Switch Theme:

third eye of tzeentch  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

RAI is tricky, because it relies almost solely on what you mentioned in the last sentence; opinion. Player A could interpret Rule Z differently to player B when it comes to the rule's intent.

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in gb
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought




Potters Bar, UK

true, opinion can be a cloudy issue, which is why it would be nice for GW to make everything clear but alas this is never going to happen.
OT, if a summoning spell provides a player with additional models, and so too does the 13th spell (if the correct roll is made), then it is not a valid target for the 3rd eye.

inmygravenimage wrote:Have courage, faith and beer, my friend - it will be done!
MeanGreenStompa wrote:Anonymity breeds aggression.
Chowderhead wrote:Just hit the "Triangle of Friendship", as I call it.
 
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

There are spells that specifically summon things


Technically, Invocation never uses the word summon. It uses words like "new model" and "new unit" but nowhere in the text does it say "summon." That means we cannot look for the word "summon" in the spell text to be our qualifier for what is allowed and what is not allowed by the Third Eye. Instead we should focus on the "additional" portion of the rule.

Clearly in the case of Invocation, we have additional models to the table total.

In the case of the 13th we do not have additional models to the table total, but we do have additional models to the player total in particular.

I do not believe we have definitive proof as to whether the word "additional" applies to the player, or to the table. I have personal opinions on what is intended by the rule, but we all know RAI is not the best route to take when approaching a rules query.

As many have pointed out, this situation is unlikely to come up in many tourneys, but I would discuss it with my opponent before hand.



2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

kirsanth wrote:"the spell turns 4d6 of the targeted unit's models into Clanrats. . .remove the enemy models and replace them with Clanrats. . ."

It also goes on to say "If the casting player does not have enough models to replace the entire unit, transfigure what you can, the rest are considered destroyed. If the number rolled is not great enough to replace the whole targeted unit. . ."


As a chaos player, I do not have any clan rats. As per the spell description, if I have 0, 0 are replaced, and all of them are just destroyed.
So, as long as I don't have any clan rats with me, I'd say I am free to eye the 13th spell.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Lancaster PA

If GW does FAQ that 13th is fine with 3rd Eye in its entirety, I wonder how many players will be taking a small unit of Clan Rats with them to every tournament, just in case.

Listen GW! You found a way to sell every WoC player a box of Clan Rats! GET ON THAT FAQ!


Woad to WAR... on Celts blog, which is mostly Circle Orboros
"I'm sick of auto-penetrating attacks against my behind!" - Kungfuhustler 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut



england

HawaiiMatt wrote:
kirsanth wrote:"the spell turns 4d6 of the targeted unit's models into Clanrats. . .remove the enemy models and replace them with Clanrats. . ."

It also goes on to say "If the casting player does not have enough models to replace the entire unit, transfigure what you can, the rest are considered destroyed. If the number rolled is not great enough to replace the whole targeted unit. . ."


As a chaos player, I do not have any clan rats. As per the spell description, if I have 0, 0 are replaced, and all of them are just destroyed.
So, as long as I don't have any clan rats with me, I'd say I am free to eye the 13th spell.

-Matt


this is the main reason i asked ?. i'm not interested in the clanrats. just the potential of killing 4 to 24 infantry models if lost best spells to miscast unleashing dreaded thirteenth is a good filler spell especially if the target unit is already depleted

 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

Talking about usage for a second, since I think the interpretation is pretty well done being discussed:

The interesting thing about this spell is that for skaven it can be awesome. Turn a unit of chosen into clanrats? YES.

But in the reverse... turn a unit of plague monks or storm vermin into clanrats... with the super high casting value of the spell, I'd say this = Do Not Want.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/31 21:55:18


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Lancaster PA

Well, if they are YOUR clanrats, that's not too shabby. Does it clarify who gets control of the clanrats, the casting player or the owning player?


Woad to WAR... on Celts blog, which is mostly Circle Orboros
"I'm sick of auto-penetrating attacks against my behind!" - Kungfuhustler 
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

The player who casts the spell has control of the clanrats.

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Lancaster PA

Ok good, that's what I was assuming. I may prefer marauders and warriors, but I wouldn't turn my nose up at a dozen ratters for the low low cost of stealing your spell and a handful of dice


Woad to WAR... on Celts blog, which is mostly Circle Orboros
"I'm sick of auto-penetrating attacks against my behind!" - Kungfuhustler 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

They also are in CC with the unit if the target unit survives right?


could be a sneaky way of tying up some nasty skaven unit for a turn or 2.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Spawn of Chaos





i dont see the 13th being useful against skaven themselves mainly because of the high cost to cast and the amount of models in most of their units. Plague, scorch and death frenzy (especially on my trolls or halbread warriors) is far more nasty against them.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Nope, if you don't change the entire unit, you don't get clan rats. It's assumed their comrades kill them while they transform. You either get all the unit or no clan rats.
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

This reminds me of all the arguments over what spells actually "targeted" in 7th edition, in order to turn on magic resistance. Man, fewer things make me want to vomit in rage than arguing semantics across Warhammer army books

As to the 13th spell and third eye, I myself have played that I cannot steal the spell, due to the possibility of creating models. YMMV.

- Salvage

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/02 22:16:33


KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Too few spells target anything anymore.

my Runemaw is useless against PS

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin





I think the problem here is that, as many people have pointed out, both Third Eye and the Curse are worded in a very fluffy manner.

The word "summon" in Third Eye is essentially useless. The phrase "...turns 4d6...models into Clanrats" is basically the same (due to the fact that neither of these situations are technical; they're just descriptive).

Essentially, I would move that the Curse of the Horned Rat works as follows: you kill 4d6 models, and if the unit is wiped out, you get the unit's worth of models in Clanrats. I think that reading clears up whether or not this summons new models, no?

With Third Eye, it seems like it's saying "if a spell could put new models on the table, you can't". Meaning if the spell could do so (like if the 13th kills everyone), even if you could also end up not doing so (like if it doesn't kill the last guy, or if you don't have the models), you can't steal it.

To further clarify: you cast the Curse, you remove the models, and then you put new ones on the board. This might not be how the spell works in the fantastic world of Warhammer, but that's how you act it out with the models (unless your opponent is okay with you sculpting and converting 14 of his Chosen into Clanrats). So, even without the above revising of the Third Eye wording (which I believe is necessary because it uses no clarifying jargon to our knowledge), I think you can still say that this spell puts new models on the board. It may be the same number, and even the same plastic figures (if you kill Clanrats to make Clanrats), but you remove some, and then you put the others down.

...yes?

 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

doesn't the 13th say that if you don't have the clanrat models for the new rats then you don't get the unit?


if so the WoC player could get around the "no additional models" line by not having any clanrats to replace them with.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

What about only casting the 13th at units of 25+ dudes? Another way around whatever the crap 'summons' means??

- Salvage

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/03 23:20:12


KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

and that wouldn't be hard either in a skaven list.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin





Well, what's the exact wording on 3rd Eye? A key difference could be if a spell could in any situation summon models, compared to whether or not it will in this case, assuming it is stolen, cast, and not dispelled.

 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

It says that if the spell summons additional models or heals models it can't be used.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin





Well...hm. If the spell does these things, rather than if it can? Poor wording there, since the spell would technically have to be cast for it to summon models, which means it can't be cast.

"heals models": restore wounds to models. That's something we can all agree on, right?

"summons additional models": I feel like the word "additional" is arbitrary and redundant. How would you go about summoning models that are not, in fact, additional? RAW, I would assume that a spell which puts models on the board can't be used, since "summon" isn't a technical term.

So, yes, I suppose you could cast the 13th if either the unit is 25+ guys or you don't have the models, if you ignore the cast-restriction singularity. If it offered the conditional "if this could happen", I'd say no way. As it stands, though, go ahead and mutate those Clanrats into Clanrats, whose friends look on in horror and cut them down as they slowly warp and twist into their new, horrible shapes.

 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

ahhhh, but they are becoming Chaos clanrats so they are even more twisted to please the great changer of ways

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: