Switch Theme:

Grey Knight Force Wepon/Hammer Hand  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





nosferatu1001 wrote:Neo - you stated that there was a new context where "unit" did not mean "BRB unit" but "those models with the BoP rule". You said it repeatedly, and then posted up "1)" as proof. I pointed out it did not actually state that.

"The IC is a member of the unit"- yes or no.

If YES then the IC is bound by the result of the test, because that is what the literal rule states.

Please answer the quesiton, and prove that "is bound by" means "apart from when I decide they arent"
I'm sorry, is there a question in there somewhere? Tell you what: I've answered enough of your questions for now i think, how about for a change of pace you address one of mine?

To wit: You are not allowed to use the IC's leadership for the BoPs psychic checks, and (regardless of how much you'd really like this to be out-dated reminder text) You also clearly have to roll seperately for psychic checks done on behalf of an IC. Why at this point do you presume that the IC would not be bound specifically to the results of that check (like the Psyker rules indicate) rather than the one done on behalf of the rest of the unit?
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Jeffersonian - please fllow the tenets, helpfully stickied at the top of the forum. You have so far provided no argument, an d jst another personal attack. Reported.


So, you don't remember the following as posted on pg. 3 of this very thread?


 jeffersonian000 wrote:
Who is condescending now, Nos?

The rules in question are:

Independent Character (pg. 39, BRB)
While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters.


Brotherhood of Psykers (pg. 21, GK Codex)
Units of Grey Knights are psykers and use their mental might to enhance their abilities or unleash psychic attacks.
A Grey Knight unit can use one psychic power each turn. The unit counts as a single psyker and follows all the normal rules for psykers, with the following clarifications:
• A Grey Knight unit uses the Leadership of its Justicar or Knight of the Flame (if he is alive), or the unit (if he is dead) for Psychic tests.
• If the Grey Knight unit suffers Perils of the Warp, or any attack the specifically targets psykers, it is resolved against the Justicar or Knight of the Flame (if he is alive), or against a random non-character model in the squad if the Justicar or Knight of the Flame is dead.


Psyker Mastery Levels (pg. 21, GK Codex)
Codex: Grey Knights uses Mastery Levels, shown in brackets after the Psyker special rule, to determine how many psychic powers a character can use each turn. For each Mastery Level a character has, he use one psychic power per turn.


Nemesis Force Weapons (pg. 54, GK Codex)
Force Weapons: All Nemesis force weapons are force weapons, as detailed in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook. Note that a unit of Grey Knights with the Brotherhood of Psykers special rule needs to take only a single Psychic test to ‘activate’ all of its force weapons (although independent characters must still roll separately). If the test is passed, all wounds caused by the unit’s Nemesis force weapons that phase inflict instant death. If a unit is striking at different initiative orders, take the Psychic test to ‘activate’ the force weapons immediately after the first unsaved wounds are caused. Any further wounds are caused by the unit’s Nemesis force weapons that phase will be bound by the result of the Psychic test.


So, what about these rules causes an issue? The specific part where it states that is the unit has the Brotherhood of Psykers special rules, only one roll to activate is made, with the exception of Independent Characters which must make their own rolls. Also, there is the part the states that all unsaved wounds dealt after the activation are bound by the results of that roll.

Why is this an issue? Because Independent Characters are for all intents and purposes count as members of whatever unit they join for all unit rules. This means that ICs count as having the BoP special rule while they are joined to a BoP unit. Which would also means that ICs would be counted in with the other BoP models in their unit, if it wasn’t for their Psyker Mastery Level and the following Q and A:

6th edition GK FAQ 1.3
Q: If a unit with the Brotherhood of Psykers special rule, a unit of Inquisitorial Henchmen with one or more Psykers in it, or any other similar unit containing multiple Psykers is within 12” of a Culexus
Assassin, does the presence of that unit add +1 to the Animus Speculum’s Assault value or +1 for each Psychic model present in the unit? (p53)

A: Such a unit contributes +1 to the Animus Speculum’s assault value no matter how many Psykers it consist of, unless those Psykers have the Independent Character special rule in which case each such Psyker contributes a +1.


Per the precedent set above, Independent Characters, while counted as part of a unit for all rules purposes, stands on their own for psyker related rules. This creates an interesting interaction between the Nemesis Force Weapon rules, the Brotherhood of Psykers rules, and Mastery Level rule.

If we have a unit with the BoP special rules, say a squad of GKT, the NFW and BoP rules allow that unit to activate their NFW on a single Psychic test roll immediately after the first unsaved wound is caused. If we add a character with a Mastery Level to that squad, such as Justicar Thawn, Thawn would follow all rules for BoP with the exception that he has 2 Warp Charges and may use 2 powers each turn where the rest of his unit has 1 Warp Charge and can only use 1 power per turn. On their first unsaved wound caused, the entire unit can activate their NFW on a single Psychic test roll using Thawn’s Leadership, with all further unsaved wounds inflicting Instant Death.

Another example of a similar situation is Grand Master Mordrak and his Ghost Knights. As the Ghost Knights have BoP, and Mordrak counts as the unit’s upgrade character while also not being an Independent Character, Mordrak also falls under the BoP rule for NFW activation. Yet, if we add an IC to Thawn’s or Mordrak’s units, the BoP rule interaction with NFW activation becomes more complex. A Librarian added to Mordrak’s Ghost Knights or Thawn’s GKT squad would have to roll separately for their own NFW activation (per the NFW rules). Once the Libby’s NFW is active, any further wounds inflicted by the Libby with his NFW wound cause Instant Death just like the rest of the BoP unit.

Example: Librarian join a GKT squad with Thawn. Thawn comes equipped with a Halberd, while the Librarian has a Staff, and the GKT have Swords and Hammers. If Thawn scores an unsaved wound, he and his squad (including the Libby) immediately roll a Psychic test to activated their NFW. Thawn rolls for his squad per the BoP rule, while the Libby roles on his own per the BoP rule. Once the two rolls are completed, and if both pass, all of the wounds inflicted by the unit’s NFW with cause ID from that point on. Note that the Libby has yet to swing his Staff in combat, yet his NFW is already activated when his initiative step is reached. Any wounds he causes with his NFW that round are bound by the results of that activation roll.

Let’s say the Libby passed his check while Thawn failed his with a double 6. Thawn dies on initiative step 6, and his remaining GKT go without NFW activation, yet the Libby’s Staff is fully active when
initiative step 4 is reached. In this case, only the Libby’s inflicted unsaved wounds will ID, as the remaining GKT are bound by their failed activation roll.

Nos, Rigel, please inform the rest of us how you think the activation sequence works, with examples and citations. That is, only if you feel that I am wrong.

SJ

*edit for spacing, spelling, Dyslexia


I wound so much love to see you, Nos, cite any rule at all to support your argument. Because, you know, that would actually allow you to be following the forum tenets for once rather than trolling the other posters.

SJ

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/21 21:33:48


“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





 jeffersonian000 wrote:
We've shown the correct sequence the NFW rule works through over the various unit compositions one can have with NFW activation.


If there was a poll on this, I'd vote for you two. Seems pretty cut and dried by following the rules as written. The other side seems to want to delete arbitrary words for whatever reason which is a non-starter.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
rigeld2 wrote:
A parenthetical statement should be able to be removed from the sentence and not change the meaning whatsoever.


Parenthesis are used to clarify or offer further explanation. exa: "You can understand this (unless you can't read)." If we remove the parenthetical statement then the meaning is very much altered. Parenthesis simply interrupt the flow of the sentence; what's contained within isn't junk to simply be tossed away when you feel like it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/22 03:56:18


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




NEo - there was a question in there, and it is one you ducked answering

Is the IC a member of the unit?

Are members of the unit bound by the result of the test?

Once you have answered those, with actual straightforward Yes or No answers, we can perhaps move on.

Jeffersonian - I've cited rules plenty of times. You have ignored them. That doesnt mean I didnt cite them, just that you ignored them. Apparently your constant breaking of rule 1 doesnt count here.
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

nosferatu1001 wrote:
NEo - there was a question in there, and it is one you ducked answering

Is the IC a member of the unit?

Are members of the unit bound by the result of the test?

Once you have answered those, with actual straightforward Yes or No answers, we can perhaps move on.

Jeffersonian - I've cited rules plenty of times. You have ignored them. That doesnt mean I didnt cite them, just that you ignored them. Apparently your constant breaking of rule 1 doesnt count here.


Nos, you seem to insist on willful obtuseness... Nobody is saying the IC is not a part of the unit. But that is not the end of the ruleset at issue. There are conditions, allowances and restrictions to his "being part of the unit" as defined multiple times for you through direct rule quotes that do not conflict, but rather further clarify, the IC riole as a memeber of the unit... Being a part of the unit is not the end of the story here, it is just the preamble. Try opening the aperture of your focus to include rule exceptions, clarifications and expansions that are written into the BRB... They have all been quoted quite nicely for you...

Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Beast - another ruleless post.

I have answered all of the rules queries raised by the opposing side, and shown how they do not actually provide the exception the side belives they do.

There is no exception for ICs to NOT be bound; they are told they must test separately, but as a member of the unit they are STIL lbound by the result

If you disagree with my posts, be specific and argue the argument. Just spamming "me too", which is what your post devolves to, isnt helping matters.

I will not respond to you further in this thread, unless you make a rules argument. "Me too" is not a rules argument.
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Beast - another ruleless post.

I have answered all of the rules queries raised by the opposing side, and shown how they do not actually provide the exception the side belives they do.

There is no exception for ICs to NOT be bound; they are told they must test separately, but as a member of the unit they are STIL lbound by the result

If you disagree with my posts, be specific and argue the argument. Just spamming "me too", which is what your post devolves to, isnt helping matters.

I will not respond to you further in this thread, unless you make a rules argument. "Me too" is not a rules argument.


Nos, it really is not possible for me to care any less if you respond to me or not. I was expressing my agreement with the specific rules quotes by others in their attempt to lay out for the greater DAKKA community how the RAW works here. Last time I checked, agreeing with a position didn't break any tenets of Dakka. cheers.

Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I did not say you broke any tenets, so please retract the sideways accusation that I did.

This thread is currently done, as no rules argument has so far proven that the IC is not bound by the result - does this cause issues? Yes. Does that actually matter in this discussion? No

(Neo - there is your answer. Whether the correct reading of a rule causes issues elsewhere isnt an argument against that reading. All it means is that GW wrote a poor ruleset - who knew)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/22 15:24:00


 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

I'm glad it is done for you Nos. Sorry you can't see the RAW though... Cheers.

Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Again: I have demonstrated understanding of the argument and counter argument, and have asked simple questions which have been ducked and avoided, or told they dont apply with any actual rules support.

Sorry you cant see the RAW.
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Solahma






RVA

This forum is for discussing rules, not trading barbs. Anyone who cannot offer an answer based on rules they cite in their post or who does not have a question about some rule should consider posting elsewhere on the site, such as Proposed Rules.

   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

Edit- Discretion= better part of valor and all that... Thanks Manchu...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/22 18:53:14


Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Independant Characters do indeed count as 'part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters". (BRB Pg 39)

Additionally, When an IC joins a unit "he might have different SR's from those of the unit. Unless specified in the rule itself the units SR's are not conferred upon the IC" (BRB Page 39)

The GK's in question are a unit with the "Brotherhood of Psychers" SR. This SR is not conferred upon the IC that has joined the unit.

The Nemesis Force Weapons are "force weapons as detailed in" BRB. In ADDITION to this, "A unit of GK with the BoP SR needs to take only a single psychic test (although IC's must still role separately)" .. when we continue on "If the test is passed" (which test? The BoP's test of course as we are now reading about the test required for a number of models in the BoP Unit, in which the IC has not had BoP conferred upon it) "all wounds caused by the units NFW that phase inflict instant death." .. "Any further wounds caused by the units NFW's that phase will be bound by the result of that Psychic test".

Which psychic test are they refering to? The BoP psychic test.
The BoP SR did not confer to the IC
The IC's separate (as outlined in the rule) test is his own, while the BoP's single test is there's.

RAW, The BoP is bound by it's test (as the NFW + BoP rule states), the IC is bound by it's own test (as it is not bound by the BoP SR and so anything beyond "all NFW's are force weapons" is irrelevant to the IC, further outlined by telling you that the IC tests separately).
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




""Any further wounds caused by the units NFW's that phase will be bound by the result of that Psychic test".
"

So, is the IC a member of the unit? If so, and he causes a wound with his NFW he is bound by the result of that test.

At no point am I claiming he has BoP, or has it conferred. I AM however saying he is a member of the unit (true) and there is a rule saying ALL members of the unit are bound by the test

So, again - in order to say the IC is not bound by this rule, you have to prove he is not a member of the unit. This was trivial in 5th edition (at the time of activation he wasnt) and is untrue in 6th.

This is due to a core ruels change. Shockingly enough such a significant rules change to a core mechanic such as combat was not catered for in a prior edition codex, and has exposed some holes in the rules

I am really unsure why some people are seemingly taking this so personally.
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

Nos, you keep coming back to the status of the IC as a member of the unit. He is. But he also has some exceptions that have been repeatedly quoted for you. In all seriousness, do you not understand what those exceptions mean? He is not bound by the test that the rest of the unit takes because he has an exception that says he is not bound by it. He has his own test that he takes and is bound by... There is nothing broken here. The rules from the various, relevant parts of the BRB and Codex are not in conflict and actually complement each other to create a workable rule...

Edit for fat fingers...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/22 16:08:52


Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

nosferatu1001 wrote:
""Any further wounds caused by the units NFW's that phase will be bound by the result of that Psychic test".
"

So, is the IC a member of the unit? If so, and he causes a wound with his NFW he is bound by the result of that test.


The IC is a member of "the unit" yes. The IC is not a member of "the BoP". The IC is bound by the result of his own test. "that psychic test" is still talking about the BoP.


At no point am I claiming he has BoP, or has it conferred. I AM however saying he is a member of the unit (true) and there is a rule saying ALL members of the unit are bound by the test


Again, the rule is discussing the members of the BoP and their test. In all cases the BoP members are referred to as "The unit" or "A unit of GK with BoP", regardless of other non BoP members in "the unit". When discussing BoP rules, they continue to reference "the unit" even though the rule is referring specifically to the GK's with BoP. Perhaps this is simply implied or inferred, but that is definatley how it reads to me.


So, again - in order to say the IC is not bound by this rule, you have to prove he is not a member of the unit. This was trivial in 5th edition (at the time of activation he wasnt) and is untrue in 6th.

This is due to a core ruels change. Shockingly enough such a significant rules change to a core mechanic such as combat was not catered for in a prior edition codex, and has exposed some holes in the rules

I am really unsure why some people are seemingly taking this so personally.


As am I. Your reading of the rules in question (and thus, your interpretation of the RAW) is different than others reading of the rules (and thus, their own intepretation of RAW) in this case. Either one COULD be correct, depending on how you read the rule. Without a FAQ, I would tend to go with the IC tests separately from the BoP members and each are bound by their own test as that is the way I read all rules involved.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Jeffersonian - I've cited rules plenty of times. You have ignored them. That doesnt mean I didnt cite them, just that you ignored them. Apparently your constant breaking of rule 1 doesnt count here.


Nos, I'd like to point out to you at this time that over the 6 pages so far of this thread, you have not once cited a single rule to support your claim that ICs with NFW are bound by a BoP unit's roll to activate. Not a single rule. Zero.

In fact the only rules you have cited with the FAQ Animus Q and A that I had previously cited, yet only to refute my point but not to support yours. Regil, on the other hand, cited pg. 54 only once, although he was wrong in his reference.

Please try again, sir.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





nosferatu1001 wrote:(Neo - there is your answer. Whether the correct reading of a rule causes issues elsewhere isnt an argument against that reading. All it means is that GW wrote a poor ruleset - who knew)
one interpretation results in a host of related issues inherent in that interpretation. The other one does not.

That said: I still posit that the psyker rules, specifically: "...If the test is passed, the psychic power is manifested successfully and can be resolved... ...If the test is failed, the psychic power does not work, and nothing happens..." Indicates quite clearly that the psyker is bound to the results of his own leadership check, pass 'or' fail. Can you explain a method whereby the psyker can 'also' be bound to the BoP psychic check, even if both those checks are mutually exclusive? Can 'nothing happens' and 'the force weapon inflicts instant death' be fulfilled simultaniously?

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Jeffersonian - again. you ignoring rules citations doesnt mean they do not exist. Good trolling by you as ever though, to claim otherwise.

Prove "the unit" does not contain the IC, with page and paragraph. An explicit statement.

Until someone can do that, this thread is done as far as rules, and I will take my leave as this is, literally, a waste of time.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

And this question of mine has been ignored twice before. I'll just keep posting it.

nosferatu1001 wrote:

Elric - off topic hence ignored. This is not the same situation


The GK BoP: "A Grey Knight unit can use one psychic power each turn." Since the word "unit" is used, does the Libby who joins a GK Termie squad lose his Mastery Levels and thus become unable to cast his own powers?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/23 00:22:32


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






being part of the unit for all purposes, (while still following IC rules)

is not the same as being THE unit, and doesnt override the fact that codex GK specifically states the unit and attached IC's test separately

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

It like what Manchu said was ignored. Just an observation - that is all.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



USA

I thought there was a redundancy rule that you could only repeat your position 5 times on a thread? (Forum Rules p.1)

Consider:
C:GK, p.21 BoP states "A Grey Knight unit can NEVER use the Leadership value of an independent character for Psychic tests". This is why there are separate Psychic test rolls and these rolls apply to the model, (BoP) or IC, that made them.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: