Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 18:45:59
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Traitor
|
I'm still trying to decide what army I want to drop $500 on, and I'm making some lists for Witch Hunters. I like the Immolator as transport for a Canoness and her retinue, but I'm concerned that the HS slots might get a bit tight in larger games, at Exorcists are going to be pretty essential. Since it's a Razorback equivalent, does anyone count Immolators as DT's instead of HS, or play with someone who does? Does it seem like it would be kosher for friendly games?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/03/17 19:54:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 19:06:50
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Dude, * WHFB* /= WH40K
No, oddly enough giving you free immolators desnt generally go down well, as theyre the best transport in the game, just about. So my suggestion: grab squads that CAN take them as DT
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 19:11:14
Subject: Re:Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Traitor
|
Gah, all the forum names look similar. I'll ask a mod to move it, thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 19:57:35
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
It can be taken as a DT for the Canoness and her retinue-- it's a transport option for Celestians.
Celestians and Dominions can take them as DT's. Given enough points, you can field 11 of them in a single FOC.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 20:06:43
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Traitor
|
kartofelkopf wrote:It can be taken as a DT for the Canoness and her retinue-- it's a transport option for Celestians.
Celestians and Dominions can take them as DT's. Given enough points, you can field 11 of them in a single FOC.
Oh, very cool. I assumed that, because it had a separate entry in the HS section, it counted as HS regardless. Thanks much.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 20:26:33
Subject: Re:Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Retributors can take them as well, which is a bit weird because they are a HS option too!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 20:55:16
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend
Inside a pretty, pretty pain cave... won't you come inside?
|
Immolators rock. Stuff as many into your army as you can.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 21:37:36
Subject: Re:Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Traitor
|
Yeah, I may have to go Witch Hunters. Two Power Swords and two Meltaguns inside a tank than can move 12" and still drop a TL Heavy Flamer. That's gonna lay down some hurt.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 21:53:24
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Don't bother with the CC... pack an Immolator with four flamers and 2 one-shot flamers instead. ;-)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 22:01:34
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Spetulhu wrote:Don't bother with the CC... pack an Immolator with four flamers and 2 one-shot flamers instead. ;-)
Rabble Rabble you can't fire flamers from a non-open-topped-transport
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 22:03:33
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
Gwar! wrote:Spetulhu wrote:Don't bother with the CC... pack an Immolator with four flamers and 2 one-shot flamers instead. ;-)
Rabble Rabble you can't fire flamers from a non-open-topped-transport
This problem came up earlier in a game. Where does it say this, so I have full shove-it-in-your-face potential for next time around?
|
Night Watch SM
Kroot Mercenaries W 2 - D 3 - L 1
Manchu wrote: This is simply a self-fulfilling prophecy. Everyone says, "it won't change so why should I bother to try?" and then it doesn't change so people feel validated in their bad behavior.
Nightwatch's Kroot Blog
DQ:90-S++G++M-B++I+Pw40k08#+D+A--/cWD-R+T(S)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 22:10:35
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Nightwatch wrote:Gwar! wrote:Spetulhu wrote:Don't bother with the CC... pack an Immolator with four flamers and 2 one-shot flamers instead. ;-)
Rabble Rabble you can't fire flamers from a non-open-topped-transport
This problem came up earlier in a game. Where does it say this, so I have full shove-it-in-your-face potential for next time around?
It's in the Template weapon rules. You cannot place the Template so that even the tiniest sliver is touching a Friendly model. Since the fire Point has a small bit of hull between it and the edge of the tank...
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 22:13:13
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Traitor
|
Gwar! wrote:It's in the Template weapon rules. You cannot place the Template so that even the tiniest sliver is touching a Friendly model. Since the fire Point has a small bit of hull between it and the edge of the tank...
Problem with this is that the heavy flamers don't extend all the way over the hull either. RAW fail.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 22:16:51
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Mr. Bluesky wrote:Gwar! wrote:It's in the Template weapon rules. You cannot place the Template so that even the tiniest sliver is touching a Friendly model. Since the fire Point has a small bit of hull between it and the edge of the tank...
Problem with this is that the heavy flamers don't extend all the way over the hull either. RAW fail.
Yup, Immolators can never fire
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 22:19:30
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Don't bother with flamers in the vehicle, anyways. Go with melta guns. The unit+transport becomes a more versatile tool, and with everyone all meched up, the meltas will definitely come in handy.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/13 05:35:51
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
The 4+2 flamers are ofc supposed to disembark in a most convenient place and fry anything within range of their templates. The Green Tide from Apoc comes to mind. ;-)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 11:18:44
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Gwar is incorrect. No where in the rules does it state that a model counts as being friendly to itself, which would prevent the use of flamer weapons being used from vehicles. When you follow the rules as written, the transport is treated as the firer for template placement and range measurement with the fire point treat as the weapon mount.
If, however, you decide to treat models as being friendly to themselves, then certain legal weapon options available on vehicles from recent codexes would also be unusable.
Given that GW has declined to write rules that do not require common sense to play, we can only make it work as written and with as much common sense as can be found.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 11:26:53
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Trollkin Champion
|
I guess you were being sarcastic Gwar?
|
"You have to be realistic about these things." Logen Ninefingers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0521/11/18 11:29:54
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Limey wrote:I guess you were being sarcastic Gwar?
No, I am being sincere. jeffersonian000 is completely wrong. By his logic, things that affect "Friendly units" would never be able to affect the squad causing that effect (e.g. Orders, Fortune etc)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/03/18 11:30:57
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 11:46:51
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
By the same logic would a model with a flamer, where the flamer nozzle is within the 'magic cylinder' of the base, be unable to fire as the template would touch its own base - whereas if the nozzle was outside the cylinder, it would be fine?
Modelling for advantage FTW!!!!!
|
While you sleep, they'll be waiting...
Have you thought about the Axis of Evil pension scheme? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 11:47:42
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Chimera_Calvin wrote:By the same logic would a model with a flamer, where the flamer nozzle is within the 'magic cylinder' of the base, be unable to fire as the template would touch its own base - whereas if the nozzle was outside the cylinder, it would be fine? Modelling for advantage FTW!!!!!
No, because the rules for Templates indicate you fire it from the base for non-vehicle models, how the Weapon itself is modeled is inconsequential.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/03/18 11:49:53
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 11:52:32
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Not got the rulebook with me but would be interested to see the specfic wording.
If it says the firer has to place the template in base contact with itself (given that all models whose bases are touched by the template are affected) then without a specific exemption RAW would indicate no flamer-armed model could ever fire...
|
While you sleep, they'll be waiting...
Have you thought about the Axis of Evil pension scheme? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 12:01:14
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Chimera_Calvin wrote:Not got the rulebook with me but would be interested to see the specfic wording.
If it says the firer has to place the template in base contact with itself (given that all models whose bases are touched by the template are affected) then without a specific exemption RAW would indicate no flamer-armed model could ever fire...
Again, wrong. The Template rules state: Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so that its narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models as possible in the target unit without touching any friendly models.
Therefore, you have specific permission to allow the template to touch the firing model, but no other friendly models. It then goes on to state:
Any models fully or partially under the template are hit.
Thus, models only "touching" the Template are not hit, meaning the model does not hit itself.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 13:08:56
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Trollkin Champion
|
I have to agree with Jefersonian000.
|
"You have to be realistic about these things." Logen Ninefingers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 14:09:46
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Limey wrote:I have to agree with Jefersonian000.
Care to explain why, considering I have just spelled out the RaW for everyone to see?
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 17:16:17
Subject: Re:Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Traitor
|
Gwar! is, as usual, right about the RAW. Template starts from the base and therefore does not end up over the firing model, so it's a non-issue.
Flamers from fire points I'm not going to touch, partially because I'm not running them in my list, but seeing as GW made a model with a mounted template weapon, I'm going to venture that RAI allow the Immolator to fire its turret, at least.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 18:12:19
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Take a dominion squad, then put a Canoness in. Or get Celestine.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 20:04:43
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
Gwar! wrote: The Template rules state: Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so that its narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models as possible in the target unit without touching any friendly models.
Therefore, you have specific permission to allow the template to touch the firing model, but no other friendly models. Doesn't that mean Immolators place it at the base of their model? (and yes I know vehicles fire from their guns, but again, the above is a special rule for template weapons)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/18 20:04:57
My 40k Theory Blog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 20:07:55
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Timmah wrote:Gwar! wrote: The Template rules state: Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so that its narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models as possible in the target unit without touching any friendly models.
Therefore, you have specific permission to allow the template to touch the firing model, but no other friendly models.
Doesn't that mean Immolators place it at the base of their model?
(and yes I know vehicles fire from their guns, but again, the above is a special rule for template weapons)
And vehicles have an even more special rule for firing Template Weapons.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 20:18:56
Subject: Immolators as Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
Do they? I thought they just had the general, fire from the gun rule.
|
My 40k Theory Blog
|
|
 |
 |
|