Switch Theme:

SAG Double6 question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Had a discussion with a necron player about the results if i rolled a with a SAG while firing at him.

SAG states:
The tunnel opens a hole into the warp itself, and a ravening cloud of sentient daemonic ichor gushes out into the material realm. Any model hit by the gun this turn is removed from play. Vehicles take an automatic penetrating hit.

To me, this says "They go poof" or "Warped into another dimension"

We werent playing a game so no dice were thrown or time loss, but the argument went that even if i "poofed" his entire immortal squad (except one, since he must have 1 remaining) he could still roll dice to stand them back up. I do not know the wording on necrons for this action, but the wording for just says removed, not obliterated. The same goes for invul saves. Since im technically warping you into another reality/dimension/area/whatever, you dont get an invul save either right?

The argument was never resolved, and seeing as i like to run big meks with SAGS and hes one of the more frequent players in the group im bound to have this issue arouse during a game eventually.

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






It comes down to whether you believe there is actually a difference between "removed from play" and "removed from play as a casualty".

Personally, I don't think there's a difference and thus I think the reanimation protocols/everliving should be allowed.
   
Made in us
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

We are a friendly group so i'd allow it anyway just to avoid the insanely huge argument from slowing our game down, but often i have to be a dick and go with RAW because, as orks, a lot of our stuff is funky if you dont play the rules and totally shaft us.

An example, off topic though, is vehicles and combat speed. It says i can fire 1 weapon normally if i move 6 or less (7 with RPJ) and the rest are snaps. Technically since vehicles have relentless, that means i can fire Ordance weapons. That one took me awhile to proove

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






BRB has a section for vehicles about what happens when they shoot ordinance. A quick sum up is yes you can move and fire it, but no matter how you move if you fire the ordinance weapon everything else must snap fire.
   
Made in us
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Yea i know i was just using that as an example of having to point out this rule overriding that rule etc etc to help me orkyness out.

Even if, per OP, i allowed invul saves and necron reanimations after rolling 6s, its still one hell of a devastating hit as any single model that fails to pass these rolls is byebye regardless of their power. Im just tryin to get clarification for tourny-rule situations.
Only unit i know off off the top of my head that has instakill immunity is ghazzy.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/15 01:30:17


An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Removed from play doesn't allow reanimate, just like how jaws works.

Ghaz would still be removed if he was under the blast and you rolled double 6's. In fact, no saves are even taken, if you're under the blast you go away, you don't get a save.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Exactly how i thought about it, since no hits are actually taken technically.

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Removed from play does allow you to come back, sometimes. The SW FAQ says you can come back from Lukas the Trickster's stasis field, and the SoB FAQ gives St.Celestine blanket permission to come back after anything that removes her from play. Then again, I'd imagine an Emperor-powered avenging angel can do just that.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





As a necron player myself, I stick to strict wordings from the Codex. Meaning, the RP/EL rule only activates on the instance the model is "removed as a casualty". This game seems to heavilly rely on how they word everything, as it can change how something works completely or break the rule entirely. When they make the effort to add and specify "as a casualty" it means just that, if the death dealing weapon/model in question says "removed from play" or any variation of such where it doesn't actually do any damage to the model, they just go away.

tl;dr: RAW its debatable because of the choices of wording made by GW while HIWPI and hopefully many more would go the rout of they don't get to come back.

I mean heck, the RP fluff says they repair themselves on the battlefield; but that don't mean squat when the entire model gets ported into the warp or into the vacuum of space to float forever....so even RAI backs up the assumption they don't get to come back...
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Spetulhu wrote:
Removed from play does allow you to come back, sometimes. The SW FAQ says you can come back from Lukas the Trickster's stasis field, and the SoB FAQ gives St.Celestine blanket permission to come back after anything that removes her from play. Then again, I'd imagine an Emperor-powered avenging angel can do just that.

Lukas is a bad example - his ability removes from play as a casualty.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




rigeld2 wrote:
Lukas is a bad example - his ability removes from play as a casualty.


Then I stand corrected. St.Celestine is the only one able to come back no matter what in that case.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/15 07:21:43


 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Spetulhu wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Lukas is a bad example - his ability removes from play as a casualty.


Then I stand corrected. St.Celestine is the only one able to come back no matter what in that case.


Thawn can as well, his rule is worded the same way as St. Celestine.

Also, take note of the fact that it removes vehicles as well, RAW.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Spetulhu wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Lukas is a bad example - his ability removes from play as a casualty.


Then I stand corrected. St.Celestine is the only one able to come back no matter what in that case.


Something could be read into the fact that they worded Jaws and Lukas's last laugh differently and clarified that Lukas can allow models to come back while they never FAQ'd jaws to say that models such as Necron with RP/EL could come back.


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
Spetulhu wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Lukas is a bad example - his ability removes from play as a casualty.


Then I stand corrected. St.Celestine is the only one able to come back no matter what in that case.


Thawn can as well, his rule is worded the same way as St. Celestine.

Also, take note of the fact that it removes vehicles as well, RAW.

Then may have the same wording but he doesn't have the FAQ allowing it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in kr
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Actually i found my answer in the FAQ, surprisingly. Need to read this better in the future

Q: Are models that are immune to instant death (such as those with Eternal Warrior) removed from the table when hit by a shokk attack gun that rolls a "Raargh" result?
A: Yes, unless they are gargantuan creatures or super-heavy vehicles (see warhammer 40k apoc book).

So, theres my answer lol. Anything and everything simply disappears, regardless of their power unless theyre apoc level stuff or a vehicle (since i doubt this QnA removes the codex vehicles auto pen hit for simply disappears as well)

No invuls, no revives, no nothing. I imagine the Sisters chick can still come back since thats a very unique rule.

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Vineheart01 wrote:
Actually i found my answer in the FAQ, surprisingly. Need to read this better in the future

Q: Are models that are immune to instant death (such as those with Eternal Warrior) removed from the table when hit by a shokk attack gun that rolls a "Raargh" result?
A: Yes, unless they are gargantuan creatures or super-heavy vehicles (see warhammer 40k apoc book).

So, theres my answer lol. Anything and everything simply disappears, regardless of their power unless theyre apoc level stuff or a vehicle (since i doubt this QnA removes the codex vehicles auto pen hit for simply disappears as well)

No invuls, no revives, no nothing. I imagine the Sisters chick can still come back since thats a very unique rule.


It still removes vehicles.
Poorly written ftw.
A vehicle is a model, so it takes a pen and is RFG simo.

   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Vineheart01 wrote:
Q: Are models that are immune to instant death (such as those with Eternal Warrior) removed from the table when hit by a shokk attack gun that rolls a "Raargh" result?
A: Yes, unless they are gargantuan creatures or super-heavy vehicles (see warhammer 40k apoc book).


That question is a bit silly in the first place. Eternal warrior only protects you from Instant Death, which the SAG 66 doesn't cause - no wounds were inflicted.
   
Made in kr
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Spetulhu wrote:
Vineheart01 wrote:
Q: Are models that are immune to instant death (such as those with Eternal Warrior) removed from the table when hit by a shokk attack gun that rolls a "Raargh" result?
A: Yes, unless they are gargantuan creatures or super-heavy vehicles (see warhammer 40k apoc book).


That question is a bit silly in the first place. Eternal warrior only protects you from Instant Death, which the SAG 66 doesn't cause - no wounds were inflicted.


Thats the origin of all the confusion and bull around the SAG 66. Yes it doesnt actually say they take Str D hits, but it doesnt exactly say it simply vanishes.

Bet hes going to bring up "Reanimation isnt invul save" but to me its the same damn thing since its either prevents death or reverts it on the same lousy dice roll. Big diff.
EDIT: Actually i'd say reanimation is worse than invul unless you can get invul and reanimation (which i dont think necron have any...or atleast i havnt seen one) because if i blast you before you can shoot me, you cant shoot back even if you stand back up. Invul save you just go "Ha! Iz dat all ya got ye git?" and can attack afterwords.

EDIT2: What would be the point of auto-Pen hit on vehicles if its getting removed anyway? Thats what makes me think it doesnt instantly remove them, however AP2 even against a landraider means 5+ its gone anyway, 4+ if its open topped vehicle instead. Good odds to make it go away anyways.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/16 08:29:55


An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Vineheart01 wrote:
Spetulhu wrote:


EDIT2: What would be the point of auto-Pen hit on vehicles if its getting removed anyway? Thats what makes me think it doesnt instantly remove them, however AP2 even against a landraider means 5+ its gone anyway, 4+ if its open topped vehicle instead. Good odds to make it go away anyways.



A vehicle is a model so it is removed. A vehicle is a vehicle so it takes a pen as well.

When it gets removed, whatever is inside of it gos too ...

   
Made in kr
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Mmmm while it makes sense i could see that causing issues. If it didnt have the "vehicles automatically take a pen hit" in there i would say yea vehicles too but .... eh i dont think it does. I'd agree on the crew if it was open topped lol

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Vineheart01 wrote:
Mmmm while it makes sense i could see that causing issues. If it didnt have the "vehicles automatically take a pen hit" in there i would say yea vehicles too but .... eh i dont think it does. I'd agree on the crew if it was open topped lol


It simply does both RAW, it's hard to try to say it cannot as it says it does both. :Shrug:

   
Made in kr
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

the way its worded in the codex, its "but, vehicles take an automatic pen hit" since it says it after every model vanishes.

Vehicles dont have invul saves so the question in the FAQ doesnt apply either

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Vineheart01 wrote:
the way its worded in the codex, its "but, vehicles take an automatic pen hit" since it says it after every model vanishes.

Vehicles dont have invul saves so the question in the FAQ doesnt apply either


"Any model hit by the gun this turn is removed from play. Vehicles take an automatic penetrating hit." Pg 35 C:Orks

Is a vehicle a model?
Yes, so apply both results.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Vineheart01 wrote:
the way its worded in the codex, its "but, vehicles take an automatic pen hit" since it says it after every model vanishes.

Vehicles dont have invul saves so the question in the FAQ doesnt apply either


"Any model hit by the gun this turn is removed from play. Vehicles take an automatic penetrating hit." Pg 35 C:Orks

Is a vehicle a model?
Yes, so apply both results.
RAI that seems like they meant to say Any non vehicle model hit...

because saying any model hit in the first sentence makes the second sentence wasted ink.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/17 03:14:13


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Vineheart01 wrote:
the way its worded in the codex, its "but, vehicles take an automatic pen hit" since it says it after every model vanishes.

Vehicles dont have invul saves so the question in the FAQ doesnt apply either


"Any model hit by the gun this turn is removed from play. Vehicles take an automatic penetrating hit." Pg 35 C:Orks

Is a vehicle a model?
Yes, so apply both results.
RAI that seems like they meant to say Any non vehicle model hit...

because saying any model hit in the first sentence makes the second sentence wasted ink.


Similar to what was done with the KFF. It effects vehicles twice over due to it's poor wording.

Sure it may be intended to pen it, but this is orks so I have no idea

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The KFF was different, it said "All units within 6 inches... get a 5+ cover save, [Vehicles are obscured.]"

Obscured for vehicles was a 4+ in 5th, so vehicles got a better effect than everything else.

For the SAG Double6 the second sentence is literally not needed as the rule reads as if vehicles get removed. no need for them to take a penetrating hit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/17 03:33:46


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
The KFF was different, it said "All units within 6 inches... get a 5+ cover save, [Vehicles are obscured.]"

Obscured for vehicles was a 4+ in 5th, so vehicles got a better effect than everything else.

For the SAG Double6 the second sentence is literally not needed as the rule reads as if vehicles get removed. no need for them to take a penetrating hit.


Orks was a 4th ed codex.

Think we're sayin the same thing tho

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Ork was on the cusp of 5th, but that really does not matter as the SAG Double6 literally is wasted words for the second sentence if any model hit was to be removed.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in kr
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

agreed the second sentence is completely wasted ink if its not "but" or "however" in addition to the all models.

Quite frankly i dont care bout the vehicle part, i use this thing against infantry or bigger infantry (elites without 3-4+ invuls) because of the crappy BS im bound to miss a single target but hit a large mob (except last night where i rolled scatter left 12 inches which was off the table lol)

EDIT: Actually, side question, if i use an Ammo runt would i reroll the power as well since "technically" its a second shot replacing the first?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/17 06:33:44


An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in ca
Yellin' Yoof




Canada

I play orks as well, love the KFF and so far my typical 'odd roll' is the double-5 'Zoink, teleport in assault'... So I like the Junka with a deffrolla, heh...

Anyway, about double-6 it's pretty clear to me a vehicle isn't straight-out removed, it suffers a pen instead. SAG's effects table is full of unclear cases, so don't try to strictly RAW that thing. it's a bit of a mess. We're orks, we slam a rivet in it, shoot a lawyer and move on.
On infantry/big monsters, no saves or invul saves are taken as this causes no wounds. How does it work on Necrons? Not sure, I'd discuss it with the necron player early in the game for safety's sake. And remember the double-1 result is similar.

Now about the ammo runt, I don't remember if I saw it in a FAQ or in a discussion, but it was clear the runt gives no provision to reroll the effect of the SAG. You only reroll the scatter and distance. That makes the runt pretty useful:
-Step one: place large blast
-Step two: check for SAG's effect
-Step three: Decide if it's worth using the runt. Effect stays the same.

That's how our Local game club ork players play it (including myself)
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: