Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 00:23:10
Subject: Re:First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Drag wrote:The Scout rule does not work as there is no unit call “Scouts” as it is written. The rule does not rename the unit that has the rule and there for cannot be redeployed. The RAW says “Scouts must….”, and as far as I see it there is no Scouts unit just units that have the scout rule.
I do not believe you have read the Scout special rule correctly. Perhaps you should re-read it in its entirety.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 00:35:54
Subject: Re:First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Forth sentence starts “During this……, Scouts must….” Again ill state the RAW and say there is no unit called Scouts and the rule does not say it renames the unit Scouts so the rule does not work if you want to play this RAW BS.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/28 00:36:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 00:46:25
Subject: Re:First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Drag wrote:Forth sentence starts “During this……, Scouts must….” Again ill state the RAW and say there is no unit called Scouts and the rule does not say it renames the unit Scouts so the rule does not work if you want to play this RAW BS.
LOL I guess you missed this part again:
"After both sides have deployed (including Infiltrators), but before the first player begins his first turn, a unit containing at least one model with this special rule can choose to redeploy."
or this part
" If a unit with this special rule is deployed inside a Dedicated Transport, it confers the Scout special rule to the Transport (though a disembarkation cannot be performed as part of the redeployment)."
The only section that starts off with Scouts is the parts that states they must remain 12" from enemy models.
Again, please re-read the rule in its entirety.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 01:08:31
Subject: Re:First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thinking that you have not read all the post and this has become a debate about the RAW interpretation and if that is what we are using than again this rule does not work as I stated. Please read the rule and the posts and they are inferring a terminator unit has the Scout rule as per 6th edition SM codex. The Scout rule states or refers to “Scouts” and if we were to play a game of 40K and you wanted to say you could assault first turn using this interpretation of the Scout rule. I would say show me the unit of “Scouts” as per the RAW (there isn’t one) and infer that the rule does not work.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 01:12:21
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
If you can prove RAW that "scout" is a unit name, then you might have a point.
If not...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 01:17:15
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun
|
Does P109 have any bearing on this situation?
Leaving aside any hypothetical vehicle with scouts the scouts rule, since P109 seems to indicate that the DT is a unit upgrade, as opposed to an actual unit in itself. This then seems to be reinforced by the P41 transferrence of special abilities. (An inference imparted by me, not explicitly spelled out in the rules}
There is also the rule on reserves in which a unit and it's DT is considered a single unit for working out how many reserves you have.
Cheers
Andrew
|
I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!
Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 01:18:27
Subject: Re:First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
40k-noob wrote:Toxium wrote:In the scout rule on page 41, it makes reference to units not being able to disembark from a transport (dedicated or otherwise) as part of a scout redeployment.
This implies to me that both the transport and the unit in it are part of the scout redeployment and therefore not able to charge turn 1.
However, from a strict RAW viewpoint, there is certainly a grey area in which to debate.
Just my 2 cents.
Actually I think it points to the fact that they are not "scout redeploying."
By deployment rules a unit/model with Scout can deploy inside a Transport and also by rule the unit inside CANNOT Scout Redeploy even if it wanted to, because it would require a disembark which is not allowed.
This clearly indicates that the unit inside a transport is barred from redeploying.
this is because it already has. The quote tells us this.
Why would the unit inside be disallowed from disembarking if they were not redeploying? They have no permission to disembark when they are not using scout to re-deploy, the restriction is there because they are using scout to re-deploy, but are restricted from disembarking.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 01:49:06
Subject: Re:First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:40k-noob wrote:Toxium wrote:In the scout rule on page 41, it makes reference to units not being able to disembark from a transport (dedicated or otherwise) as part of a scout redeployment.
This implies to me that both the transport and the unit in it are part of the scout redeployment and therefore not able to charge turn 1.
However, from a strict RAW viewpoint, there is certainly a grey area in which to debate.
Just my 2 cents.
Actually I think it points to the fact that they are not "scout redeploying."
By deployment rules a unit/model with Scout can deploy inside a Transport and also by rule the unit inside CANNOT Scout Redeploy even if it wanted to, because it would require a disembark which is not allowed.
This clearly indicates that the unit inside a transport is barred from redeploying.
this is because it already has. The quote tells us this.
Why would the unit inside be disallowed from disembarking if they were not redeploying? They have no permission to disembark when they are not using scout to re-deploy, the restriction is there because they are using scout to re-deploy, but are restricted from disembarking.
I would agree with you if it did not also apply to non DT transports. Scouts can deploy inside a Landraider if they wanted to and the Scout rule would not be conferred to the LR and still the Scouts would not be able to "Scout redeploy" out of the transport.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 11:03:39
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DR - if a non-Scout unit is deployed inside a Scout transport, you are then claiming the unit inside would be making a Scout redeploy if the vehicle does so - except they cannot, as they do not have the rule.
Is this a way of explaining it to make more sense?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 11:54:11
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun
|
Nos, a better question would be, is the unit inside part of a scout redeployment?
Cheers
Andrew
|
I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!
Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 14:31:30
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
As a unit without scout is not allowed to make a scout redeployment, even it its transport is redeployed, the unit can't be part of it.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 15:05:41
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Jidmah wrote:As a unit without scout is not allowed to make a scout redeployment, even it its transport is redeployed, the unit can't be part of it.
What?
Are you saying that there is a rule that prevents a transport with scout from making a scout re-deploy it it contains a unit that doesn't have the scout usr?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 15:14:04
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
liturgies of blood wrote: Jidmah wrote:As a unit without scout is not allowed to make a scout redeployment, even it its transport is redeployed, the unit can't be part of it.
What?
Are you saying that there is a rule that prevents a transport with scout from making a scout re-deploy it it contains a unit that doesn't have the scout usr?
Does it matter? Is there even such thing as a non-dedicated transport with the scout rule that can carry non-scout units?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 15:18:12
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Well it would show some guidance on the issue as if you need both to have the USR then it would be an indication that both are re-deploying.
Also I'm not sure what he was saying and was looking for a clarification.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 16:50:33
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
This seems to be a RAW issue. If it is than the unit inside the DT which for this discussion is a terminator unit. So by the RAW the DT would get to redeploy 12" and the unit inside which would normally only get a 6" redeployment. This implies that the DT with the unit embarked upon it is for this rules purpose is a single unit redeploying 12" as per the Scout rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 17:12:50
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
hyv3mynd wrote: liturgies of blood wrote: Jidmah wrote:As a unit without scout is not allowed to make a scout redeployment, even it its transport is redeployed, the unit can't be part of it.
What?
Are you saying that there is a rule that prevents a transport with scout from making a scout re-deploy it it contains a unit that doesn't have the scout usr?
Does it matter? Is there even such thing as a non-dedicated transport with the scout rule that can carry non-scout units?
The valkyrie did this all through 5th edition, and the relevant rules have not substantially changed since then - in terms of the allowance to Scout, this has not altered between editions.
Stating the unit inside must be redeploying requires that a non-Scout unit inside a Scout unit prevents the Scout vehicle from moving. This is unsupportable in the current rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 17:21:36
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Drag wrote:This seems to be a RAW issue. If it is than the unit inside the DT which for this discussion is a terminator unit. So by the RAW the DT would get to redeploy 12" and the unit inside which would normally only get a 6" redeployment. This implies that the DT with the unit embarked upon it is for this rules purpose is a single unit redeploying 12" as per the Scout rule.
If the terminators are redeploying then the DT and them can only move 6" otherwise you've not met the restriction imposed on infantry squads by the scout USR. Since the DT can move 12" then it's all grand. Also a DT and it's contents are never the same unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/28 17:22:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 20:40:58
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If they are not the same unit than the DT cannot redeploy 12" as per the RAW. I am emphasizing the RAW as the terminators are clearly not a vehicle but are able to redeploy 12". Why is this? It is not stated in the rule yet it is implied. But if we play by RAW the terminators could not redeploy as they are a single unit and the DT is a single unit. (Please read the rule for scout it is full of implied statements) My point is you cannot play the rules without implying or inferring many items in the current rule set.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 20:50:50
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Yes you can. It just allows something few armies have had access to in the new edition. A first turn charge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 21:06:16
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
It can't be done. Sorry.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 22:37:43
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yes you can. It just allows something few armies have had access to in the new edition. A first turn charge.
If this interpretation is correct then Marines have been able to first turn charge from scout all through 6th as the LSS has always had scout. Everyone accepted that you couldn't and thatwas the change that turned the LSS from the best delivery system in the ggame to the worst.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/28 23:50:21
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
TBH delivering 5 scouts isn't much of a boon for the price you're paying considering overwatch is a thing and you'd be aiming to hit fire support units.
Hell Tau could do it with pathfinders in a devilfish throughout 6th, just cos you can doesn't mean it's a good idea.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/29 01:27:39
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Devilfish is an assault vehicle or open topped?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/29 09:22:42
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yeah 5 Scouts with flamer+heavy flamer and power fist is a threat to a lot of things. Trust me I used it through out 5th. You send it after tanks (using the flamers to remove bubble wrap) 5 man devaststor or tactical squads. Heck even against a 10man if there's no power weapon in there.
Tau have not been able to do this with Pathfinders ever. The fish is not an assault vehicle. Comparing 2 WS2, I2, S3 attacks per model with 4 Ws3, S4, I4 attacks plus 4 power fist attacks and a heavy and normal flamer, is not remotely comparable (cause you would have drop podded in Pedro and a bunch of Sternguard right).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/29 12:55:48
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Psychic Prisoner aboard a Black Ship
|
nosferatu1001 wrote: hyv3mynd wrote: liturgies of blood wrote: Jidmah wrote:As a unit without scout is not allowed to make a scout redeployment, even it its transport is redeployed, the unit can't be part of it.
What?
Are you saying that there is a rule that prevents a transport with scout from making a scout re-deploy it it contains a unit that doesn't have the scout usr?
Does it matter? Is there even such thing as a non-dedicated transport with the scout rule that can carry non-scout units?
The valkyrie did this all through 5th edition, and the relevant rules have not substantially changed since then - in terms of the allowance to Scout, this has not altered between editions.
Stating the unit inside must be redeploying requires that a non-Scout unit inside a Scout unit prevents the Scout vehicle from moving. This is unsupportable in the current rules.
There's an FAQ saying that scout has no effect on them anymore . So in 6th that point is moot.
|
Innocence proves nothing. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/29 18:25:21
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I know, which is why I was giving a pertinent example of when a unit had a vehicle with scout, without having scout themselves.
Noone seemed to think you were redeploying / making a scout move with the embarked unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/29 19:00:33
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun
|
Possibly because the restriction on 1st turn assault didn't exist in 5th?
I still think that a unit inside a scouting vehicle has taken part in a Scout Redeployment (SR). The rules are ambiguous in a couple of places as to what consititutes a unit with regard to deployment/reserves and Dedicated Transports (P109).
Now, taking part in a SR does not necessarily equate to making a SR and I readily admit that, but I think that the argument for anti-assault is stronger than the argument pro-assault.
Cheers
Andrew
|
I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!
Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/29 19:16:16
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No; there was quite a lot of discussion about whether the unit inside was also Scouting
Nothing in the 6th edition states they are making a Scout Redeployment, so there is no restriction placed upon them in terms of assauting.
Whether this survives a rules changing FAQ or not remains to be seen.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/29 21:41:57
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Except the quote I posted.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/29 21:45:28
Subject: First turn charge using combination of Khan, terminators, and a dedicated land raider?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It doesn't actually say that though. I can tell because there's nothing like the words "embarked units count as redeploying" or anything like that.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|