Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/13 08:27:02
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
I person, who has actually played for many years now, at my local GW store, said that SoB could not disembark from a rhino if it moved over 6 inches. However, I could find no mention of this in either the 4th ed or 5th ed rule books. In fact, they both seemed to indicated that I could disembark from them, as long as I did not move over 12 inches.
Who is correct here, and could you point me to some page numbers in the 5th ed to support his claim if this is the case (I have yet to finish reading the rules section, just finished characters  ). I have been playing for awhile now, but have not played a mech army before. The issue came up the second time I have ever fielded it, so I was kind of lost.
|
Orkses is never beated in battle. If we win we win, if we die we die so it don't count as beat. If we runs for it we don't die neither, so we can always come back for anuvver go, see! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/13 08:36:21
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
mef989 wrote:I person, who has actually played for many years now, at my local GW store, said that SoB could not disembark from a rhino if it moved over 6 inches. However, I could find no mention of this in either the 4th ed or 5th ed rule books. In fact, they both seemed to indicated that I could disembark from them, as long as I did not move over 12 inches.
Who is correct here, and could you point me to some page numbers in the 5th ed to support his claim if this is the case (I have yet to finish reading the rules section, just finished characters  ). I have been playing for awhile now, but have not played a mech army before. The issue came up the second time I have ever fielded it, so I was kind of lost.
Read over the book at my group tonight and got a game in.
When we hit that spot, we scoured the book. We didn't find anything that said you couldn't disembark if it moved 6+ inches. that makes me say you CAN.
If there's something in there, someone please reference a page #, because we did NOT see it in the movement or embarcation/disembarcation section.
Eric
|
Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/13 16:11:19
Subject: Re:Disembarking question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
im pretty sure you can i mean ive never seen the rule that states you cant. But with a 12 inch move from the rhino they arnt allowed to do much that turn right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/13 21:34:41
Subject: Re:Disembarking question
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
Rules on disembarking (pg.67) state that if the vehicle has already moved the passengers may disembark but not move any futher that movement phase. The vehicle can't move any further, Disembarked models may shoot & assault as normal.
Also if the vehicle has not yet moved the passengers may disembark, move, shoot & assault normally. The vehicle may also move normally.
Nothing there about how far a vehicle could have moved before or after, only the before or after rules are listed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 05:50:24
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
in 5th ed a wave serpent can move 24" and disembark its dire avengers... yes... its legal read p. 66 and p.67 no degree of distance is discussed.
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 05:52:53
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Canada!
|
Whoa, whoa, whoa... If that's true, then that means I can move a Raider 24", disembark my Wyches 2", fleet d6, then charge 6"-12" (drugs).
Hey Hey Hey!
|
Kirbinator wrote:you should take Seamus's advice
Om nom nom |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 06:01:05
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
p.67 also says that units disembarking from a transport count as moving, and may not assault.
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 06:05:00
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Canada!
|
...I hate 5th.
|
Kirbinator wrote:you should take Seamus's advice
Om nom nom |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 06:05:53
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
on the plus side your raider has a 4+ save from all shooting if it moves more than 12"
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 06:08:07
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
Seamus O'Shank wrote:Whoa, whoa, whoa... If that's true, then that means I can move a Raider 24", disembark my Wyches 2", fleet d6, then charge 6"-12" (drugs). Hey Hey Hey! Red_Lives wrote:in 5th ed a wave serpent can move 24" and disembark its dire avengers... yes... its legal read p. 66 and p.67 no degree of distance is discussed. Pg 70 states that "passangers may not embark onto or disembark from a fast vehicle if it has moved (or is going to move) flat out in that movement phase." But yeah, it does seem that fast transports, especially open topped ones are pretty potent in 5th. Ork trukks just got a whole lot shinnier.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2008/07/14 06:12:11
Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 06:10:31
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Oh and it also says that you may assault if you disembark from an open topped vehicle MY BAD!
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 06:14:26
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
So to summarize ... you may only move 12" and disembark no more. and may not assault (unless an open topped vehicle)
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 06:17:33
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Canada!
|
Red_Lives wrote:Oh and it also says that you may assault if you disembark from an open topped vehicle MY BAD!
PHEW. I thought I was gonna have to pack up and sell my DE. Ok... 5th is good again!
|
Kirbinator wrote:you should take Seamus's advice
Om nom nom |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 06:34:09
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
LOL you are easily satisfied =P
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 08:16:22
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Canada!
|
Red_Lives wrote:LOL you are easily satisfied =P
As long as my "uber-Webway-Portal-Raider-full-of-Wyches-assault" isn't tampered with in 5th, I'm a happy camper.
|
Kirbinator wrote:you should take Seamus's advice
Om nom nom |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 09:13:48
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
i was also a little confused by this, does that mean that an ork truck can move 24" and have it's passengers disembark and assault?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 09:16:32
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
No i was wrong in my previous statements... P.70 says that a transport vehicle cannot move more than 12" and disembark its passengers.
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 14:34:40
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Red_Lives wrote:No i was wrong in my previous statements... P.70 says that a transport vehicle cannot move more than 12" and disembark its passengers.
Welllll, actually, I think it says a vehicle cannot move flat-out and disembark. But what about a rhino travelling at Cruising speed on a Road for a total of 18" movement, but it's still only moved at Cruising speed..................?! Cause only Fast vehicles can move flat-out............
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 18:33:49
Subject: Re:Disembarking question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
th12t33n wrote:im pretty sure you can i mean ive never seen the rule that states you cant. But with a 12 inch move from the rhino they arnt allowed to do much that turn right?
They can shoot.
Eric
|
Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 18:37:43
Subject: Re:Disembarking question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Let's add another ruffle.
If I'm wrong, PLEASE point out page numbers (whether or not you quote text), because we couldn't find it.
Squad of SM's moves 6" and all manage to be within 2" of an access point.
SM's embark into Rhino.
Rhino takes off & moves 12".
Your SM's have just moved nearly 20" in that movement phase. Add a road and they can go another 6".
Make it an Ork mob in a Trukk painted red and you can add another inch.
Eric
|
Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 22:48:54
Subject: Re:Disembarking question
|
 |
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
Correct, last of pg 66 "If the vehicle has not moved before its passengers got aboard, it can move as normal."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/14 22:52:34
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
Daggermaw wrote:i was also a little confused by this, does that mean that an ork truck can move 24" and have it's passengers disembark and assault?
This could only happen is there was some sort of something that destroyed the Trukk, causing a Ramshakle result that ejected the Boyz (in their own movement phase). I can't think of what that something would be, but it wouldn't be a Dangerous Terrain test, since that won't trigger Ramshackle.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/15 16:14:29
Subject: Re:Disembarking question
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
MagickalMemories wrote:th12t33n wrote:im pretty sure you can i mean ive never seen the rule that states you cant. But with a 12 inch move from the rhino they arnt allowed to do much that turn right?
They can shoot.
Eric
I thought that got changed so that passengers can only shoot if the vehicle moves at Combat speed........??
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/15 16:46:29
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
They can only shoot from the vehicle if the vehicle moves at Combat Speed and no other penalties occur. ie like disembarking and shooting then.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/15 19:19:53
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Steelmage99 wrote:They can only shoot from the vehicle if the vehicle moves at Combat Speed and no other penalties occur. ie like disembarking and shooting then.
Can you PLEASE post a page reference?
Thanks.
Eric
Oh... and that's not me being confrontational. That's me stressing the "please," as we looked all over for it and could not find it.
Thanks.
|
Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/16 01:14:57
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
p. 66
"(Passengers) may not fire if the vehicle moves at cruising speed (or greater)"
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/16 03:06:23
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
don_mondo wrote:
Welllll, actually, I think it says a vehicle cannot move flat-out and disembark. But what about a rhino travelling at Cruising speed on a Road for a total of 18" movement, but it's still only moved at Cruising speed..................?! Cause only Fast vehicles can move flat-out............
You are correct. Any non-skimmer transport vehicles can move 18" if their entire move is on a road and passengers would still be able to disembark by the RAW.
The question is: is this an over-looked error or intentional?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/16 05:50:14
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
Auburn WA USA
|
My Orks embarked on Trukks can move 12" (13" w/RPJ) then disembark then shoot then assault...but they can't just stay on board and fire their guns. Lame.
|
Bugs and Greenskins FTW! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/16 05:57:34
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Yep funny how that works
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/16 16:21:02
Subject: Disembarking question
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
yakface wrote:don_mondo wrote:
Welllll, actually, I think it says a vehicle cannot move flat-out and disembark. But what about a rhino travelling at Cruising speed on a Road for a total of 18" movement, but it's still only moved at Cruising speed..................?! Cause only Fast vehicles can move flat-out............
You are correct. Any non-skimmer transport vehicles can move 18" if their entire move is on a road and passengers would still be able to disembark by the RAW.
The question is: is this an over-looked error or intentional?
Dunno, guess we'll have to ask them and find out.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/16 16:21:21
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|