Switch Theme:

Demon Princes and Psychic Powers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





Nashville/Hendersonville, TN

The 40K rulebook states that Monstrous Creatures can fire two weapons. In the new Chaos Codex, it states that models with the mark of Tzeentch may use up to two powers in a turn, but in parentheses it says "but not two powers that both count as firing a weapon, as models can only fire one weapon per Shooting phase." So does this mean that Demon Princes can use two "shooty" pyschic powers as they are MC, and that the blurb in the parentheses only applies to non-MC models?

   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





There are two general rules here, for all models until contradicted by a specific rule: (1) You can only use one ranged weapon, and (2) You can only use one Psychic Power. (3) The Mark of Tzeentch lets you take two Psychic Powers, and (4) being a Monstrous Creature lets you use two ranged weapons. Therefore a Monstrous Creature with the Mark of Tzeentch may use two ranged psychic powers, although it cannot use one power twice since no rule excepts Monstrous Creatures of the Mark of Tzeentch from only use each weapon once.

The problem, of course, is why would you want to limit yourself to two ranged weapon powers?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Point 2 isn't a general rule, the BGB leaves it to each Codex to limit how many powers can be used.

Just because they have a bit of explanation doesn't mean it changes "but not two powers that both count as firing a weapon" ---> they may use the same number of powers that count as firing a weapon as the number of weapons they can use in the shooting phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/01/14 15:38:58


 
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





Nashville/Hendersonville, TN

Thanks for the answers. I had thought a DP with the MOT could take two shooty powers, just wanted to double check.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Cherry Hill, NJ

He can take 2 shooty powers however he can only use one that counts as a shooting power per turn.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: