Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/07 02:04:57
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Courageous Skink Brave
Moscow
|
okay, the book says: Any brood of Gaunts with a cost of eight points or less per model may be given the "Without Number" special rule at a cost of +3 points per model.
does that mean that if the model is say, seven points, you can give it that rule and now make the model ten points?
also, that rule seems like it can be either really helpful, or just annyoing esp. if the enemy moves around a lot. i dont play 40K yet, so forgive me if i seem stupid on the tactics.
|
ilikepie |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/07 03:00:04
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Ontario
|
As to the points question yes, you can. As to the rule thing, its a real pain in the ass for the nids player, because instead of bringing more nids to the table, they simply wait until they die (which depending on the size can take a long time) and then you have to march them all the way across the board again, so unless you are playing a really long game its not worth it and the points can be better spent elsewhere.
|
DCDA:90-S++G+++MB++I+Pw40k98-D+++A+++/areWD007R++T(S)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/07 03:10:44
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
Don't give your `Gaunts any upgrades other than the gun of your choice. The points for anything else you might give them are better spent on more `Gaunts.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/07 07:08:19
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
With 40K 5, I don't know. Scuttling Spinegaunts without number could be very annoying for an opponent.
|
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/07 08:22:12
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Gaunts without number will always be a terrible buy because of instinctive behavior. Your gaunts are generally going to have to start falling back towards a synapse creature which limits your ability to have them go grab an objective.
Plus if you synapse is dead those gaunts are probably going to IB right back off the board once they get on the table.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/07 08:26:57
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
.................................... Searching for Iscandar
|
Cent is correct, Yak. They are real annoying.
You don't roll for IB the turn they arrive, they don't have to test to move on since they aren't on.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/07 14:46:30
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yakface wrote:
Gaunts without number will always be a terrible buy because of instinctive behavior. Your gaunts are generally going to have to start falling back towards a synapse creature which limits your ability to have them go grab an objective.
Plus if you synapse is dead those gaunts are probably going to IB right back off the board once they get on the table.
They're not game-breaking, but annoying. All you need to do is have a synapse creature left standing on top of an objective, and when the spinegauns die, they come back in off the sides. Next turn, they test for IB, and fail...and fall back 2d6" towards the objective, followed by a d6" fleet....
|
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/07 15:38:52
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
The Dread Evil Lord Varlak
|
Centurian99 wrote:They're not game-breaking, but annoying. All you need to do is have a synapse creature left standing on top of an objective, and when the spinegauns die, they come back in off the sides. Next turn, they test for IB, and fail...and fall back 2d6" towards the objective, followed by a d6" fleet....
But you're paying 50 or 60% of the base cost of your spinegaunt or termagaunt. You might as well take a bigger brood so it doesn't get wiped in the first place, or if you really want something cheap to sneak onto an objective just buy a second, smaller brood.
It makes a lot more sense than adding a 50% premium onto your termagaunts so that if they get wiped out, and your're playing an objective mission, and you can get a synapse creature onto the objective which isn't a scoring unit itself, you might roll the fleeing and fleet rolls necessary to get the gaunts onto the unit.
|
“We may observe that the government in a civilized country is much more expensive than in a barbarous one; and when we say that one government is more expensive than another, it is the same as if we said that that one country is farther advanced in improvement than another. To say that the government is expensive and the people not oppressed is to say that the people are rich.”
Adam Smith, who must have been some kind of leftie or something. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/07 15:57:22
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
You are paying 50-60% for a gaunt that _cannot be killed_ in the first few turns. Something few gaunts can claim.
In 5th, that makes them pretty nice, really, for objectives near the Tyranid edges - or not so near with scuttlers, but I daresay that may be a bit much.
Again, works well in Apocalypse on occation.
Showing up the last turn is a full brood for claiming that doesn't need IB for one turn.
shrug
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/07 16:12:27
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
The Dread Evil Lord Varlak
|
Apocalypse is quite different, as VPs are determined entirely by objectives and there's a hell of a lot more units on the field per objective. In those situations without number becomes something closer to sensible. And given the question was asked by a guy who's just starting in the hobby, I don't see how Apocalypse is relevant.
Meanwhile, its a 50 or 60% upgrade, with a benefit that's only useful in certain missions, if everything in that mission goes well. Better to just spend the points on a bigger horde or a second horde.
|
“We may observe that the government in a civilized country is much more expensive than in a barbarous one; and when we say that one government is more expensive than another, it is the same as if we said that that one country is farther advanced in improvement than another. To say that the government is expensive and the people not oppressed is to say that the people are rich.”
Adam Smith, who must have been some kind of leftie or something. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/07 16:16:12
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As an insurance policy, it may be worth it. You don't even need to give them scuttlers, or have the unit be of decent size. 8 without number spinegaunts. Who's sole purpose is to hold an objective within 6" of their table edge.
50% of the time, (if you go second) it all but guarantees that you'll be able to at least contest one objective.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/05/07 16:16:37
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/08 11:59:12
Subject: Re:"Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Courageous Skink Brave
Moscow
|
well thanks for all the input! now i knows. ha. im sad that i didnt have time to check this sooner!
couldnt the ability come in handy if are forced to or decide to play a more deffensive roll? i know that's not really the tyranid spirit, but if you decide/have to sit back at one edge wouldn't the rule really gum up the other player?
|
ilikepie |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/08 13:07:27
Subject: Re:"Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Deadly Dire Avenger
Athel Querque
|
If you have lots of synapse creatures alive, and you run say units of 10 gaunts and they get slaughtered, and they come back. If you can interpret 'fall back toward the nearest synapse creature" as they move toward your nearest surviving synapse creature, then suddenly you just got more scoring troops back, and troops are very important in 5th edition apparently.
Also, when they come back...where? Can they come on one of the sides, or do they come from your table side only?
So - if you take warriors and maybe zoanthropes, leave the tyrant at home, "fall back to nearest synapese' lets them move to where your synapse creatures are - which should by then be middle of the board or near your opponents deployment zone - maybe just maybe it might work.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/08 18:12:26
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
First round they do not fall back. The check is made before movement, and they appear during movement. Thus they are under full control and count as scoring even without leaving syanapse "at home"
The NEXT round, assuming it is early enough to still use them, it is rarely bad for them to Fall "Back" towards the enemy lines 2d6 and thus approaching the battle faster than anything on foot should. And then fleet. Or just shoot.
They appear on Tyranid table edges (flank march FTW!), so just choose the edge nearest the synapse you want to rush. I field w/o# guants in broods of 8 when I use them, and to great effect.
rarrr
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/08 20:53:47
Subject: Re:"Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Courageous Skink Brave
Moscow
|
even tho this add-on can be helpful, it seems that you have the potential to loose a lot of VPs for all the extra gaunts that get mowed down... are the broods just too small to really to amount to anything? what if the broods are larger, would that cause some problems on the VP side and as well as how long it takes them to come back in to play? my understanding is that the whole brood must be killed before they can come back into battle.
|
ilikepie |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/09 00:29:20
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Ontario
|
Well if the broods get larger you really shouldn't be having them wiped out. 32 guants may die like flies but with that many they have to kill 16 before they aren't scoring. (and 32 in fifth) So pretty much if you run them big enough you shouldn't have to worry about them needing to come back.
|
DCDA:90-S++G+++MB++I+Pw40k98-D+++A+++/areWD007R++T(S)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/09 00:53:59
Subject: Re:"Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Courageous Skink Brave
Moscow
|
i guess that's true. i new to 40k, that's why i'm so dumb.
and im not really all taht interested in tyranids, i was just wonder because my one friend is going to start as well and he's playing tyranids.
i'd really like some tips on how to fight. then. i plan on being orks and it seems that tyranids are even more based one numbers that orks are! is there an good way to fight them with orks, or is it a losing battle? i hate for all my wonderful boyz to has there genes assimilated in to those nasty bugs own gene pool!
|
ilikepie |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/09 01:03:25
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
i plan on being orks and it seems that tyranids are even more based one numbers that orks are!
Ironically, this is often far from the case. Do a search for "nidzilla."
Do you know for a fact that your friend is going for swarm nids?
|
Wehrkind wrote:Sounds like a lot, but with a little practice I can do ~7-8 girls in 2-3 hours. Probably less if the cat and wife didn't want attention in that time. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/09 01:29:23
Subject: Re:"Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Courageous Skink Brave
Moscow
|
yesh, yesh i do. and im worried that even tho ill have numbers. taht some how he'll go and out umber the orks! my boyz aint gonna like that!!
|
ilikepie |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/09 03:14:38
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Ontario
|
Well, your ork boys are as cheap as his termaguants and a heck of a lot better. Just yell WAAAGH!!! Go ova der an crump 'em!
|
DCDA:90-S++G+++MB++I+Pw40k98-D+++A+++/areWD007R++T(S)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/09 03:40:07
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Centurian99 wrote:
They're not game-breaking, but annoying. All you need to do is have a synapse creature left standing on top of an objective, and when the spinegauns die, they come back in off the sides. Next turn, they test for IB, and fail...and fall back 2d6" towards the objective, followed by a d6" fleet....
In 5th edition it seems pretty clear that Reserves aren't coming on from the sides of the board. They clarified the wording so now reserves and fall backs go towards the board edge the player stands behind. . .i.e. the long table edge.
Second, if neither side wins on the objectives, then all of a sudden VPs come into play and all those times the gaunts were wiped out and came back is helping the opponent to beat you.
And again, all this relies on the fact that you will have a Synapse creature alive and near an objective at the end of the game. This is often not the case, and if all Synapse creatures are wiped out the Gaunts will come on the board and the next turn they will likely fail their IB test and run right back off giving up even more VPs.
I still think without numbers is a junk ability in 5th edition.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/09 04:59:18
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Charging Bull
Rochester, New York
|
yakface wrote:
I still think without numbers is a junk ability in 5th edition.
Yeah I agree, your gaunts get to come in your own board edge and get to do..absolutely nothing. Then they test for being out of synapse and run away.
|
"But remember that there are over 1000 chapters of spase marienz! So the SM codex has to cover over 1000 different kinds of spase marienz! Codex CSM only has to cover 1 kind (the Chaos kind). And I don't even think Eldar are a kind of spase marienz at all. Hurr!"
- Abadabadoobaddon
Albatross wrote:I don't game in GW stores very often, but I must say that last time I did, most of the kids were much more pleasant and less annoying than some of the smelly, socially slowed ADULTS who frequent the stores.
It's a company which specialises in the selling of plastic representations of Elves, Goblins, and 9 foot tall superhuman soldiers from the future - have you ever considered that, as adults, it is US that is intruding upon THEIR world?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/09 06:01:01
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yakface wrote:
In 5th edition it seems pretty clear that Reserves aren't coming on from the sides of the board. They clarified the wording so now reserves and fall backs go towards the board edge the player stands behind. . .i.e. the long table edge.
Agreed...unless you give them scuttling, so they can outflank. At least that's how I read it according to the pdf. Could be wrong, though.
|
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/09 17:53:27
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
If them running off the board is really the issue, do not move them.
No roll, problem solved.
Shrug.
I do not mean to say it is great, but it is not quite junk for a 64 point unit.
In 5th where having "troops" on the table is that much more important and gaunts are meant to be fodder, it will be better and make it less likely that VP will be counted. As the players place the objectives, the Tyranid players (with those gaunts) should place one nearby their viable edges.
Even if the rule is silly it can definitely be used effectively. Actually maybe because it is silly - no one seems to plan to counter it.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/09 20:32:36
Subject: Re:"Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Courageous Skink Brave
Moscow
|
other than just mowing them down and any synapse creatures near a table edge, is there really a way to counter this rule?
would it be beneficial to hold a synapse creature back so as to help them move forward when they come back, or would that really only work in a battle with large points?
|
ilikepie |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/10 02:16:51
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
kirsanth wrote:If them running off the board is really the issue, do not move them.
No roll, problem solved.
As I read the instinctive behavior rules, gaunt broods out of synapse have only two options:
1) Test for instinctive behavior if they want to move, thus risking fallback and non-scoring status.
2) Lurk, thus becoming non-scoring.
While one could argue that the rule is somewhat ambiguous, RAW (and, I think, probably intent as well) seems pretty clear to me that susceptible units out of synapse cannot avoid testing unless they lurk.
That nitpick aside, I basically agree with your take on WoN; not great, but maybe viable under some circumstances if someone wants to try it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2063/05/12 16:05:52
Subject: Re:"Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Courageous Skink Brave
Moscow
|
they can still shoot while Lurking tho, right?
|
ilikepie |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/10 17:11:58
Subject: Re:"Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
cyanidemassive wrote:they can still shoot while Lurking tho, right?
Right.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/10 22:14:23
Subject: "Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
yeah, but read the range on their weapons and it won't seem so cool
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/11 16:56:39
Subject: Re:"Without Numbers" Special Rule for Tyranid Gaunts
|
 |
Courageous Skink Brave
Moscow
|
ha. that's very true, but if you're backed up to the table edge it may not be so bad.
|
ilikepie |
|
 |
 |
|