| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/02 03:44:16
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Emboldened Warlock
|
I'm trying to find some sort of rule for or against this, but can't seem to find it.
I've found:
1. Vehicles moving at cruising/flat-out cannot fire it's weapons.
2. If the vehicle has moved, passengers MAY disembark, but cannot move or assault in the same turn. They *can* however, shoot.
So... can I say take my Wave Serpent, which is a Fast/Skimmer,
Tankshock 24", disembark the unit from within, and have the disembarked unit shoot?
Thanks.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/02 03:45:21
What 'bout my star?~* |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/02 03:50:02
Subject: Re:Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Smokin' Skorcha Driver
Tucson, Arizona
|
You cannot disembark after moving flat out.
|
-5000 Pts. of Orks
-1750 Pts. of Ravenwing |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/02 03:50:30
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
|
No . . . Tankshocking 24" count as moving flat-out so no. However, you can shoot out of a transport if it tank-shocked 12" hehehe
|
2500
5000
12,500
4000
5000
2500
3500
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/02 03:52:09
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Specifically the rule you are looking for is regarding fast vehicles, flat out movement, shooting and disembarkation.
The short answer is you cannot shoot or disembark after going flat out.
You cannot tankshock and then assault, since you cannot assault out of a vehicle after it has moved. You may, however, shoot your your units that came out of your vehicle.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/02 04:01:06
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
AchillesFTW wrote:However, you can shoot out of a transport if it tank-shocked 12" hehehe
Passengers can only fire if the transport moves 6" or less. No exception is made for Fast transports.
edit: they could, however, disembark and shoot if it moved 12" or less.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/02 04:01:47
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/03 12:46:10
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant
|
Kouzuki wrote:I'm trying to find some sort of rule for or against this, but can't seem to find it.
I've found:
1. Vehicles moving at cruising/flat-out cannot fire it's weapons.
2. If the vehicle has moved, passengers MAY disembark, but cannot move or assault in the same turn. They *can* however, shoot.
So... can I say take my Wave Serpent, which is a Fast/Skimmer,
Tankshock 24", disembark the unit from within, and have the disembarked unit shoot?
Thanks.
Wave serpents no. You cannot embark and move flat out either. So if you want a last turn object grab make sure you're loaded up the turn before - otherwise no 24" move for you.
Storm Ravens and Valkyries both have a special rule that allows you to jump out and deepstrike anywhere over the 24" flat out move you have made. If you mishap you are destroyed. Also you cannot assault if you do this.
Another note is you move 12" in an open topped vehicle you can disembark and assault. It's a special rule for open topped vehicles.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/03 13:06:21
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Actually it's scatter = dangerous terrain everywhere you land.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/23 08:24:40
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
So, according to the rules, this would happen, and if not, what would?
Trukk (open-topped, fast transport assault vehicle) carrying Boyz is shaken during opponents turn.
Boyz are not allowed to fire while embarked on a stunned or shaken vehicle.
Does this happen:
1. Trukk declares a Ramming attack and moves cruising speed.
Boyz disembark.
They shoot their assault weapons and assault. OR
They run and assault if a Waaagh! had been declared, giving them Fleet for the turn.
OR
2. Trukk declares a Tanks shock and moves cruising speed.
Boyz disembark.
They shoot their assault weapons and assault. OR
They run and assault if a Waaagh! had been declared, giving them Fleet for the turn.
OR
3. Trukk moves cruising speed.
Boyz disembark.
They shoot their assault weapons and assault. OR
They run and assault if a Waaagh! had been declared, giving them Fleet for the turn.
Is this correct?
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/10/23 08:31:24
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/23 10:55:58
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Actually it's scatter = dangerous terrain everywhere you land.
... And if you mishap the unit is destroyed. It is both Scattering = Dangerous, and Mishap is always a terrible accident. Second to last sentence of Shadow Skies/ Skies of blood; Last sentence of Grav Chute Insertion for the Mishap=destroyed unit part. Ghenghis Jon: Only some of that is correct. #1: Ramming forces the top speed(Flat out for a Trukk); and, although the Ram-move may not get to complete the 18/19" do to getting stopped within 12/13", the Ram rules explicitly forbid Disembarking. The Boyz would not be allowed to disembark if you wish to ram with their transport(this also means that if you ram, and your trukk gets destroyed from the return damage, the Boyz in the trukk are also lost). #2, & 3 are both correct.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/23 11:02:26
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/23 12:17:13
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kel - erm, no?
NOTHING in the Ram rules on p69 deny a unit on board the chance to disembark. However if it is a Fast Vehicle, and actually moves over 12" (such that it is moving flatout) a unit on board may not disembark.
However as we know if a Fast vehicle stops moving before moving over 12" it has NOT moved flat out, as your speed is defined by how far you have actually moved, and the unit inside may disembark
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/23 13:02:55
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Kel - erm, no? NOTHING in the Ram rules on p69 deny a unit on board the chance to disembark. However if it is a Fast Vehicle, and actually moves over 12" (such that it is moving flatout) a unit on board may not disembark. However as we know if a Fast vehicle stops moving before moving over 12" it has NOT moved flat out, as your speed is defined by how far you have actually moved, and the unit inside may disembark You know what? I was totally thinking about the specified "no shooting" restriction; it is too damn early(twas before 7AM here when I wrote the first post) Thank you for the correction. Although if you intend to ram, you still could not disembark before you moved the ramming vehicle(because you are going to be attempting to move as fast as possible, and therefore are forbidden by the Fast-transports rule)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/23 13:06:21
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/23 13:12:23
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
True, you can only disembark at the end of the move IF you havent moved flat out.
No worries, late night / early morning posting is interesting. My ability to form even semi coherent sentences goes down the toilet, never mind being right on rules...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/23 13:13:58
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Yeah, Baby woke me at 6, ate and went right back to sleep. I, however, could not get back to sleep.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/23 14:46:14
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ah joy - a friends baby is currently teething, which is then waking up their 2 year old...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/23 14:58:13
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
I have a 2-and-a-half month old, and my wife and I each have a 6 year old(the 2 older boys are 6 months apart). my poor wife is surrounded by boys though since all of the kids(and I get included as one of the kids sometimes) are boys.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/23 15:01:42
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Only sometimes?
Other friends have just had their first, hes a month old and juuust about sleeping...for now
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/23 15:04:18
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
So I guess the real question is after going flat out and dealing with a baby, can you go back to sleep?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/23 15:04:25
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/24 03:02:57
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Thanks for the clarification!
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 01:37:22
Subject: What page?
|
 |
Squishy Oil Squig
|
Sorry for mini-rez...
While i trust that models cannot disembark after a vehicle moves flat out, on what page does it say that?
I can't find it and friends need proof
thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 01:40:44
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
BRB, pg 70, under Fast Transport Vehicles.
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 02:21:40
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Squishy Oil Squig
|
There it is on the bottom duh... thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 03:30:54
Subject: Re:Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh
|
I thought when you ram or attempt to ram, regardless of the actual distance moved, the vehicle always counts as moving at its highest possible speed (which in the case of the trukk is flat out). Is this not correct? If so, does that mean a DE raider with a shock prow can ram a vehicle and as long as the distance moved is 12 or less (and it isnt somehow destroyed) ttroops inside may then disembark and assault?
|
----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 03:56:16
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Apparently, when you Ram you ATTEMPT to move the vehicle the highest speed possible. If in that movement you wind up moving less than the highest speed the vehicle is possible, then you treat the vehicle as having moved at the speed it winded up moving. So, yes, if the DE Raider moves 12 inches or less when making a Ramming attack, the troops may still disembark and assault.
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 11:37:03
Subject: Re:Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Vehicle movement speed is based on how far you ACTUALLY move, nothing else.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 16:23:14
Subject: Re:Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
In your turn movement speed is not determined how far you move but on the intent of the movement. If I flat out with a skimmmer sitting in terrain to a clear area of table and I roll a "1" skimmer is detroyed on the spot and occupants are killed. At the beginning of turn I declare my choice to move flat out and meassure moving ending point. I then roll for leaving terrain. Since I am leaving terrain the wreck happens at the beginning of the movement but since my intenet was to flat out the vehcle is wrecked. Same thing if I was ramming. Decalre ram and measure to total distance. I then work out the ram/tank shock for units/vehicles in the way (This is only true for ram as a declared tank shock has a set distance and must stop within an inch of vehciles). This subject was brought up during the Ard Boyz semi's. A skimmer only needs to decalre flat out movement not move 24 inches between point A and B. The skimmer can circle and get 4+ cover saves. The rulebook only removes the save when this is done to "turbo" rules not flat out.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 18:29:31
Subject: Re:Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, try again. Intent has nothing to do with it.
How far did you move? That's how far you've moved.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 19:02:33
Subject: Re:Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Movement speed does not equal distance traveled. You are very wrong. Care to argue with yakface on this one?
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/398346.page
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Intent of movement, not just movement..
(rulebook, pg 70): "Passengers may not embark onto or disembark from a fast vehicle if it has moved (or is going to move) flat out in that Movement phase."
Going to is intent. If you are ramming in a fast vehicle you must move flat out. Fall short? Well too bad, you were "going to move" flat out. No disembarking or shooting for the unit inside and if you are a skimmer that imobilized itself burn, baby burn.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/07 19:16:57
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 19:19:32
Subject: Re:Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Icon720 wrote:Movement speed does not equal distance traveled. You are very wrong. Care to argue with yakface on this one?
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/398346.page
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Intent of movement, not just movement..
(rulebook, pg 70): "Passengers may not embark onto or disembark from a fast vehicle if it has moved (or is going to move) flat out in that Movement phase."
Going to is intent. If you are ramming in a fast vehicle you must move flat out. Fall short? Well too bad, you were "going to move" flat out. No disembarking or shooting for the unit inside and if you are a skimmer that imobilized itself burn, baby burn.
Might want to check PG 70 Moving Fast vehicles " A fast vehicle going flat out moves more than 12" and up to 18"
If you have not moved the distance you have not gone flat out
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/07 19:20:10
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 20:17:57
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Ghastly Grave Guard
|
Is the following correct?
A transport containing passengers moves 6". The vehicle may fire one weapon and all defensive weapons, and any passengers may fire out of any fire points.
A transport moves 12". It cannot fire any weapons, and none of the passengers may shoot. The passengers may, however, disembark in the movement phase after the transport has moved 12" and then shoot in the shooting phase.
|
1500
500
Vampire Counts 2400
300
Circle Orboros 20 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 20:21:26
Subject: Can units in a transport do the following?: Flat-out -> Disembark -> Shoot?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Tangent wrote:Is the following correct?
A transport containing passengers moves 6". The vehicle may fire one weapon and all defensive weapons, and any passengers may fire out of any fire points.
A transport moves 12". It cannot fire any weapons, and none of the passengers may shoot. The passengers may, however, disembark in the movement phase after the transport has moved 12" and then shoot in the shooting phase.
Yes this appears 100% correct
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|