if you are able to get 1", then they can disembark fine, if not, they are destroyed. Look at it on a case by case basis is the only real way to do it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/12 01:21:32


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

The 25mm is measured across the bottom of the base.

Also, because of the tracked nature of most vehicles, "base to base" contact will mean that your base is a bit underneath the "hull" of the vehicle.

Again, I'll repeat that I won't play this way, but if my opponent insists on playing by the rules I would allow it.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in ca
Infiltrating Broodlord






Gwar! wrote:While you may be theoretically correct, things are never that accurate. your base might be a bit too big, things cannot actually be in base contact (there is always SOME empty space between them) and lets not forget the added distance the bevelled edge gives to the base width. But as I said, if you are able to get 1", then they can disembark fine, if not, they are destroyed. Look at it on a case by case basis is the only real way to do it.


Simple solution is to ask exactly which units are assaulting and count them up. If theyre attacking it, you can move a unit behind them. However, in the case of surrounding a vehicle with only one unit, you have to try to be in base to base anyways. I dont think its possible to be able to wrap around and completely surround it without being base to base.

Tyranids
Chaos Space Marines

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

While the rules technically allow them to disembark, I'm going with 'destroyed'


Nitpicking over .4 of a mm, while perfectly valid in a straight rules discussion, is a little over the top during an actual game.

Particularly since the bases measure slightly differently depending on your ruler, and on whether or not they have any flange of flash left on them.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: