Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/24 01:24:54
Subject: A few questions from a new player
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
Hi all. I just started playing WHFB and so far, it's great. However, a few details have come up in recent games and I was hoping some might clarify them for me.
First of all, in a recent post, I recall someone mentioning regiments being able to sidestep as a movement, but have been unable to find any reference to this in the book. I may have been mistaken, but please lemme know.
Second, are unused power and dispel dice thrown away at the end of the magic phase or are they carried over to the following phase? I have reread the magic phase section of the rules, but have been unable to find anything that says they are discarded at the end of the phase. The only thing that made me put this into question is a magic item in the Lizardmen armybook called Diadem of Power that allows you to save some of your unused magic dice at the end of the magic phase and use them in your next magic phase. This seems to confirm that you can't save them, but again, I can't confirm this in the rulebook and since I never played the previous edition, don't know if this is just an outdated rule.
For now, that is basically it. I'm sure I'll be playing many more games and coming back with many more questions. Thanks in advance.
|
Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/24 01:29:32
Subject: A few questions from a new player
|
 |
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide
|
p. 13 on the bottom
"The most common use of the turn manoeuvre is for a unit to turn around 90degrees or 180degrees, move half their normal move and then turn back to its original position. This effectively means that units can move backwards or sideways at half speed."
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/24 05:21:45
Subject: A few questions from a new player
|
 |
Angelic Adepta Sororitas
Inland Empire, CA
|
unused power dice and dispell dice are discarded unless one has a special ability/item (ie Lizardmen and VC).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/24 05:46:11
Subject: A few questions from a new player
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
nikeforever22 wrote:unused power dice and dispell dice are discarded unless one has a special ability/item (ie Lizardmen and VC).
Do you have a page reference for this?
|
Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/24 06:58:20
Subject: A few questions from a new player
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DaBoss wrote:Do you have a page reference for this?
You're lucky my BRB is next to my desk tonight.
aaand... I can't actually find it in the chapter on magic...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/24 20:41:44
Subject: A few questions from a new player
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Unused power & dispell dice are discarded... otherwise there would be no magic items that allow you to store unused dice for a later turn.
You know, this question is frequently raised by new players, and we always pore over the book carefully and discover that we cannot find anything that says unused magic dice are discarded at the end of the magic phase. It's probably a case of, everyone has been doing it for so long, it doesn't occur to anyone to do it another way.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/04/24 23:41:12
He's got a mind like a steel trap. By which I mean it can only hold one idea at a time;
it latches on to the first idea to come along, good or bad; and it takes strenuous effort with a crowbar to make it let go.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/24 20:55:06
Subject: A few questions from a new player
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
Maybe the key is when it talks about generating power and dispel dice at the start of every magic phase?
- Salvage
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/24 23:54:49
Subject: A few questions from a new player
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Boss_Salvage wrote:Maybe the key is when it talks about generating power and dispel dice at the start of every magic phase?
- Salvage
I think that's it, actually. Permissive rule set, right?
1) Generate power/dispel dice. No mention of adding in previous-retained dice.
2) Use dice.
3) Phase ends. No mention of keeping dice for later.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/04/25 05:13:15
Subject: Re:A few questions from a new player
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
I'll have to agree on the point that it was just an oversight in not making it in print as to what happens to unused power dice. The FAQ states a brief answer regarding a question about items which allow you to retain unused power dice and basically makes it assumed that all dice are otherwise discarded at the end of the phase. Not said in black and white but can't be argued against.
|
Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?" |
|
 |
 |
|