Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 18:33:25
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
GW Updated some of the FAQs
Well skaven players, it's been fun:
Main rulebook FAQ:
Q: When taking a Leadership test, sometimes you have to take it on
your unmodified leadership. What is your unmodified leadership?
(p10)
A: Your unmodified Leadership is the highest Leadership
characteristic in the unit. Do not include any modifiers from
any source, for example, Strength in Numbers, Inspiring
Presence or the Doom and Darkness spell.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 18:41:22
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Renegade Inquisitor de Marche
|
Bugger...
I don't know much but i do know that can't be good...
|
Dakka Bingo! By Ouze
"You are the best at flying things"-Kanluwen
"Further proof that Purple is a fething brilliant super villain " -KingCracker
"Purp.. Im pretty sure I have a gun than can reach you...."-Nicorex
"That's not really an apocalypse. That's just Europe."-Grakmar
"almost as good as winning free cake at the tea drinking contest for an Englishman." -Reds8n
Seal up your lips and give no words but mum.
Equip, Reload. Do violence.
Watch for Gerry. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 18:45:16
Subject: Re:FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Mad Gyrocopter Pilot
Scotland
|
OUCH is all I can say to that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 18:46:51
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Can someone give me an example of a situation where this might apply?
It doesn't affect the break tests or anything like that does it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 18:46:56
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It's a giant nerf to steadfast, which I know small elite armies will welcome but it means skaven took a hit. When we lose combat by one or two points now, our LD actually goes way down.
Imagine a group of slaves with +3 ranks, near a Grey Seer. Normally, their LD is 10 (7 for the GS, +3 for ranks). If they lose combat by 5 lets say, they'd normally test on Ld 5. But because they are steadfast, they will now test on Ld 2.
It basically makes our Strength in Numbers rule meaningless. Automatically Appended Next Post: Flashman wrote:Can someone give me an example of a situation where this might apply?
It doesn't affect the break tests or anything like that does it?
See below/above. The Steadfast rule says to use your unmodified Leadership. Skaven are designed around leadership modifiers.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/10 18:47:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 18:53:23
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Edit- see below, nevermind!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/01/10 18:55:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 18:54:58
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
streamdragon wrote:It's a giant nerf to steadfast, which I know small elite armies will welcome but it means skaven took a hit. When we lose combat by one or two points now, our LD actually goes way down.
Imagine a group of slaves with +3 ranks, near a Grey Seer. Normally, their LD is 10 (7 for the GS, +3 for ranks). If they lose combat by 5 lets say, they'd normally test on Ld 5. But because they are steadfast, they will now test on Ld 2.
It basically makes our Strength in Numbers rule meaningless.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Flashman wrote:Can someone give me an example of a situation where this might apply?
It doesn't affect the break tests or anything like that does it?
See below/above. The Steadfast rule says to use your unmodified Leadership. Skaven are designed around leadership modifiers.
But the steadfast rule got updated in the latest FAQ as well:
Page 60 – Steadfast
Change “[...]can use its unmodified Leadership[...]” to
“[...]doesn’t apply the difference in combat result scores[...]”.
Change both references to “[...] any enemy units [...]” to “[...]
all enemy units [...]”.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 18:56:21
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Ah! That fixes it then. False alarm
I have to confess I would've been happy with skaven slaves not being so uber... but changing this would've undone a lot of the changes to 8th edition, and I don't want to see that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 18:56:35
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
[DCM]
Coastal Bliss in the Shadow of Sizewell
Suffolk, where the Aliens roam.
|
I don't have my book, or the previous FAQ to confirm this.
However, it seems on another site (likes Blue) the general talk is Steadfast itself changed, so that is no longer the case, and Skaven should operate as normal?
Not 100% mind, and sadly can't check myself.
edit -
 'd
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/10 18:59:44
"That's not an Ork, its a girl.." - Last words of High General Daran Ul'tharem, battle of Ursha VII.
Two White Horses (Ipswich Town and Denver Broncos Supporter)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 18:59:32
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Whew. The FAQ I was looking at didn't have that change in magenta, so I skipped right past it
That makes me feel a bit better then.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/10 18:59:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 19:05:48
Subject: Re:FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Albany NY
|
The big hit for it is Death snipe spells will now blast Skaven characters, my LD 9 or 10 against your 7 or 6.
|
Oneball |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 19:21:50
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'd think that would have always worked that way. Strength in Numbers is for making Leadership tests, but Spirit Leech isn't a Leadership test, it's just d6+Ld.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 20:20:27
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
streamdragon wrote:Whew. The FAQ I was looking at didn't have that change in magenta, so I skipped right past it
No need to feel blind that was part of the last update.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 20:50:57
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
Also of note is the reversal of the fencer's blades + helm of command combo (WS10 now counts out of combat). (Though I'm not very happy with the semantic freedom of the answer to that question. So if sword of might (in all of the pre-beasts books) says "+1 Strength", we are to read it as "+1 Strength [in combat only]"? Yet fencer's blades says "The bearer has WS10", overriding the [in combat only] auto-clause? Weak ... Admittedly as far as games go I'm more concerned with WS10 helming being back then my skaven characters not getting +1S vs dwellers and stuff.) - Salvage
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/10 20:52:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 20:53:17
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Another nerf (or maybe I just wasn't reading the rule properly) was removing the triple march move from Banner of Verminous Scurrying. Now it's only 15" as opposed to 30". A poxy extra 5" of movement for an average cost of 3.5 skaven seems a bit rubbish. I guess it's costs only 10 points for a reason.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/10 20:53:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 20:54:19
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
Agreed. Didn't follow their train of thought, and anticipate not knowing in which category many items fall.
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 21:51:12
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Boss_Salvage / RZ, I'm not sure what you guys are referring to, can you clarify?
Basically, some items boost stats in combat only vs. all the time, but it's hard to tell which items fit in which category?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 22:05:20
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
Flashman wrote:Another nerf (or maybe I just wasn't reading the rule properly) was removing the triple march move from Banner of Verminous Scurrying. Now it's only 15" as opposed to 30". A poxy extra 5" of movement for an average cost of 3.5 skaven seems a bit rubbish. I guess it's costs only 10 points for a reason.
I didn't realize anyone was reading that as a 30" march move. That's crazy town!
@RiTides: The FAQs used to say that stat bonuses from magic weapons did not apply outside of when you were using them in combat (or something like that). So a sword that gave you initiative 10 didn't help against Pit of Shades. Now the entry says the following:
Q: When does a weapon that gives a bonus to a characteristic give
that bonus?(p4)
A: Most weapons, including magic weapons, state when the
bonus is given. For example, a model with the Fencer’s
Blades will always have Weapon Skill 10 whilst a model with
a great weapon will only have +2 Strength when striking an
enemy in close combat. When a weapon does not say when
the characteristic bonus applies, then it only applies when
striking, or being struck, in close combat.
What's weird is that Fencer's blades doesn't have anything specific about when it applies. But they give it as an example of something that gives a "persistent" effect. If that example wasn't in there, I feel like things would be fairly clear. I did take a look through some of the BRB magic weapons, and most of them do specify that their bonus applies only to close combat attacks. The problem will come with older books I think.
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/10 22:08:04
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Red_Zeke wrote:Flashman wrote:Another nerf (or maybe I just wasn't reading the rule properly) was removing the triple march move from Banner of Verminous Scurrying. Now it's only 15" as opposed to 30". A poxy extra 5" of movement for an average cost of 3.5 skaven seems a bit rubbish. I guess it's costs only 10 points for a reason.
I didn't realize anyone was reading that as a 30" march move. That's crazy town!
Yes, I suppose it did seem a bit over generous
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/11 02:10:37
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Wow, I can see the problem with that, RZ... maybe they meant to revamp the wording of Fencer's Blades and forgot?
Still, ignoring the example (hah) it's fairly clear... so still no high initiative/strength for models with weapons that don't specify when their characteristic applies. Not much of a "clarification", though!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/01/11 02:11:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/11 02:55:49
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
Random Condescending FAQ Writer wrote: Q: What happens when there is a conflict between two magic items or special rules? (p2) A: Use ‘The Most Important Rule’ For the love of Christ
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/01/11 02:56:45
BAMF |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/11 03:21:16
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Edited for them finally pulling that BS explanation off the site, it seems.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/11 03:22:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/11 10:53:52
Subject: Re:FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
Lost in Warp... again
|
So, to recap -
Skaven Slaves with a Grey Seer nearby still take break tests at Ld 10 if they are steadfast (which is still having more ranks than the other guy, right? They didn't change that too, did they?) This is because Steadfast now means the difference in combat resolution doesn't affect their Ld, not that they use thier unmodified Ld. Otherwise they'd be testing at Ld 5. Heh.
Did I get it correct?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/11 11:51:13
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
You did.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/11 12:58:41
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Except Skaven Slaves would be testing at Ld 2, not 5.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/11 13:10:13
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Really, ouch. Good thing they dodged that.
Edit: All this ruling seems to change is the lizardmen blade of realities + doom and darkness trick, and any other stuff that is simillar.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/01/11 13:15:18
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/11 14:15:32
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Hydras are now more vulverable to pit of shades, etc...Handlers don't count for characteristic tests.
Does stubborn use the term 'unmodified leadership' still?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/11 14:17:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/11 14:25:14
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
skyth wrote:Hydras are now more vulverable to pit of shades, etc...Handlers don't count for characteristic tests.
They only ever counted for LD and other unit based tests.
skyth wrote:Does stubborn use the term 'unmodified leadership' still?
No, it was FAQ-ed.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/11 14:32:07
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
HoverBoy wrote:skyth wrote:Hydras are now more vulverable to pit of shades, etc...Handlers don't count for characteristic tests.
They only ever counted for LD and other unit based tests.
Actually, any characteristic test taken by a unit was taken on the highest in the unit before. This meant that since the handlers had higher initiative than the hydra, initiative tests were taken on the handler's iniative 5 before the FAQ.
skyth wrote:Does stubborn use the term 'unmodified leadership' still?
No, it was FAQ-ed.
Where? I only saw that Steadfast was FAQ'd. I did not see Stubborn mentioned anywhere. I went looking through the FAQ again after you said it was FAQ'd and didn't see it. It would make sense that they were the same, but looks like GW missed the pooch on this one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/01/11 14:46:29
Subject: FAQs have been updated again.
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Cuz it was FAQ-ed in the last version so it isn't in magenta.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
|