Switch Theme:

Reinforced Aegis and DtW  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Which do you think is the right interpretation?
Re-roll everything
Re-roll the dice that failed

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer




adrift in a warm place

 IndigoJack wrote:

Where does it say no bonuses? I've read and re-read the DtW section and saw nothing that said no bonuses, just no modifiers. Additionally, nowhere in the book is a bonus defined. So either it's sloppy rule writing, or sloppy rule reading.

Page 24, Manifesting Psychic Powers Sequence call-out box - step 4. Deny the Witch "...If the psychic power does not target an enemy unit, your opponent can still attempt to Deny the Witch, but will not be able to use any bonuses"

12,000 7,000 3,000 (harlies) 2,000 
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 IndigoJack wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:


But would you say a re-roll definitely counts as a bonus?


Where does it say no bonuses? I've read and re-read the DtW section and saw nothing that said no bonuses, just no modifiers. Additionally, nowhere in the book is a bonus defined. So either it's sloppy rule writing, or sloppy rule reading.
I only have the iBook version of the rulebook, page 393 if that helps.

Early in the Psychic rules you have the section "Manfofesting Psychic Powers".
It's the "Manifesting Psychic Powers Sequence" - step 4 is Deny the Witch
"...but will not be able to use any bonuses".

Later on in the rules it instead says "modifiers".

And correct, bonuses is not defined in the rulebook, so you need to fall back on the actual meaning of the word. I personally think a re-roll is definitely a bonus.
   
Made in us
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine




Midwest,United States

Hooray for more inconsistent rule writing... I would say by bonus they meant modifier, as the paragraph right above it says, "Manifesting psychic powers can be summarised in five steps, as described below. Each step is explained in greater detail later in this seciton."

So it seems to me that if their is a conflict between the summary and the full rules on the next few pages, I'd say the full rules following the summary take precedent, since they are the part where it is "explained in greater detail."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/29 21:28:14


~5000+ pts (95% Deathwing )
~1500 pts

"Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position. But certainty is an absurd one" - Voltaire

"You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else." -Einstein 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: