Switch Theme:

Unit Targeting with JOTWW  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator




I was wondering how unit targeting works with JOTWW. After the Rune Priest fires, which units can he charge? I think it's broken enough already, so I think a fair way to go would be to have the SW player select one unit, and have the line go over at least one model in the unit, or use the template weapon rules.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Q. Does Jaws of the World Wolf require line of
sight? Does it ignore terrain that blocks line of
sight (i.e., impassible terrain)?
A. As a psychic shooting attack, Jaws of the World
Wolf requires line of sight. The Rune Priest must
have line of sight to the first model that the
power affects – in effect he is treated as the target
model; the power just happens to hit everybody
else on its way through!

The first model the line intersects is the target model; therefore that is the target unit.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator




Alright! Thanks for the quick answer, this clears things up.
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

To further extrapolate this topic, does this mean that the 'target' unit may not be locked in CC, but if the line happens to cross across models that *are* locked in CC they are still affected by the power?

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






That would be correct, yes.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

tetrisphreak wrote:To further extrapolate this topic, does this mean that the 'target' unit may not be locked in CC, but if the line happens to cross across models that *are* locked in CC they are still affected by the power?


Kommissar Kel wrote:That would be correct, yes.


I disagree with that assessment.

The rules for shooting into CC say:

"Likewise, while especially twisted and soulless commanders may wish their warriors to fire indiscriminately into the middle of close combats in the hopes of hitting the enemy, this not permitted. The events of close combat move too quickly and the warriors themselves will be understandably hesitant about firing on their comrades."


These rules mention nothing about 'targeting' the unit, just that you cannot fire on units locked in CC.

Jaws of the World Wolf is a psychic shooting attack and can therefore not be used on models in CC.





I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Yak: That would cause any Close combats within the 24" line to break the game; you would have a line that is drawn towards a target and must extend to 24", effecting every model of the indicated types, that would be effectively broken by intervening Close combats.

We already know by the Jaws rules that friendly model caught in the line could be lost to the power, but suddenly the power stops because those same models are fighting enemies?

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Kommissar Kel wrote:Yak: That would cause any Close combats within the 24" line to break the game; you would have a line that is drawn towards a target and must extend to 24", effecting every model of the indicated types, that would be effectively broken by intervening Close combats.

We already know by the Jaws rules that friendly model caught in the line could be lost to the power, but suddenly the power stops because those same models are fighting enemies?


It is exactly the same as using a template weapon near a close combat. You can still 'target' a unit that's near a CC but if the template would end up covering any models actually in the CC then you can't place it there. If there is no way to draw a 24" line without crossing one model in combat then the power cannot be used...simple as that!


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Nashville TN

I think you have this one wrong Yak....As long as the Rune Priest has line of sight and the first targeted model hit is not engaged in HTH then the line goes 24 inches and whatever is hit, friend or foe, has to take the Initative Test. Nothing stops the line.

When in doubt.........Duck!

Even in the far future there can still be heroes... 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Bikeninja wrote:I think you have this one wrong Yak....As long as the Rune Priest has line of sight and the first targeted model hit is not engaged in HTH then the line goes 24 inches and whatever is hit, friend or foe, has to take the Initative Test. Nothing stops the line.


I'm not talking about 'stopping' the line, I'm saying the line cannot be drawn over a model locked in combat. This is not something I'm just 'wrong' on, this is a logical argument supported by the rules:

P1: JotWW is a psychic shooting attack (SW codex page 37).
P2: Psychic Shooting Attacks follow the rules for shooting (rulebook page 50).
P3: One of the rules for shooting is that models may not fire into close combat (rulebook page 40).

C1: Therefore, JotWW may not be used on models locked in combat.


Again, this is no different then a template weapon which requires a 'target' but which can also be placed over other units as well. JotWW is a (psychic) shooting attack and therefore it cannot affect models locked in combat!

Hell, the power is already crazy-amazing, I have no idea why you would want to have it suddenly ignore the rules and allow players to target models in close combat with it!


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator




Eben if there was a valid reason for using JOTWW on models in CC, there's the excuse that GW has screwed up enough on this one, and SW players have already sniped Grotsnik enough.
   
Made in es
Raging Ravener







I think of it as ordnance fire scatter result, if its area ends over 2 or more units engaged in CC, this last fact matters not, hitting each and every model under the template.

Or perhaps if I shoot a target not engaged with my battle cannon and it scatters and hits a couple squads in CC counts as if I missed that shot?

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

yakface wrote:
Bikeninja wrote:I think you have this one wrong Yak....As long as the Rune Priest has line of sight and the first targeted model hit is not engaged in HTH then the line goes 24 inches and whatever is hit, friend or foe, has to take the Initative Test. Nothing stops the line.


I'm not talking about 'stopping' the line, I'm saying the line cannot be drawn over a model locked in combat. This is not something I'm just 'wrong' on, this is a logical argument supported by the rules:

P1: JotWW is a psychic shooting attack (SW codex page 37).
P2: Psychic Shooting Attacks follow the rules for shooting (rulebook page 50).
P3: One of the rules for shooting is that models may not fire into close combat (rulebook page 40).

C1: Therefore, JotWW may not be used on models locked in combat.


Again, this is no different then a template weapon which requires a 'target' but which can also be placed over other units as well. JotWW is a (psychic) shooting attack and therefore it cannot affect models locked in combat!

Hell, the power is already crazy-amazing, I have no idea why you would want to have it suddenly ignore the rules and allow players to target models in close combat with it!



I would have to disagree.

While it is true that you cannot fire at a unit locked in cc, this actually only applies to the unit you are targeting:

"A firing unit can choose a single enemy unit that is not locked in combat as its target,..." (p.16)

In the case of Jaws, this would apply only to the first unit with a model which Jaws hits (or goes through). That unit cannot be locked in cc. Any unit that is touched afterwards is beyond the scope of the BRB, as the BRB doesn't really account for multiple units that is hit from a shooting attack.

And while Jaws is similar to a temp weapon, it is not a temp weapon and does not follow the rules for temp weapons. You can no more use the rules for temp weapons as a rule for Jaws as you can use the same rules for meltaguns in place of meltabombs (i.e. meltabombs aren't AP1).


6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential




Ah, so JAWS cant target a single model in CC? hmm Ive seen some players playin that wrong.

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

I think Yak's logic holds fine.

Jaws is defined as a Psychic Shooting Attack.

The prohibition on page 40 says you may not fire into close combats; not merely that you cannot target an enemy unit in close combat. If you draw the line over an assault, you are shooting into close combat.

Jy2, by your logic, you could use flamers to target an enemy unit directly in front of or behind a close combat and hit units in the close combat, since they are not being targeted. But this is not allowed, as the rules forbid shooting into close combat completely, not just targeting units in close combat.

ENKHANNA wrote:I think of it as ordnance fire scatter result, if its area ends over 2 or more units engaged in CC, this last fact matters not, hitting each and every model under the template.


Not at all. Page 40 forbids you to deliberately fire into combat, but specifically allows SCATTER (which is not under your control) to put a blast marker over models in an assault.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Dominar






So Jaws can't hit your own models either, then? Because that's where following the "normal" line of reasoning gets you.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

No, you cannot shoot your own units either.

You can scatter onto them, if the shots scatter. . .same as CC.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







... this is why i love vibro cannons ... i can shoot my own people.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Kommissar Kel wrote:We already know by the Jaws rules that friendly model caught in the line could be lost to the power, but suddenly the power stops because those same models are fighting enemies?


Actually, that can't be correct if you follow Yak's line of reasoning. If the line would be drawn over your own models, you could not use the power because you can't shoot or target your own models.

Where it states that you can lose your own models to JotWW is completely wrong if you follow Yak's line of reasoning.

It could never happen.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/12 18:25:59


Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

imweasel wrote:
Where it states that you can lose your own models to JotWW . . .
Where is this? I missed it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/12 18:28:33


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





kirsanth wrote:
imweasel wrote:
Where it states that you can lose your own models to JotWW . . .
Where is this? I missed it.


" in effect he is treated as the target
model; the power just happens to hit everybody
else on its way through! "

The faq answer?

Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

That does not say you can lose your own models, or even imply it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/12 18:37:20


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential




Doesnt it say in the codex that the line stops if it hits a friendly model?

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

Mannahnin wrote:
Jy2, by your logic, you could use flamers to target an enemy unit directly in front of or behind a close combat and hit units in the close combat, since they are not being targeted.


No you can't, because the rules for temp weapons explicitly forbid the temp marker from touching any friendly model. That is a rule specifically for templates and blast markers (before scatter). Jaws is neither.


Mannahnin wrote:But this is not allowed, as the rules forbid shooting into close combat completely, not just targeting units in close combat.


The difference here is that the rules forbid targeting a unit locked in combat. If you look at p.15 (under Disallowed Shooting), that is actually saying that you cannot shoot if you are the unit that is locked in close combat.



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





kirsanth wrote:That does not say you can lose your own models, or even imply it.


So you are saying that if your own model is hit (assuming you can hit your own models), it's somehow immune to the power? Cause you certainly are hit by it.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
italiaplaya wrote:Doesnt it say in the codex that the line stops if it hits a friendly model?


Does it? If so, then this argument is mute.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/01/12 18:45:56


Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

italiaplaya wrote:Doesnt it say in the codex that the line stops if it hits a friendly model?


No. Actually, all it really says is that "this line may pass through terrain."

What it can't do (at least the way I play it) is that it can't pass through vehicles, though this is up for intepretation as well.


6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in ie
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch





imweasel wrote:
kirsanth wrote:That does not say you can lose your own models, or even imply it.


So you are saying that if your own model is hit (assuming you can hit your own models), it's somehow immune to the power? Cause you certainly are hit by it.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
italiaplaya wrote:Doesnt it say in the codex that the line stops if it hits a friendly model?


Does it? If so, then this argument is mute.


Nope, Nothing in the rule allows you to hit Friendly Models or even mentions friendly models.

DR:80+S++G+MB--IPw40k00#-D++++A+++/aWD100R+T(D)DM++++

Church: So it is a sword, It just happens to function like a key in very specific situations.
Caboose: Or it's a key all the time, and when you stick it in people, it unlocks their death.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





So you can't let the line pass over a unit in cc or your own models.

Ever. However, I thought somewhere it did state what happens to your own models if they are in the line of the JotWW. Perhaps I am mistaken.

Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

This is the way Jaws should be played:

1) You must target a legal unit (model), which according to the FAQ is the first legal model Jaws hits. You cannot target your own unit (model). You cannot target a unit (model) locked in cc. You must have LOS to the model you are targeting.

2) If you should satisfy #1, any other unit behind the "targeted" unit which is hit is fair game, be it your own models or your opponents (or even if they are locked in cc).



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Jaws can pass over vehicles. There's no prohibition on it crossing vehicles (they're just unaffected). The FAQ answer regarding Artillery units also makes this clear.


jy2 wrote:
Mannahnin wrote:But this is not allowed, as the rules forbid shooting into close combat completely, not just targeting units in close combat.


The difference here is that the rules forbid targeting a unit locked in combat. If you look at p.15 (under Disallowed Shooting), that is actually saying that you cannot shoot if you are the unit that is locked in close combat.


Sure, and on page 40 it goes into more detail, saying:

Models belonging to units locked in combat may not fire weapons in the Shooting phase. Their attention is completely taken by the swirling melee. Likewise, while especially twisted and soulless commanders may wish their warriors to fire indiscriminately into the middle of close combats in the hopes of hitting the enemy, this is not permitted.


This is a blanket prohibition on shooting into combat at all. Regardless of which unit is actually being targeted.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: