Switch Theme:

third eye of tzeentch  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut



england

hello ladies and gentlemen. recent conundrum came up in a game. can you use third eye of tzeentch to cast curse of the horned rat.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Hm, RAW I don't see why not. The only prohibitions in Third Eye are "... provided those spells do not summon additional models or heal wounds suffered ...". 13th doesn't actually summon new models, nor does it heal wounds.
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch






If you roll high enough, you replace the removed unit with a unit of Clanrats. I'd say that summons additional models.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I thought it was more referencing spells like the #6 Lord of the Wild spell, which summons a manticore, dragon, etc.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Actually I think it's referring to Invocation of Nehek or Regrowth or Summon Undead Horde.

In my view, summoning additional models is just that. Transforming models into something they weren't isn't a problem under third eye.

However, I'd suggest that against most skaven armies, plague would be a better choice anyway. Usually kills more models.

Manchu wrote:It's a lie, K_K, pure Imperial propaganda. Where's the Talon of Horus, huh? Plus everyone knows the Imperium planned and carried out the invasion of Cadia itself. Bin Abaddon was just a convenient scapegoat.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Yeah, going for a casting value of 25 to turn clan rats/slaves into... well... clan rats. You're probably better off with any AoE spell from whatever lore.
   
Made in us
Spawn of Chaos





As awesome as it would be, the 13th cant be used as the spell it self has the chance to summon new models on the table. It would be cool though to have little chaos rats running around the table
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

It doesn't summon new models, it takes existing ones and replaces them; you still have the same amount of models on the table as you did before the spell, no new models were created.

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

New clan rat models where created.
Regardless of how you spin it the models replacing the ones gone are in fact new.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

The exact wording is "summon additional models"; no additional models have been summoned.

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in gb
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought




Potters Bar, UK

they are additional to the Chaos army though arent they?
or are they still under control of the opposing player?

inmygravenimage wrote:Have courage, faith and beer, my friend - it will be done!
MeanGreenStompa wrote:Anonymity breeds aggression.
Chowderhead wrote:Just hit the "Triangle of Friendship", as I call it.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

That depends on how you see 'additional models'. To me, an additional model is a model that wasn't already there to start with, but since the unit you turned into clanrats was there and they still technically are (albeit in a different form) I don't see them as additions to the battle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/29 18:43:22


Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Oh the irony of using fluff as RAW.
I miss Gwar! sometimes...


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

I'm afraid the irony is somewhat lost on me, I believe this is how the spell actually works in practice...

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

I agree to disagree.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought




Potters Bar, UK

well if the old models are removed and replaced with clanrats, then they are additional no?
since models were removed first, and then new models placed, they are 'additional models' as per the wording of the spell.

inmygravenimage wrote:Have courage, faith and beer, my friend - it will be done!
MeanGreenStompa wrote:Anonymity breeds aggression.
Chowderhead wrote:Just hit the "Triangle of Friendship", as I call it.
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Avatar 720 wrote:That depends on how you see 'additional models'. To me, an additional model is a model that wasn't already there to start with, but since the unit you turned into clanrats was there and they still technically are (albeit in a different form) I don't see them as additions to the battle.
The models would still be additional even if the number is not, as I have read it.


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

kirsanth wrote:
Avatar 720 wrote:That depends on how you see 'additional models'. To me, an additional model is a model that wasn't already there to start with, but since the unit you turned into clanrats was there and they still technically are (albeit in a different form) I don't see them as additions to the battle.
The models would still be additional even if the number is not, as I have read it.

On this point there where no clan rats there to start with

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/29 19:12:48



Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

HoverBoy wrote:
kirsanth wrote:
Avatar 720 wrote:That depends on how you see 'additional models'. To me, an additional model is a model that wasn't already there to start with, but since the unit you turned into clanrats was there and they still technically are (albeit in a different form) I don't see them as additions to the battle.
The models would still be additional even if the number is not, as I have read it.

On this point there where no clan rats there to start with
Unless it was cast onto a unit of clanrats.


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

Although I humbly disagree, I can do nought else but regurgitate my previous comments, so I retire from this discussion.

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

Not real clear, as third eye tends to be... at least they FAQ'ed it to allow the casting of most spells from lore of life!

As others have said, it's not likely to come up (as you can steal better / easier to cast spells) but I tend to agree with Avatar 720. Transforming models is different than summoning additional models.

Could someone post the relevant wording of the skaven spell here? I don't have that book, but I would think it would largely depend on the wording of the spell. If it says "transformed" or the like, I would lean even more towards Avatar 720's reading.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/03/29 20:49:33


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

"the spell turns 4d6 of the targeted unit's models into Clanrats. . .remove the enemy models and replace them with Clanrats. . ."

It also goes on to say "If the casting player does not have enough models to replace the entire unit, transfigure what you can, the rest are considered destroyed. If the number rolled is not great enough to replace the whole targeted unit. . ."

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

"Transfigure"... I wouldn't say that equates to "summon additional models".

Although this now has me wondering about transformation of Kadon, since I had thought that would not be allowed... which would conflict with my current argument
   
Made in gb
Raging Ravener




The Black Planet

To put another slant on the OPs question, what would happen if 13th was cast onto a unit of clanrats ?

According to the wording, they would be turned into clanrats, but as they already are clanrats, would there be any affect ? Are clanrats effectly immune to the spell . . .

Of course if the spell was cast on other Skaven infantry units (is this the correct terminology, I can't remember), such as giant rats, Stormvermin, plague monks, etc. then they would be transformed.

Regarding the 'summon' debate, as the number of models on the table wouldn't change (assuming the 4D6 is equal or over the target unit size), then I go with the replacement with clanrat argument. Of course in a tournament situation, the 3rd eye player is unlikely to have any clanrats with him to actually change the physical models into clanrats.

Don't Panic !

4000pts 4000pts
2500pts 2000pts
1500pts 1500pts

Dwarf 4000pts Skaven 3000pts
O&G 3000pts 
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

Just to put another spin on this....

Why are we assuming that "summon additional models...." applies to the table as a whole and not the player alone.

So lets say you manage to get this off, and change 20 clanrats into 20 clanrats, what would be the end result?

For the table, there is no change in models.

For the Chaos player? They sure did summon additional models (for their army) with that spell.

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






There are spells that specifically summon things. The #6 Lore of the Wild for Beastmen, for instance. The Vampire Counts spell that summons ghouls, skeletons or (I think) bats. Their whole purpose is to summon additional models.

The 13th is not one of these spells.
   
Made in gb
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought




Potters Bar, UK

Lehnsherr wrote:Just to put another spin on this....

Why are we assuming that "summon additional models...." applies to the table as a whole and not the player alone.

So lets say you manage to get this off, and change 20 clanrats into 20 clanrats, what would be the end result?

For the table, there is no change in models.

For the Chaos player? They sure did summon additional models (for their army) with that spell.


Thank you,
its additional models for the casting player, not the table. Therefore, the 13th is not a valid target (?) for the 3rd eye

inmygravenimage wrote:Have courage, faith and beer, my friend - it will be done!
MeanGreenStompa wrote:Anonymity breeds aggression.
Chowderhead wrote:Just hit the "Triangle of Friendship", as I call it.
 
   
Made in us
Inspiring Icon Bearer





I think it's a valid target. Besides, you likely wont have a box of clanrats sitting around anyways, so you'll just be destroying the models.



Age of Sigmar, New World Tournament Ruleset


[centerPlease feel free to pop in and comment, or send me a PM![/center]



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

Revenent Reiko wrote:
Lehnsherr wrote:Just to put another spin on this....

Why are we assuming that "summon additional models...." applies to the table as a whole and not the player alone.

So lets say you manage to get this off, and change 20 clanrats into 20 clanrats, what would be the end result?

For the table, there is no change in models.

For the Chaos player? They sure did summon additional models (for their army) with that spell.


Thank you,
its additional models for the casting player, not the table. Therefore, the 13th is not a valid target (?) for the 3rd eye


I assume you can provide some evidence of this?

All it says is "summon additional models", there is no mention as to whether this is in addition to the models on the table, in the armies, in the store, on Earth, on Mars etc.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/30 16:45:32


Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in gb
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought




Potters Bar, UK

Avatar 720 wrote:
Revenent Reiko wrote:
Lehnsherr wrote:Just to put another spin on this....

Why are we assuming that "summon additional models...." applies to the table as a whole and not the player alone.

So lets say you manage to get this off, and change 20 clanrats into 20 clanrats, what would be the end result?

For the table, there is no change in models.

For the Chaos player? They sure did summon additional models (for their army) with that spell.


Thank you,
its additional models for the casting player, not the table. Therefore, the 13th is not a valid target (?) for the 3rd eye


I assume you can provide some evidence of this?

All it says is "summon additional models", there is no mention as to whether this is in addition to the models on the table, in the armies, in the store, on Earth, on Mars etc.


fair enough, RAI i assumed it would be additional models for the casting player, rather than models in total.
Just my opinion though.
EDIT: although, using that interpretation of 'additional models' then any summoning spell could be a valid target for the 13th...? since there is no specification

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/30 16:54:21


inmygravenimage wrote:Have courage, faith and beer, my friend - it will be done!
MeanGreenStompa wrote:Anonymity breeds aggression.
Chowderhead wrote:Just hit the "Triangle of Friendship", as I call it.
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: