Switch Theme:

Shoota Boyz with Power Klaw Nob? Y or N  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Can a unit of boyz upgraded with shootas have a Powerklaw on their Nob?
Yes
No

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Screamin' Stormboy





Alright, we have finally reached the point where we all say the same in our individual words. :-)
Can a discussion turn out any better?^^
Really, the thread it a nice example of people arguing and finally forming a consense.
Sad that it can't always be like this
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






SoCal, USA!

Nurglitch wrote:
JohnHwangDD wrote:Technically, I think it's not possible for Nob to have S&C when the Boyz exchange for Shootas.

Similarly if a player upgrades their Nob's Choppa to a Power Klaw, then when it comes time to upgrade the entire unit to shootas the Nob lacks a necessary condition to being upgraded to having a Shoota, having a Choppa.

Here I'm going to have to point out that yes, if the Nob has a Slugga and a Choppa, and the entire unit exchanges Slugga and Choppa for a Shoota, then the Nob makes the exchange and now has a Slugga.

However, as you will notice it does not contradict the original schema showing how a Nob that has exchanged its Choppa for a Power Klaw does not have a Slugga and Choppa and thus does not exhange his Slugga and Choppa for a Shoota when the Shoota upgrade is applied.

Thanks for confirming things in long form. And I'm aware there is no contradiction - it's how you give a Nob a Shoota.

I think you were just a little incomplete earlier for not covering the base case Nob, which is why I jumped in earlier.


   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





If you were aware that there was no contradiction, then why would you say "Technically, I think it's not possible for Nob to have S&C when the Boyz exchange for Shootas"?
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






SoCal, USA!

Because of this exchange:


FuzzyOrb wrote:how is the Nob with S&C in a shoota-mob possible?
It seems to me that it is against your logic.


Nurglitch wrote:How does it seem against my logic?



You never answered the original question, so I answered it.

   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





I did answer the original question, I asked how the Nob with a Slugga and a Choppa in a mob otherwise armed with Shootas was against my logic. Asking that someone specific a claim they're making is the only useful answer one can give to such questions. Sometimes a question is an answer.

Had my question been answered, or my interlocators explained themselves more fully, I might have clued in sooner that discussion had moved from discussing Nobz armed with Sluggas and Power Klaws to Sluggas and Choppas. But then I wouldn't have finally gritted my teeth and illustrated the operation of the rule.

Still, I would have appreciated someone taking the time to say: "Oh, we were talking about Sluggas and Choppas here, you got mixed up!"
   
Made in de
Screamin' Stormboy





got news...

few hour ago, when i was in a (german) GW store, the redshirts recieved an e-mail with an official Ork-FAQ.
It stated clearly that the PK is not possible in a shoota mob.
Same is true for S&C on a shoota-nob.

well, that was unexpected...
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





A Slugga and a Choppa on a Nob in a mob armed with Shootas is not permitted by the rules in the Codex. So no surprise there. A Nob with a Power Klaw is permitted by the rules in the Codex, but considering jaffes like the Kustom Force Field it's not unexpected that GW mispoke itself yet again.

http://download.games-workshop.biz/118#

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/01/18 20:25:41


 
   
Made in de
Screamin' Stormboy





Er, the link you posted leads to an FAQ of the old codex. Is this intended?
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Huh. Guess I should have read it more carefully before I posted.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/01/18 20:45:50


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Anyone know what this german word is?

Energiekrallä
   
Made in de
Screamin' Stormboy





It's the PK, written in the typical orken (wrong ) way.
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Energy Claw! The Tankbusta translation is the best: Panzaknackaz!
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




It's the PK, written in the typical orken (wrong ) way.

Except they have Energieklaua also in the same paragraph. Which is what made me think it was something else.

Wonder why the Germans are the only ones getting the much needed FAQ.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






SoCal, USA!

GW Germany is more methodical and precise?

   
Made in de
Screamin' Stormboy





I wish this was true.
The (latest) german faq only tried to whipe out translation errors (wich it did not, in fact ).
But then they wrote that PK-entry and even more questions came up .
As i said, the link above refers to an year-old FAQ...
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




RAW... no

If faced with an ork army with a power claw armed shoota boyz nob would I allow it... yes

Stelek wrote:Dude, you cannot FNP MC CC attacks. I don't care how you "read" the rules. I even don't care if you are correct and GW says you can. lol
In short GW rulings are void!  
   
Made in us
Grovelin' Grot Rigger





Reviving a dead thread here..Just noticed something that might shed a little light on this discussion.

In the codex, on page 82, there is an Ork Horde army list. "unit 7" shows the Nob armed with a Choppa and Slugga, while all the boys have shootas.

I suppose it isn't anything really concrete, but while the rest of the models were put together meticulously to represent their equipment, it seems mildly unlikely that, IF the rule was intended to prevent the PK nob, that they would overlook it in this instance.

The real point is little more clear: If you take the upgrades in order, The boyz trade choppas and sluggas for shootas, and then they upgrade to a Nob, the Nob would have basic equipment (listed in the Codex as a Choppa and Slugga) allowing the powerclaw.

   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




RAW: no.
RAI: I dont know.
Personally yes.

Naturally I think a nob should be allowed to take a power klaw even if joined into a shoota mob, the big problem is RAW.

I hope GW will release an ork codex FAQ soon (have they already?).

Stelek wrote:Dude, you cannot FNP MC CC attacks. I don't care how you "read" the rules. I even don't care if you are correct and GW says you can. lol
In short GW rulings are void!  
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





According to warseer ( http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=131436 ) there's a new german ork FAQ out that says:

"on p. 100, change the text as following:
The boss may exchange all of his weapons for Slugga and big choppa for x points or Slugga and PK for y points"


I know this doesn't mean much for the naysayers, but it could be an indication of the direction of any future GW FAQ.
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver






Saint Paul

82% to 18% with 136 votes smells like consensus to me.

   
Made in se
Dakka Veteran




The GT rulings say you cant take pk to your ork nob.
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Murfreesboro, TN

Well, the GT rulings haven't always been the most accurate or well-thought-out things; at times, they've essentially been a couple employees' bias on the rules.

Wait for the FAQ, or come to some consensus with your regular gaming group.

As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.

But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club 
   
Made in us
Squishy Squig





Kallbrand wrote:The GT rulings say you cant take pk to your ork nob.


I'll take official errata over a poorly done FAQ that's specific to a tournament any day. Then again, considering the overall quality (or lack thereof) of the GT FAQ, I'm quite convinced that I'd get more accurate game rulings from a lobotomized platypus on crystal meth.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/04/07 22:05:41


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I asked Phil Kelly this question at adepticon. He said that you can indeed have a PK in a shootaboy unit. I'm sure you hardcore folks will still insist you can't unitl it's officially in a GW fAQ though.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

I don't know German, but from the couple words I learned in this thread that does indeed say "power claw and something" for that points cost [and that's pretty standard powerfist price across most S4 models now].

And that's listed as 2008, so I'd say it's not talking about the old ork codex.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Phil Kelly told several people (including me) at Adepticon that he meant for Shoota mobs to be able to take Powerklaw Nobs and that when the FAQs roll out along with 5th edition that the Ork FAQ will in fact support this idea.

So if anyone is 'on the fence' wondering if they should go ahead and buy and assemble shootas I think you can feel fairly confident that this is a 'safe' thing to do.


Phil's comments also put a pretty large hole in the argument that the UKGT house rules are somehow influenced by the design studio.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

GW is a many headed hydra.

There's a reason 2 man companies have taken away large portions of the mini market.

Oh and I swear I said this after the LVGT. Same guy and everything.

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Stelek wrote:GW is a many headed hydra.

There's a reason 2 man companies have taken away large portions of the mini market.

Oh and I swear I said this after the LVGT. Same guy and everything.



I know you said it, but the more people who can confirm having heard something, the less likely others will believe its just something we're making up.





I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

But we ARE making it up.

Same thing with the DE book.

Oops, was that my out loud voice?

   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Brisbane/Australia

Naughty, cynical Stelek.

Stop typing what others are thinking.......

"Dakkanaut" not "Dakkaite"
Only with Minatures, does size matter...
"Only the living collect a pension"Johannes VII
"If the ork codex and 5th were developed near the same time, any possible nerf will be pre-planned."-malfred
"I'd do it but the GW Website makes my eyes hurt. "Gwar
"That would be page 7 and a half. You find it by turning your rulebook on its side and slamming your head against it..." insaniak
MeanGreenStompa - The only chatbot I ever tried talking to insisted I take a stress pill and kept referring to me as Dave, despite my protestations.
insaniak "So, by 'serious question' you actually meant something entirely different? "
Frazzled[Mod] On Rule #1- No it literally means: be polite. If we wanted less work there would be no OT section.
Chowderhead - God no. If I said Pirates Honor, I would have had to kill him whether he won or lost. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: