Switch Theme:

100% Drop Pod List  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut




If i put all my units into 7 drop pods 4 of them arrive at the begining of my first turn.
In that scenario, if i get to go second, my oponent does not have ant thing to shoot in the first turn. He can just move his units, and that is is?
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

Incorrect.
You must have at least half of your army fielded on the board.
I'll get back to you on the page number...

EDIT: Got it.
Page 124 in the small rulebook.
Under "Preparing Reserves" at the bottom of the page.

Only half of your units (rounding up) can be in reserve.
Not counting units that MUST start in reserve and units with a dedicated transport count as one unit. (Tactical marines in a drop pod are one unit, for example.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/14 15:17:20


If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in gb
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster







Units that have to start in reserves though, Drop Pods, Fliers, LotD, Marbo etc do not count towards the number of units that can be held in reserve.

Revilers 6,000pts
Dark Eldar 4,000pts
Cadian 229 regiment 3,000pts 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut




Drop pod assault states, i have to deploy half of my forces at the start of my first turn.
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Gothenburg

Dont pods remove that requirement?
Anything in a pod doesnt count towards the on-the-table limit.

Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

 Pyriel- wrote:
Dont pods remove that requirement?
Anything in a pod doesnt count towards the on-the-table limit.


No, not to my knowledge.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






BRB FAQ: http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m3440036a_40K_RULEBOOK_v1.5_September_13.pdf
Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No.


{Edit}Also, since noone seems to be answering the OP, your opponent gets their turn, which they can use to move, cast psychic blessings, run, JSJ in the assault phase and anything else that they want to do. Having no targets will limit their shooting phase obviously, but there are no additional restrictions because you're not there yet.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/14 15:28:12


 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel






Isn't there. Rule in sixth now that says if you have no models on the board at anytime now you lose?

warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!

8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
 
   
Made in gb
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster







Only at the end of a game turn, meaning if the podding player goes second, the pods all come down on his first turn, before the end of said game turn.


Revilers 6,000pts
Dark Eldar 4,000pts
Cadian 229 regiment 3,000pts 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

----------------------------------------------
Related FAQ:
Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves?
(p124)
A: No
----------------------------------------------

Ninja'ed....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/14 15:36:02


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





No, the rule if at the end of any GAME TURN a player has no models on the board, that player loses automatically.

Also, a 100% Drop list is still legal.

Any unit that is in a transport that MUST start in reserve, i.e. Flyer transport, Drop Pods, Mycetic Spores etc. DO NOT count towards the number of units that can be placed in reserve.

dang, Ninja'd TWICE!!
I type slow :(

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/14 15:31:22


 
   
Made in us
Slippery Scout Biker



Philadelphia, PA

 Pyriel- wrote:
Dont pods remove that requirement?


Yes, they absolutely do. Page 36 (the Deep Strike rule) tells us, "When working out how many units can be placed in reserve, units that must be deployed by Deep Strike (along with any models embarked upon them) are ignored."

If all of your units are embarked upon Drop Pods at the beginning of the game, you have no units for the purpose of calculating reserves.

   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut




Ok, and in a drop pod list, any non-drop pod unit must be deployed as normal? Eg. If i want to deploy three Predator. Should 2 of them start on the table, and one of them can start in reserves?or can i put all of them in reserves?
   
Made in us
Slippery Scout Biker



Philadelphia, PA

gausus wrote:
Ok, and in a drop pod list, any non-drop pod unit must be deployed as normal? Eg. If i want to deploy three Predator. Should 2 of them start on the table, and one of them can start in reserves?or can i put all of them in reserves?


Drop Pods and the units embarked upon them are ignored when calculating Reserves. According to the Reserves rule (p 124) you can choose not to deploy up to half your units, rounding up.

In this particular case, you would have only three Predators for the purpose of calculating Reserves, so you could put up to two of them in Reserves.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Half rounding up in reserves. So 2 of the Preds can be in reserve with one starting the game on the table and drawing the fire of any and everything that has range and LOS.
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





Virginia

Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No.

====

Your HQ units do not have the "Must start in reserves." So, a list with 2 HQ and all other units bought pods, then 1 HQ must start on the board and the other may start in reserves.

“My faith protects me. My Kevlar helps.”
Michael Carpenter,Knight of the Cross
In "Death Masks, The Dresden Files." 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The HQs embarked in pods must start in reserves.
So an all drop pod, null deployment list is absolutely fine.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Leerstetten, Germany

rigeld2 wrote:
The HQs embarked in pods must start in reserves.
So an all drop pod, null deployment list is absolutely fine.


I think the argument can be that HQs don't have dedicated transports, so they are not embarked in a drop pod by default.

I know they have the option to join a Command Squad that can take a drop pod, so that might still cover them that way though.
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

HQs don't need to have to be in the pods, as long as they've joined the squad in it and are thus transported by a unit that has to deepstrike you're good to go.


Edit: I'm expressing myself horrendously , but I meant that it doesn't matter whether or not the pod is the HQ's dedicated transport.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/14 23:43:53


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 d-usa wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
The HQs embarked in pods must start in reserves.
So an all drop pod, null deployment list is absolutely fine.


I think the argument can be that HQs don't have dedicated transports, so they are not embarked in a drop pod by default.

I know they have the option to join a Command Squad that can take a drop pod, so that might still cover them that way though.

The tac squads aren't embarked by default either - you have the option.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Leerstetten, Germany

rigeld2 wrote:
 d-usa wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
The HQs embarked in pods must start in reserves.
So an all drop pod, null deployment list is absolutely fine.


I think the argument can be that HQs don't have dedicated transports, so they are not embarked in a drop pod by default.

I know they have the option to join a Command Squad that can take a drop pod, so that might still cover them that way though.

The tac squads aren't embarked by default either - you have the option.


But they can take them as a dedicated transport.

But there is no HQ option that can take them as a dedicated transport.

Don't know if the dedicated transport makes a difference, just throwing it out there.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No.

No mention that it only applies to dedicated transports.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Dedicated Transport has absolutely *NOTHING* to do with it. You can declare the IC joined to a unit in reserve as well - thereby putting them in a pod at which point they are ignored for working out the 50%.

So, to sum up - if your list is in 100% pods you can reserve it all and you won't lose because you'll have pods down by the end of game turn 1. What you can also do - because the reserves limitation is rounded up - is have but a single unit that doesn't HAVE to be held in reserve, and still reserve it anyway.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 d-usa wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 d-usa wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
The HQs embarked in pods must start in reserves.
So an all drop pod, null deployment list is absolutely fine.


I think the argument can be that HQs don't have dedicated transports, so they are not embarked in a drop pod by default.

I know they have the option to join a Command Squad that can take a drop pod, so that might still cover them that way though.

The tac squads aren't embarked by default either - you have the option.


But they can take them as a dedicated transport.

But there is no HQ option that can take them as a dedicated transport.

Don't know if the dedicated transport makes a difference, just throwing it out there.

It doesn't make a difference. The only special thing about dedicated transports is that the units that can begin the game embarked on them are limited. (Some SRs confer to dedicated transport, but that's the exception rather than the rule)

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver




Dis filfy git wantz ta know?

 Ond Angel wrote:
Incorrect.
You must have at least half of your army fielded on the board.

Only half of your units (rounding up) can be in reserve.
Not counting units that MUST start in reserve and units with a dedicated transport count as one unit. (Tactical marines in a drop pod are one unit, for example.)


you hit it right on the head their sir. not counting units that MUST start in reserves witch droppods do so this is Correct.
as i do use this alot. even up to as much as 13droppods

10k


We Green And Not Very Clean!

"Orkses never lose a battle. If we win we win, if we die we die fightin so it don't count if we runs for it we don't die neiher,
Cos we can come back for annuver go,
 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






where does it say end of game turn, not player turn, for having to have at least one model on the table?

 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 easysauce wrote:
where does it say end of game turn, not player turn, for having to have at least one model on the table?


In the same sentence where it says that you lose if you have nothing on the table at the end of a turn.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver




Dis filfy git wantz ta know?

 easysauce wrote:
where does it say end of game turn, not player turn, for having to have at least one model on the table?


If i had the BRB on me i would show you. me and my local GW manager looked it up and it says if no enemy models are on the bored by the end of your opponents game turn you win.
But 1/2 your droppods come in t1 automatically
try looking under alternate ways to win or such i think we found it. under tabling or something.

10k


We Green And Not Very Clean!

"Orkses never lose a battle. If we win we win, if we die we die fightin so it don't count if we runs for it we don't die neiher,
Cos we can come back for annuver go,
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 easysauce wrote:
where does it say end of game turn, not player turn, for having to have at least one model on the table?

Pg122, paragraph above objectives
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Orkimedezz wrote:

If i had the BRB on me i would show you. me and my local GW manager looked it up and it says if no enemy models are on the bored by the end of your opponents game turn you win..

There is no such thing as an 'opponent's game turn'.

Each player has a player turn. When both player turns are completed, that's the end of the game turn.

You lose if you have nothing on the board at the end of the game turn, not the end of your player turn.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: