Switch Theme:

Destroyed Stormraven, strength of hit on embarked Dreadnought  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






Allright guys, this came up in a game:

The codex states for Stormravens: "If the Stormraven exploded, the Dreadnought will suffer a Strength 4 hit on its rear armour."

Page 81 of the (mini) rulebook: "If a Zooming Flyer is Wrecked or Explodes, its flaming debris rains down on the battlefield. [...] If the Flyer is also a Transport, any models within suffer a Strength 10 hit with no armour saves allowed."

If a stormraven is carrying a dreadnought, and it gets destroyed what happens if:

It was zooming?
It was hovering?
Any difference between being wrecked, or exploding?
What armour facing is the Strength 10 hit resolved against?

Hope you can help out here guys! Not sure how to play this

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/23 16:07:04


3000p
2000p
7500p 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Normally I would say it takes a Str 10 hit but if your codex specifically details what happens in an explosion, then I would say your Codex overrules the BRB, but just for the explosion not for Wrecked.


PS have you checked the FAQ's for BA? There might be an errata or FAQ on this. I dont play BA so I am not up on their info.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/23 16:13:35


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

It has not been FaQed.

So the answer is: We are not sure what happens.

Since the codex specifically deals with what happens to the dread when it explodes I would use the codex over the BRB since there is a conflict.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Wouldn't it just take both?
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

 DeathReaper wrote:
It has not been FaQed.

So the answer is: We are not sure what happens.

Since the codex specifically deals with what happens to the dread when it explodes I would use the codex over the BRB since there is a conflict.



The codex only covers explodes. If it wrecks, the codex says nothing, so that you'd have to use the BRB S10 hit. As for the side, just hope to roll a 3+ so it doesn't matter.
I'd hit side armor (no direct rule support) because most rules with non-directional hits hit side army.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Drager wrote:
Wouldn't it just take both?


This. It takes an S4 hit to the rear and an S10 hit to... somewhere.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
Drager wrote:
Wouldn't it just take both?


This. It takes an S4 hit to the rear and an S10 hit to... somewhere.



This doesn't make sense, you cannot suffer two explosions from a single vehicle. The Stormraven only blows up once as far as the game is concerned.

You either take a Str 10 hit per BRB or a Str 4 hit per Codex.

Classic case of Codex >BRB.

Str 4 it is.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I doubt that's intended, but yeah - Str4 rear armor on an explode or a Str10 somewhere on a wreck.

HIWPI is Str10 to the rear on wreck or explodes.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in nl
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






rigeld2 wrote:
I doubt that's intended, but yeah - Str4 rear armor on an explode or a Str10 somewhere on a wreck.

HIWPI is Str10 to the rear on wreck or explodes.

why would it be a Str10 to the rear if you're going to forget all about the codex rule?

Am I to assume this problem needs a house rule? As there doesn't seem to be a straight answer really

3000p
2000p
7500p 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





I play it as a 'Strength 4 hit to the rear Armor' in both cases, but yes there is definately some vagueness there.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Requiem wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
I doubt that's intended, but yeah - Str4 rear armor on an explode or a Str10 somewhere on a wreck.

HIWPI is Str10 to the rear on wreck or explodes.

why would it be a Str10 to the rear if you're going to forget all about the codex rule?

Am I to assume this problem needs a house rule? As there doesn't seem to be a straight answer really

The Codex rule never took Zooming into consideration.
I think rigeld2's suggestion is a sound one, Str10 hit for Crash and Burn, and Str4 hit if Hovering.
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

It takes a str 4 hit in skimmer mode and a str 10 hit in flier mode. It is assumed to be rear armor in both cases, but don't forget the hit doesn't have an ap value, so no bonuses to the damage table.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




40k-noob wrote:
 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
Drager wrote:
Wouldn't it just take both?


This. It takes an S4 hit to the rear and an S10 hit to... somewhere.



This doesn't make sense, you cannot suffer two explosions from a single vehicle. The Stormraven only blows up once as far as the game is concerned.

You either take a Str 10 hit per BRB or a Str 4 hit per Codex.

Classic case of Codex >BRB.

Str 4 it is.


Str 4 could be shrapnel, Str 10 falling. Although whether or not it makes sense from a fluff view is not really relavent.
   
Made in nl
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






 juraigamer wrote:
It takes a str 4 hit in skimmer mode and a str 10 hit in flier mode. It is assumed to be rear armor in both cases, but don't forget the hit doesn't have an ap value, so no bonuses to the damage table.

Why is it assumed to be rear armour? Not trying to save my dreadnought from dying horribly in the future or anything, just wondering

3000p
2000p
7500p 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Requiem wrote:
 juraigamer wrote:
It takes a str 4 hit in skimmer mode and a str 10 hit in flier mode. It is assumed to be rear armor in both cases, but don't forget the hit doesn't have an ap value, so no bonuses to the damage table.

Why is it assumed to be rear armour? Not trying to save my dreadnought from dying horribly in the future or anything, just wondering

There's no way to know which side to apply the hit, but the rule in the Codex suggests Rear.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

I was under the assumption that all attacks that don't really have a direction are resolved against rear armour.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Furious Raptor




Fort Worth, TX

meh...nevermind.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/23 17:32:05


I out with in both 40k and WHFB.
Co-host of the HittingOn3s Podcast
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

The dread is embarked on the flyer, the model is within the flyer.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS

Had this come up in the last tournament and saw the same argument. We rules that it was a wreck not a an explosion so went with the S10 hit but took it to the side armor. lucky for me it still pen'd and immobolized the dangerous dread.

I would say while flying which isnt covered in the codex the dread would take the S10 hit like everything else. While in hover mode it can take the codex rule of S4 on rear armor.

TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Normally when a vehicle Explodes everything embarked suffers a Str4 hit.
With a Dreadnought embarked it leaves the question "Which side should the hit be resolved at?"
My interpretation is the rule in the Codex answers this by saying the Str4 hit is against the rear armour.
Now while Zooming, embarked models take a Str10 hit instead and again leaves the question of which side to hit the Dreadnoght. Using the previous answer as a precident again against the Rear armour.
So Hover mode Str4 on Rear, Zooming Str10 on Rear.

Of course this isn't 100% supported by the rules, just my interpretaion of what makes the most sense to me.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/23 17:57:01


 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

It's not so bad for the dread, only on a 6 does the dread go by by, otherwise a 5 he's stuck, and a 4 loses a random weapon.

And yes, while there is no exact rule regarding this, we only have the info from the last edition, so it's all we can go on.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Zooming is irrelevant.

The Codex says "if the Stormraven explodes" while Zooming or Hovering, it doesn't matter, the Stormraven is exploding and thus the Codex should overrule the BRB.

However if folks want to play it the "Crash and Burn" rule way, then also consider this. The Dreadnaught is NOT "within" the transport but is actually on the outside held by the rear grapples. So the Str10 hit should not apply to him as the rule says, "If the Flyer is also a Transport,
any models within suffer a Strength l0 hit with no armour saves allowed."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/23 18:19:38


 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Well if you want to do it that way...

So the codex states it takes a str 4 hit if the storm raven explodes.

Then the rulebook states if flying, the crash and burn rule kicks in, and the insides take a str 10 hit.

Therefore, you take both. Enjoy. Personally, just str 4 if skimmer or str 10 if flier is how I'd play it.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

40k-noob wrote:
The Dreadnaught is NOT "within" the transport but is actually on the outside held by the rear grapples.

That's fluff, not rules.
The Dreadnought is embarked on the StormRaven.

Codex Grey Knights page 93 wrote:Transport Capacity:
Twelve models and one Dreadnought
   
Made in nl
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle






My gut agrees that if the stormraven was zooming you take the str10 hit (but on what facing?) and if it was hovering you take a str4 on the rear armour as per codex.

Unfortunately though the codex rule doesn't work exclusively for hovering flyers. Since the rule was written when there were no flyers as we know them now the rule doesn't speak about this at all.

So RAW I'd say that the only time you take a str10 hit would be when it is wrecked (since the codex only applies to exploding vehicles and not wrecked vehicles). Question remains on what facing this would be.. It stands to reason to take the precedence of the codex rule and using the rear armour value.

RAI however I think you should take the str10 hit when it is zooming, regardless of the damage result being explodes or wrecked. It just makes sense.

Seems like an oversight to me but there's nog arguing with RAW
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 grendel083 wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
The Dreadnaught is NOT "within" the transport but is actually on the outside held by the rear grapples.

That's fluff, not rules.
The Dreadnought is embarked on the StormRaven.

Codex Grey Knights page 93 wrote:Transport Capacity:
Twelve models and one Dreadnought


Doesn't sound like fluff and it is within the TRANSPORT rule in the Codex Entry. In fact, this is word for word:
BA Codex wrote:
TRANSPORT:
The Stromraven can carry two separate squads: one unit of up to 12 models in its cabin, plus a single dreadnought in its rear grapples(if the Stromraven explodes, the dreadnought will suffer a strength 4 hit on its rear armor).


Clearly it is being transport on the outside of the vehicle. Anyway, it is neither here nor there in that respect, the Codex should win out in the case of an explosion.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 juraigamer wrote:
Well if you want to do it that way...

So the codex states it takes a str 4 hit if the storm raven explodes.

Then the rulebook states if flying, the crash and burn rule kicks in, and the insides take a str 10 hit.

Therefore, you take both. Enjoy. Personally, just str 4 if skimmer or str 10 if flier is how I'd play it.


The CnB rule says if it is Wrecked or Explodes.

The explosion is where the Codex would overrule the BRB, with respect to the dreadnought only.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/11/23 18:50:16


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

40k-noob wrote:
The CnB rule says if it is Wrecked or Explodes.

The explosion is where the Codex would overrule the BRB, with respect to the dreadnought only.

So on a wreck, which side do we apply the Str10 hit?
Simply put we there's no RAW ruling for how to handel this. A certain degree of interpretaion and House-Ruling is required.
We can argue our interpretations all day. I've given my view, you've given yours. Best discuss with your opponent on the day.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 grendel083 wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
The CnB rule says if it is Wrecked or Explodes.

The explosion is where the Codex would overrule the BRB, with respect to the dreadnought only.

So on a wreck, which side do we apply the Str10 hit?
Simply put we there's no RAW ruling for how to handel this. A certain degree of interpretaion and House-Ruling is required.
We can argue our interpretations all day. I've given my view, you've given yours. Best discuss with your opponent on the day.


Unfortunately it is not addressed in the BRB, Codex nor FAQs. However since the Codex says rear for an explosion, I would defer to rear for wrecked as well, but that is just my guess.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

The S4 and S10 hits aren't mutually exclusive. You're told by the BA (or GK) Codex to take an S4 hit to your Dreadnought's Rear Armour. You're told by the BRB to take an S10 hit to everyone embarked on the transport. Where, in the Blood Angels (or GK) Codex does it say that the S4 overrides the S10? It isn't a conflict, so there's no Codex>BRB to apply. You take both hits.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

40k-noob wrote:
Zooming is irrelevant.

The Codex says "if the Stormraven explodes" while Zooming or Hovering, it doesn't matter, the Stormraven is exploding and thus the Codex should overrule the BRB.

However if folks want to play it the "Crash and Burn" rule way, then also consider this. The Dreadnaught is NOT "within" the transport but is actually on the outside held by the rear grapples. So the Str10 hit should not apply to him as the rule says, "If the Flyer is also a Transport,
any models within suffer a Strength l0 hit with no armour saves allowed."


Guess it cannot use the assault ramp than.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: