Switch Theme:

How many powers can a Psyker unit cast?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User



Australia

Hi, Little O/T question (first time poster, long time lurker). If you have a masterly level one psyker, does that mean he gets his one psychic attack, along with the primaris power of that discipline (as they can't take any alternate powers being level one), if thats the case, then someone like an astropath in a guard army becomes very powerful (and cheap).

and also, if I be tight with my dice pool and only use the required amount on the card how can you suffer the perils of the warp? the way i read, you need a double 6 to suffer perils, but if the power only need one dice do i count myself lucky when i roll a six on the one dice i use to cast?


back on topic, it seems to contradict its self in the rules (as many have pointed out), i would assume that before a game you would discuss what rule to use (myself, when playing in my house, we use the as many powers a you have dice rule, i'm yet to play anyone else to see how they interpret the rule).

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 ClassicCarraway wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 ClassicCarraway wrote:
Its as much of a "rules argument" as anybody else has presented. RAW, # of powers cast per turn is dependent on ML. RAW, ML is NOT the only factor that dictates the total number of powers available to a psyker. Therefore, we can safely conclude that ML and # of powers available are not interchangable. Since only ML is mentioned in the rule as the determining factor for how many powers can be cast per turn per psyker, then only ML should apply, thus the 1:1 interpretation.

Why is 1:1 any more reasonable than 2:1 or ML^2?
I mean, if you're going to make up a number at least make it fun.


Because ML is the only thing mentioned as the determining factor. ML is the only value that is constant and not influenced by other factors, factors that are not mentioned in the rule for determining the number of powers a psyker can cast per turn.

ML is not interchangable with the number of powers available because it is not the same 100% of the time. Faction, special rules, and the decision to focus in a discipline have as much of an impact to the number of powers known as ML does. The rule does not state that the number of powers a psyker can cast is dependent on ML, faction, special rules, and discipline focus, it just states ML as the sole dependency with no other references. In my opinion (and I'm not forcing it on anybody, just stating my case), the omission of those other factors leads to a 1:1 interpretation.

We argued the same point in another thread that was locked despite maintaining a civilized rules discussion. A number of individuals are keen on asserting their vision of the rules regardless of RAW actually states and are going to great lengths to ensure all opposing views are shot down and branded as heretics. I've had several of these guys on my ignore list for weeks. Just know that your interpretation has been supported by no less than five other posters here. It's the only law-abiding explanation despite what the opposition claims as they seek to defenestrate the ML dependency by clinging to a flimsy hold on their interpretation of the word dependency with no RAW support to back it.

This is just another disagreement where the loudest screamer prevails and each side has several extreme lobbyists with more post.counts than sense.

The 7th Edition FAQ is out!
Pink Horrors can summon.
Daemon Factory is legal! 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

For the slightly less biased answer -

There is some debate as to just what the rules mean on this.

One argument is that when the rules say that the number of powers you can cast is dependant on your mastery level, it means that the number of powers you can cast is equal to your mastery level. This is not directly stated in the rules, however.

Another argument holds that since the rules say that you can keep casting until you run out of Warp Charges, and the actual dependancy relationship is never explained, you can cast as many powers as you have, provided you have sufficient Warp Charges. This argument requires you to largely ignore the line about casting being dependant on your Mastery Level.

The third argument is that the rule saying that casting is dependant on your Mastery Level is meaningless without some statement as to how it is dependant, and so as the rules currently stand there is simply no way to determine how many powers a unit can cast.

As Kyutaru said, this was thoroughly hashed out here: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/599772.page
What it boils down to is that, until GW FAQ it, you'll need to discuss it with your opponent.

For your second question, yes, if you don't roll enough dice to score a double 6, you won't suffer perils.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Never mind - just realised that this was the previous thread, dredged up again. Not really much point revisiting it again yet, as nothing has been fixed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/15 23:29:05


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: