Switch Theme:

Hive Mind Brood  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

So rereading the Datasheet for the Hive Mind Brood it came it attention that this is one of the few that specifies that the formation is also a "unit".
Does this mean that the Zoanthropes need to mintain coherency?
Their own rules say they always operate independently, but this is not the same brood. . .

I do not think it would matter if they did not, as they would need to have or be covered by synapse (many people I play with seem to forget that they do not have brood telepathy), so the "link" synapse would convey should cover any range issues.

But I have only seen it played twice and both times the player using the brood insisted that the zoanthropes needed to stay within 2" of the rest of the models.

I understand that newer rules (datasheet) overrides older rules (codex) in this regard, but I do not see the rules as overlapping. One says they are a unit, the other says the models operate independently of their unit.

On a side note,
Can the Tyrant in that same datasheet have wings?
It would only be a waste of points until the rest of the unit dies. . .
You cannot attach more than 3 gaurd to a Tyrant by the codex with or without wings, let alone zoanthropes to THAT, so it isn't really a "but the unit isnt allowed to" issue, specifically.

/shrug

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




the spire of angels

Even in the basic rules zoanthropes always form a "unit" of 1-3 taken as a single heavy support choice. but thier special rules allow them to operate independant of each other. does the data sheet have a specific rule that overides this? if not then they do indeed operate seperately.

"victory needs no explanation, defeat allows none" 
   
Made in ca
Infiltrating Broodlord





Canada

mughi3 wrote:Even in the basic rules zoanthropes always form a "unit" of 1-3 taken as a single heavy support choice. but thier special rules allow them to operate independant of each other. does the data sheet have a specific rule that overides this? if not then they do indeed operate seperately.


Sweet!

After reading the datasheet, I had assumed they'd have to maintain coherency too. That would really detract from the utility of Zoanthropes as as mobile synapse/warp blasty goodness. With independent Zoeys, the special pinning power of the formation becomes a bit more flexible in where you apply it. Probably still mostly pointless without multiple Psychic Screams though.

-S

2000 2000 1200
600 190 in progress

 
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control






Plano, Texas

Didn't the datasheet section state that any "unit" data sheet had to maintain coherency?


DR:80+S+++G+++M+++B++++I+Papoc97#+D++A+++/areWD190R++++T(m)DM+++

Ultramarines army Profile

Inquisition army profile

My Titan PLOG

My Imperial PLOG


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Foda_Bett wrote:Didn't the datasheet section state that any "unit" data sheet had to maintain coherency?



Thank you.

You are exactly wrong. That, however, helps me just as much as anything else as it is conclusive.
"but then move and fight independently"

the part about wings still gets odd then, and if you can add wings how far can it fly?

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: