Switch Theme:

9th edition heavy weapon infantry  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Drager wrote:
 Amishprn86 wrote:
Drager wrote:
 Blackie wrote:
If a trukk moved the unit embarked still counts as it has moved as well.


Is that a new rule for 9th? I can't find it for 8th. If I'm missing it I'll happily be corrected if you could point me to it.


Its an 8th rule and 100% will be a 9th rule even if they didn't say yet.
Could you point me to the rule? I can't find it. I've checked the battle primer and the open topped rule in my codex


To end this silly, though amusing game:

Open-topped: Models embarked on this model can attack in their Shooting phase. Measure the range and draw line of sight from any point on this model. When they do so, any restrictions or modifiers that apply to this model also apply to its passengers; for example, the passengers cannot shoot if this model Fell Back in the same turn, cannot shoot (except with Pistols) if this model is within 1" of an enemy unit, and so on.

Unless open topped get errata'ed with the release of 9th, heavy weapons can shoot from inside transports without penalty.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/15 10:36:36


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






 Jidmah wrote:
Drager wrote:
 Amishprn86 wrote:
Drager wrote:
 Blackie wrote:
If a trukk moved the unit embarked still counts as it has moved as well.


Is that a new rule for 9th? I can't find it for 8th. If I'm missing it I'll happily be corrected if you could point me to it.


Its an 8th rule and 100% will be a 9th rule even if they didn't say yet.
Could you point me to the rule? I can't find it. I've checked the battle primer and the open topped rule in my codex


To end this silly, though amusing game:

Open-topped: Models embarked on this model can attack in their Shooting phase. Measure the range and draw line of sight from any point on this model. When they do so, any restrictions or modifiers that apply to this model also apply to its passengers; for example, the passengers cannot shoot if this model Fell Back in the same turn, cannot shoot (except with Pistols) if this model is within 1" of an enemy unit, and so on.

Unless open topped get errata'ed with the release of 9th, heavy weapons can shoot from inside transports without penalty.


It seems you missed what wrote, here it is again

Q: If a transport moves, do any models embarked inside it count
as also having moved?
A: Yes.

https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/30ead283.pdf


But yes Open-Top also says it, in a weird way.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/06/15 10:42:34


   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




 Amishprn86 wrote:
Q: If a transport moves, do any models embarked inside it count
as also having moved?
A: Yes.

https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/30ead283.pdf
Thanks! That's why I couldn't find it. Didn't check the faq. It doesn't affect my army anyway so never needed to know for playing.
   
Made in it
Waaagh! Ork Warboss




Italy

But the question is: is that modifier applied to the trukk? The trukk doesn't have heavy weapons, the unit embarked do.

For how I read the new heavy rule and the 8th edition Open topped rule I don't have the feeling that units embarked should fire heavy weapons without penalty. Beacuse the restriction/modifier never applies to the trukk in the first place.

These rules don't say that the transport can attack in its shooting phase with the weapons of the units embarked, but only that units embarked can shoot out of it and in doing so they also get any restriction/modifer that the vehicle gets. It isn't the trukk that is firing heavy weapons.

Units that fire heavy weapons from the BW had their penalty as well in 8th, despite the rule of ignoring the penalty that the wagon has, since it only affects the vehicle, not the models embarked.

Maybe it's written in a weird way but to me it's pretty clear that GW intended to say that penalties like a -1 to hit that a target can have are also applied to the crew embarked, or the +1 to hit that Freeboterz can trigger. In both cases the trukk has the modifier, and it transfers it to the models embarked.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/15 11:05:34


 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






 Amishprn86 wrote:
It seems you missed what wrote, here it is again

Thanks, I missed it due to the page break.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: