Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 00:49:54
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
|
1) The Stormraven says that it can carry a single Dreadnought in its rear grapples but i wasn't sure if this was just the standard Dreadnought or can i carry a Venerable one instead?
2) Because its carrying the Dreadnought in its rear grapples does that mean i have to disembark it at the back of the Stormraven or can it disembark normally from any access point?
Thanks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 00:51:03
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Which codex?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 00:51:32
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
|
Grey Knights
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 01:00:07
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Any Dreadnought can fit in the Stormraven, and it can disembark as normal.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 01:18:54
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
DeathReaper wrote:Any Dreadnought can fit in the Stormraven, and it can disembark as normal.
yep any Dreadnaught, so no Venerable, Ironclad( apoc only), Furioso, nor Death Company.
The rule states a Single Dreadnaught, not any single dreadnought/sub-type, nor any other variation that would include anything but the basic unit named: Dreadnaught.
/phallic-hat
While RAW simply states Dreadnaught; RAP allow any Dread subtypes.
The Storm Ravens rules have you treat it's base as an Open-topped transport for Embarkation/Disembarkation purposes.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 01:48:24
Subject: Re:Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
it's any dreadnought of any type.
for BAs thats regular Dreds, Furiosos, and DC dreds.
GKs thats Venerable and normal.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 01:52:37
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Yes, KK, any Dreadnought, Death company Dreadnought is a dreadnought, Dread librarian is still a dreadnought.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 01:56:34
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
I know how it is played; but the rules do not state "any" dreadnought. It states a single Dreadnought. Does a Venerable Dread have BS+WS 4? none of the subtypes are the same as a "Dreadnaught"; While it should be fine to go ahead and have any of the Subtypes embark, it is not RAW.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/15 01:56:50
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 02:05:52
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
Manchester, UK
|
If it has dreadnought in the name it is a dreadnought.
Is an assault marine a marine? Is an executioner a leman russ? Is the Doom of Malan'tai a Zoanthrope?
Sorry for the random examples, but a venerable dread is obviously still a dread.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 02:16:29
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Yes an assault marine is a Space Marine; just like any unit in the tyranids Codex is a tyranid.
Yes An executioner is a Leman Russ, as it is purchased as part of a "Leman Russ Squadron"
Your Doom of Malan'tai example doesn't even make sense; "Zoanthrope" is not in it's name.
Sharing a portion of a name means nothing, Do I need to call nos into this thread to ask ou if an Assault Cannon is "assault"?
There is a unit with the simple name of "Dreadnaught".
There is a Rule That States "plus a single dreadnaught in it's rear grapples".
Is a Venerable Dread the same unit as a "Dreadnaught"?
No, it isn't. It does not even share a unit entry(armylist area) in any of the Codices, nor a statline, nor do they all even necessarily share an FOC slot(i.e. Troop, Elite, or Heavy Support).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 02:19:37
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
Thing to note is in both dexes, all Dreadnoughts are described on a single page, in a single box, with a simple name and statistic variation. This would imply that even in RAW, they are indeed the same unit just different variations.
|
Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!
Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.
When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 02:21:03
Subject: Re:Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
|
In the blood angels codex, page 29, all variants of dreadnought are listed under the main heading or 'Dreadnoughts', implying that each is indeed a dreadnought.
EDIT: MechaEmperor7000 beat me to it, hah.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/15 02:21:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 02:34:45
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
MechaEmperor7000 wrote:Thing to note is in both dexes, all Dreadnoughts are described on a single page, in a single box, with a simple name and statistic variation. This would imply that even in RAW, they are indeed the same unit just different variations.
You know what... I'll give you that.
I seriously tried to find a Similar example where Multiple different units where on the same page, and another rule mattered in relation to only 1 of those units(where it was not clearly specified, also on those pages).... and I couldn't.
None of the rest that shared a page mattered.
Although for Apoc games, the ironclad still is not technically a dread, even under these guidelines.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 02:39:45
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
Fridge Brilliance on GW's part. I was curious why they decided to suddenly put all the Dreads in one box.
|
Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!
Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.
When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 02:45:52
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
Manchester, UK
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Yes an assault marine is a Space Marine; just like any unit in the tyranids Codex is a tyranid.
Yes An executioner is a Leman Russ, as it is purchased as part of a "Leman Russ Squadron"
Your Doom of Malan'tai example doesn't even make sense; "Zoanthrope" is not in it's name.
Sharing a portion of a name means nothing, Do I need to call nos into this thread to ask ou if an Assault Cannon is "assault"?
There is a unit with the simple name of "Dreadnaught".
There is a Rule That States "plus a single dreadnaught in it's rear grapples".
Is a Venerable Dread the same unit as a "Dreadnaught"?
No, it isn't. It does not even share a unit entry(armylist area) in any of the Codices, nor a statline, nor do they all even necessarily share an FOC slot(i.e. Troop, Elite, or Heavy Support).
Please don't quote things unless you copy them out. They are called dreadnought, not dreadnaught. Also, there is no need to argue about assault cannons, as that is just stupid. Let's just stick to the point.
I get the feeling that arguing my point is useless though, but I'll try. A dreadnought is a certain size and shape, and a venerable dreadnought is almost exactly the same apart from some extra decoration and a more experienced pilot. A grapple that could hold one could easily hold the other, it is not like a dreadknight or something that is completely differently sized. An ironclad is probably not allowed as it is much bigger and heavier though.
I think we are at an impasse, but would you really object if someone put a venerable in a stormraven? It is hardly a super cheaty thing that goes against the spirit of the rules in a massive way. Well, we each play the way we think is right. I do understand your point of view but it is just not how I play. Agree to disagree I suppose.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/15 02:47:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 02:49:31
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Honestly, it made sense for the ironclad to get it's own page: We have never seen such a thing until 5th edition, so it's own fluff page was necessary.
Also, as I said before, I would not have any problem with anyone putting an Ironclad in a Storm Raven(obviously only in an Apoc game as the 2 should never be on the same table played by the same player unless it was an Apoc game).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 03:08:40
Subject: Re:Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If there was a "C'mon, man!" segment of You Make Da Call, someone arguing that a Venerable Dreadnought is not a Dreadnought would definitely make the cut.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 11:32:38
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Trickstick wrote:Kommissar Kel wrote:Yes an assault marine is a Space Marine; just like any unit in the tyranids Codex is a tyranid.
Yes An executioner is a Leman Russ, as it is purchased as part of a "Leman Russ Squadron"
Your Doom of Malan'tai example doesn't even make sense; "Zoanthrope" is not in it's name.
Sharing a portion of a name means nothing, Do I need to call nos into this thread to ask ou if an Assault Cannon is "assault"?
There is a unit with the simple name of "Dreadnaught".
There is a Rule That States "plus a single dreadnaught in it's rear grapples".
Is a Venerable Dread the same unit as a "Dreadnaught"?
No, it isn't. It does not even share a unit entry(armylist area) in any of the Codices, nor a statline, nor do they all even necessarily share an FOC slot(i.e. Troop, Elite, or Heavy Support).
Please don't quote things unless you copy them out. They are called dreadnought, not dreadnaught. Also, there is no need to argue about assault cannons, as that is just stupid. Let's just stick to the point.
I get the feeling that arguing my point is useless though, but I'll try. A dreadnought is a certain size and shape, and a venerable dreadnought is almost exactly the same apart from some extra decoration and a more experienced pilot. A grapple that could hold one could easily hold the other, it is not like a dreadknight or something that is completely differently sized. An ironclad is probably not allowed as it is much bigger and heavier though.
I think we are at an impasse, but would you really object if someone put a venerable in a stormraven? It is hardly a super cheaty thing that goes against the spirit of the rules in a massive way. Well, we each play the way we think is right. I do understand your point of view but it is just not how I play. Agree to disagree I suppose.
While I agree that any Dreadnought should be allowed to be taken in a stormraven, Kel has a point, An "Assault Cannon" Is a heavy weapon yet it has "Assault" In the name. Therefore just because it has something in the name it does not mean that it is what it says. But you can't blame Kel for making this point when you were making similar points about the assault marines and leman russ, and btw your zoanthrope comment makes no sense.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 11:39:21
Subject: Re:Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You guys are REALLY cutting hairs here. Can we all agree that a dred is a dred is a dred? I can understand arguing if its a named dred and so on, that can have some merit to it, but a variation of a dred still makes it a dred. I agree with the Cmon man thing
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 19:20:31
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Armored Iron Breaker
|
^ All in favour say aye.
|
Spacewolves: 1850pts
Darkeldar: 1850pts
Dwarfs: 2400pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 19:22:39
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Trickstick wrote:If it has dreadnought in the name it is a dreadnought.
Is an assault marine a marine? Is an executioner a leman russ? Is the Doom of Malan'tai a Zoanthrope?
Sorry for the random examples, but a venerable dread is obviously still a dread.
Is A Daemon Prince a Daemon????
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 19:34:48
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
Manchester, UK
|
Bloodhorror wrote:Trickstick wrote:If it has dreadnought in the name it is a dreadnought.
Is an assault marine a marine? Is an executioner a leman russ? Is the Doom of Malan'tai a Zoanthrope?
Sorry for the random examples, but a venerable dread is obviously still a dread.
Is A Daemon Prince a Daemon???? 
Yes, I think that it is. It may not have the rules but it is definitely a daemon. What else could it be, a fish? A chocolate monster? A slightly smelly call centre worker?
Anyway, let's not go off on a tangent, I probably shouldn't have brought up the examples that I did.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 19:46:29
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, it is not a daemon. In fluff or rules - unless it is a Chaos Daemons codex Daemon Prince.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 20:03:17
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
Manchester, UK
|
Daemon princes are beings who have 'ascended' to daemonhood. Sounds like a daemon to me. I would be kind of shocked if someone said that, say, preferred enemy(daemons) didn't work on a daemon prince; I thought it was pretty intuitive that they are daemons.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/15 20:03:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 20:13:32
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
THey are a mortal who has been granted daemonic powers. Not the same as a daemon - as it is still the "mortal" as the controlling entity.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 20:18:17
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
Manchester, UK
|
I was always under the impression that they had fully ascended to daemonhood, as a gift. They go one step beyond mortals that have simply got some daemon power, such as lower champions and lords.
Isn't being made into a daemon the ultimate prize of chaos worship? I thought that was the point of the princes, to represent those that had succeeded and become daemons without failing and becoming a spawn.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/15 20:18:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 20:23:43
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
They are granted immortality, but are still the "mortal" controlling themselves. Infection with a daemon results in it controlling you, at least temporarily.
So no, Daemon Princes in the Chaos Marine Codex are NOT daemons. They lack the "daemon" special rule that was created prior to their current codex was written.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 20:35:58
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
Manchester, UK
|
I think that I am going off something along the lies of this:
The third fate of the Champion is the one for which all these risks are taken, to which the Champion has dedicated his life to achieving: daemonhood. The Champion is elevated to a Daemon Prince.
This suggests to me that, in the fluff at least, they become full daemons. Also, the Daemon Princes in the daemon codex are the same ones who used to be mortal, they just went of partying with daemons instead.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/15 20:37:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 20:36:47
Subject: Re:Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Fighter Pilot
|
bushido wrote:If there was a "C'mon, man!" segment of You Make Da Call, someone arguing that a Venerable Dreadnought is not a Dreadnought would definitely make the cut.
This.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/15 20:37:13
Subject: Dreadnoughts in Stormravens
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Trickstick wrote: Also, the Daemon Princes in the daemon codex are the same ones who used to be mortal, they just went of partying with daemons instead.
Oddly enough, those have the daemon special rule.
/shrug
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
|