Switch Theme:

Boarding Planks vs Tau  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Screamin' Stormboy




Philadelphia, USA

This came up in my game last night, and was wondering what Dakka's take on this would be. Simply put, if an Ork uses a boarding plank to attack a Tau vehicle that's been equipped with flechette dischargers, can the Ork be affected by the flechettes?

If the answer is yes and the Ork suffers a wound, can the wound still be distributed to the squad as normal? IE, if the squad's nob is the one making the boarding plank attack, can I still give his wound suffered to a normal boy?

In my game last night, we played it like the Orks could be affected by the flechettes, but I could see that going either way. The wound allocation thing didn't come up last night, but I feel it's related.

Your thoughts?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/10/13 12:45:12


"Free yourself from yourself" -MJK 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Can you attack models inside a transport? BPs allow you to use one model to assault as if he got out. Since the model did not disembark and you can't attack embarked units I believe that answers the question.
   
Made in us
Screamin' Stormboy




Philadelphia, USA

Boss GreenNutz wrote:Can you attack models inside a transport? BPs allow you to use one model to assault as if he got out. Since the model did not disembark and you can't attack embarked units I believe that answers the question.


Actually, it doesn't. The firing of the flechettes is not considered an attack. To quote the Tau codex, pg 30: "Any model attacking the vehicle in close combat will be wounded on a D6 roll of 4+, with saves allowed, before resolving its attacks."

The description of the boarding plank (Ork codex, pg 93) says "A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as if the Ork were disembarked and charging, provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12"."

So to me, the wording seems to suggest that the Ork would be wounded by the flechettes, but this seems counter-intuitive with how the boarding planks are supposed to work.

"Free yourself from yourself" -MJK 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

The nob runs out and gets hit by the flechettes. It is an assaulting models, so it is affected by this rule.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Baalirock wrote:
Boss GreenNutz wrote:Can you attack models inside a transport? BPs allow you to use one model to assault as if he got out. Since the model did not disembark and you can't attack embarked units I believe that answers the question.


Actually, it doesn't. The firing of the flechettes is not considered an attack. To quote the Tau codex, pg 30: "Any model attacking the vehicle in close combat will be wounded on a D6 roll of 4+, with saves allowed, before resolving its attacks."

The description of the boarding plank (Ork codex, pg 93) says "A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as if the Ork were disembarked and charging, provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12"."

So to me, the wording seems to suggest that the Ork would be wounded by the flechettes, but this seems counter-intuitive with how the boarding planks are supposed to work.


I would agree that the Ork would be wounded on a 4+ and don't really see how this is counter-intuitive.

- 3000
- 145 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Boarding planks state they attack as if they assaulted, flechette launchers state they work when the vehicle is assaulted. The nob gets hit before he swings.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Actually, that's wrong. Assuming Baalirock's quote to be correct, he would get wounded as soon as he actually attacks. I agree that being in a vehicle doesn't protect him from flechette launchers though. He is attacking the vehicle in close combat, even if he isn't doing it the normal way.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

He would be wounded as he attacks, but since Flechettes are specifically resolved before the assaulter's attacks are, it's kind of moot.

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

The Nob himself will take a wound on a 4+ before making his swings, but he gets his saves.

Because Flechettes specifies "Models" the wound cannot be allocated to a Boy unless it was actually a boy making the attack.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Assuming this is correct then what type of save does he get? Normal or cover? After all he is inside a vehicle.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Boss GreenNutz wrote:Assuming this is correct then what type of save does he get? Normal or cover? After all he is inside a vehicle.

"exactly as if the Ork were disembarked and charging"

No, he's not. He gets his armor save.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Cover only applies to attacks that specifically allow cover.

He would only get saves that he has on his person(6+ ork armor, 4+ 'evy armor, or 5+ cybork)

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Grey Templar wrote:Cover only applies to attacks that specifically allow cover.

He would only get saves that he has on his person(6+ ork armor, 4+ 'evy armor, or 5+ cybork)
... 2+ Mega armour and/or FNP where applicable
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Indeed

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Grey Templar wrote:Cover only applies to attacks that specifically allow cover.

He would only get saves that he has on his person(6+ ork armor, 4+ 'evy armor, or 5+ cybork)


Incorrect. It has t specifically disallow cover for you to not be able to take a cover save. Given the "firing model" has no LOS to the ork, some cover would be appropriate.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Except it does have LOS - since the boarding plank says that he counts as being disembarked.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Draw a LOS from the model to the Boarding Plank model. Try it. This is TRUE line of sight.

No, there IS no line of sight. Same as you dont get to attack back as a walker - there is no enemy model in base to base.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

Doesn't seem like Fletchette Launchers are shooting attacks per se. In any event, its clearly a reaction to an assault, there are no cover saves in an assault.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except from an exploding vehicle, to put the lie to that blanket statement.

You do not get a cover save from Close Combat Attacks. Extending this to ANYTHING that happens in close combat has absolutely no support in the rules.
   
Made in us
Screamin' Stormboy




Philadelphia, USA

Indeed. As much as I'd like to benefit from a Mek's KFF save in combat, no dice.

It's a shame that the rules read this way, as it seems like the point of a boarding plank is to be able to hit a vehicle without leaving it, and thus not lose the added protection a vehicle provides. This is why I said I thought that the wording of flechettes was somewhat counter-intuitive to this. Alas. At least I'm only putting a single model at risk instead of the whole squad...

Thank you all for your discourse on this!

"Free yourself from yourself" -MJK 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





nosferatu1001 wrote:Draw a LOS from the model to the Boarding Plank model. Try it. This is TRUE line of sight.

Since the boarding plank is (should be?) modeled, put the Nob out on it and I bet I can draw TLOS. By definition, the model is disembarked and must be in B2B (or B2Hull) of the assaulted vehicle.
Try avoiding LOS under those conditions.

No, there IS no line of sight. Same as you dont get to attack back as a walker - there is no enemy model in base to base.

Actually, you don't get to attack back as a walker because the plank doesn't allow you to. The plank does say that a single model can make all of his attacks "exactly as if the Ork were disembarked and charging". The plank doesn't allow an entire round of combat (although I don't have the ork book nearby I'm pretty sure this happens in the movement phase, please correct me if I'm wrong) and you can't have multiple rounds and be stuck in combat outside the assault phase.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




rigeld2 wrote: Actually, you don't get to attack back as a walker because the plank doesn't allow you to.


The Ork FAQ would disagree with you. In fact the walker does not even get to swing back if the Nob (or whomever) fails to kill it.

Q: Can a Walker attack back against an Ork attacking
him from a boarding plank? (p93)
A: No.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Which ... is what I said?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus



Boston, MA

You only get cover from shooting attacks. This attack occurs in the assault phase, thus it is not a shooting attacks.

This is not what I would expected people to be arguing about.

Going to the Feast of Blades Invitational! Check out my blog.

http://prometheusatwar.com/

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Sir_Prometheus wrote:You only get cover from shooting attacks. This attack occurs in the assault phase, thus it is not a shooting attacks.

This is not what I would expected people to be arguing about.

False. There is nothing restricting cover to only shooting attacks - in fact, you get cover saves against thinks like the Mawloc "Terror From the Deep" ability, which happens during the movement phase.

You explicitly do not get cover from close combat attacks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/13 20:54:49


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus



Boston, MA

rigeld2 wrote:
Sir_Prometheus wrote:You only get cover from shooting attacks. This attack occurs in the assault phase, thus it is not a shooting attacks.

This is not what I would expected people to be arguing about.

False. There is nothing restricting cover to only shooting attacks - in fact, you get cover saves against thinks like the Mawloc "Terror From the Deep" ability, which happens during the movement phase.

You explicitly do not get cover from close combat attacks.


Ok.......fine. Way to nitpick. More to the point, if it occurs in the assault phase, it's a close combat attack (and no, there really is no more precise definition than that), so you don't get cover.

And getting cover from the mawlocs attack is just stupid, anyway.

Going to the Feast of Blades Invitational! Check out my blog.

http://prometheusatwar.com/

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Sir_Prometheus wrote:Ok.......fine. Way to nitpick. More to the point, if it occurs in the assault phase, it's a close combat attack (and no, there really is no more precise definition than that), so you don't get cover.

As I said earlier I don't have my Ork codex - does the boarding plank happen during the assault phase?

And getting cover from the mawlocs attack is just stupid, anyway.

Agreed but dem's da rulez.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Sir_Prometheus wrote:More to the point, if it occurs in the assault phase, it's a close combat attack (and no, there really is no more precise definition than that), so you don't get cover.

So, if I assault your vehicle and cause it to explode. Your nearby models that get hit by the explosion are getting hit by a close combat attack and don't get cover?

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Sir_Prometheus wrote:if it occurs in the assault phase, it's a close combat attack
Still not true. Dangerous terrain, vehicle explosions, Perils, etc. are all examples to prove that wrong.

iirc there are close combat attacks that do NOT occur in the assault phase.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus



Boston, MA

Grakmar wrote:
Sir_Prometheus wrote:More to the point, if it occurs in the assault phase, it's a close combat attack (and no, there really is no more precise definition than that), so you don't get cover.

So, if I assault your vehicle and cause it to explode. Your nearby models that get hit by the explosion are getting hit by a close combat attack and don't get cover?


I don't think you do get cover from a vehicle explosion, in fact.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
kirsanth wrote:
Sir_Prometheus wrote:if it occurs in the assault phase, it's a close combat attack
Still not true. Dangerous terrain, vehicle explosions, Perils, etc. are all examples to prove that wrong.

iirc there are close combat attacks that do NOT occur in the assault phase.


None of the those things do you get cover saves from, so I'm not sure what you're arguing about. Just the same, anything that happens in the intiaive order (i.e., at initiative 2, when the ork swings) definately, absolutely, is a CC attack.

I feel like you are committed to arguing about not very much.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/13 21:37:12


Going to the Feast of Blades Invitational! Check out my blog.

http://prometheusatwar.com/

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: