That is what you keep repeating, but the way it is written uses this odd turn of phrase where I am not entirely sure what the punctuation signifies..
"
On a 5+, the unsaved Wound is discounted - treat it as having been saved.
"
In my native language at least, anything behind that dash would be a mere clarification, a synonym even to to make it clearer what the first part means.
Now if the rule only had:
"Discount the wound", I would definitely say that it only discounts the wound and anything else triggered off of the unsaved wound still goes.
If it only had:
"Treat the wound as saved", I would interpret that as treat it just as if an armour or cover save was passed, there was no unsaved wound at all.
But... It includes both.
I started doubting just now how it should be played, after rereading the Doom's Absorb Life. Because somehow I think that
ES should work when the
FNP is passed and Absorb Life shouldn't. No matter that they work the same way...
IMHO, the only thing to do here is to have
GW FAQ every single ability that triggers off of Unsaved Wounds, as to how it interacts with
FNP. Or at least give a blanket
FAQ for all of them in one go.