Switch Theme:

Imperial Guard Heavy Weapon Firer Gets 2 Wounds in 5th Edition?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Space Marine




Arkansas

In the newly released IG FAQ, there is a question regarding wounding IG heavy weapons mounted on one base. The FAQ states that if the gunner is killed, then the loader takes his place. I find this interesting, as under 5th Ed wound allocation each model with different equipment has to roll for wounds separately. So, for example, if I took 10 wounds on an IG squad with 10 models, I would roll for the Sgt., special weapon trooper, and the firer of the heavy weapon separately and then roll 7 dice for everyone with lasguns. Continuing with this example, lets say I fail my heavy weapon firer's save, according to the newly released IG FAQ, my loader takes over, essentially giving all my heavy weapons two wounds.

I base all my IG heavy weapons on the smaller bases. Does this mean that if my heavy weapons guy fails a save the loader still gets to take over, giving me a two wound heavy weapon?

Am I understanding this correctly? It doesn't seem fair to the other races who only have one model firing a heavy weapon.
   
Made in us
Mindless Servitor




Spokane WA

"if the Gunner is Killed, then the loader will take his place"

Looks pretty clear to me... even if the conclusions we draw are NOT the intent.. it is certainly the RAW (IMHO)


And as for Fair.. according to the FAQ the Eldar Guardians can have either Model fire the Heavy weapon.


I guess this just puts the Guard on par with the Eldar, so that you have to kill BOTH of the crew to negate the heavy weapon...

It Does raise a question about "Similarly Equipped" models in the Eldar squads. does one of the models actually HAVE the platform and no SC?
I don't remember the exact wording


   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Legion91 wrote: It doesn't seem fair to the other races who only have one model firing a heavy weapon.


Other races, aside from Eldar, don't have heavy weapons that are allocated to a team of two models.

Fairness has nothing to do with it. It's just one of the things that makes Guard different to other armies.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Legion91 wrote:In the newly released IG FAQ, there is a question regarding wounding IG heavy weapons mounted on one base. The FAQ states that if the gunner is killed, then the loader takes his place. I find this interesting, as under 5th Ed wound allocation each model with different equipment has to roll for wounds separately. So, for example, if I took 10 wounds on an IG squad with 10 models, I would roll for the Sgt., special weapon trooper, and the firer of the heavy weapon separately and then roll 7 dice for everyone with lasguns. Continuing with this example, lets say I fail my heavy weapon firer's save, according to the newly released IG FAQ, my loader takes over, essentially giving all my heavy weapons two wounds.

I base all my IG heavy weapons on the smaller bases. Does this mean that if my heavy weapons guy fails a save the loader still gets to take over, giving me a two wound heavy weapon?

Am I understanding this correctly? It doesn't seem fair to the other races who only have one model firing a heavy weapon.


Its more than fair considering that the most people that can be in that HW squad is 6 and they all have toughness 3, and +5 Armor save. They die fast and are over priced for what they can do.

Also, the way I read it is this. in a squad of normal troopers that has a Heavy weapon and a non upgraded Sergeant would make 9 saves together for the Lasguns and 1 save for the heavy weapon. So it would work out to be more than 2 wounds so long as the first guardsmen doesnt die on the heavy weapon, you dont have to roll seperate for the gunner since he is equipped EXACTLY the same and can fire his Lasgun the same turn also.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/16 03:17:22


 
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Black Templar Predator Pilot





Greenville

I would say that as an army where the two wounds are T3 and Sv5+, I don't think it is reasonable to consider it unfair. A Space Marine, T4, Sv3+, is more likely to surive most weapons that would otherwise kill the two Guardsmen.

CK

"War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling, which thinks that nothing is worth war, is much worse. The person, who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature who has no chance of being free unless made and kept so by the exertions of better men than himself."
-- John Stuart Mill

Black Templars (8000), Imperial Guard (3000), Sanguinary Host (2000), Tau Empire (1850), Bloodaxes (3000) 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

broxus wrote:

Also, the way I read it is this. in a squad of normal troopers that has a Heavy weapon and a non upgraded Sergeant would make 9 saves together for the Lasguns and 1 save for the heavy weapon. So it would work out to be more than 2 wounds so long as the first guardsmen doesnt die on the heavy weapon, you dont have to roll seperate for the gunner since he is equipped EXACTLY the same and can fire his Lasgun the same turn also.



Both members of the heavy weapon team are technically equipped with the same heavy weapon, so yes you would roll for both of them as a group separately from the rest of the IG in the unit that are just armed with a Lasgun.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





yakface wrote:
broxus wrote:

Also, the way I read it is this. in a squad of normal troopers that has a Heavy weapon and a non upgraded Sergeant would make 9 saves together for the Lasguns and 1 save for the heavy weapon. So it would work out to be more than 2 wounds so long as the first guardsmen doesnt die on the heavy weapon, you dont have to roll seperate for the gunner since he is equipped EXACTLY the same and can fire his Lasgun the same turn also.



Both members of the heavy weapon team are technically equipped with the same heavy weapon, so yes you would roll for both of them as a group separately from the rest of the IG in the unit that are just armed with a Lasgun.



Yak,

Im not sure since it says in the FAQ that the other model (loader) can fire the weapon its equiped with, which is usually a lasgun. Also the loader can fire a lasgun in the same turn as the HW is fired, only the gunner is really equiped with the HW.

Now I know people can take this to be any way but since they have the loader is equiped with the exact same weapon and has the same stat lines as the normal guardsmen, many could argue they should make their saves with them. This is really the same as rolling a squad sergeant equiped the same as the rest of the squad in a single group.

/broxus

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/07/16 19:51:19


 
   
Made in us
Wrack Sufferer





Bat Country

Under that line of logic shouldn't the next Space Marine in line pick up his dead friend's Lascannon? It's better than a bolter and he's not using so let's leave it there on the ground so it can keep his corpse company, I love the amount of sense that makes.

Once upon a time, I told myself it's better to be smart than lucky. Every day, the world proves me wrong a little more. 
   
Made in us
Ruthless Rafkin






Glen Burnie, MD

Typeline,

It doesn't have to make sense, it just has to be a rule. My guard serve the Emperor, shouldn't they benefit from They Shall Know No Fear?



-Loki- wrote:
40k is about slamming two slegdehammers together and hoping the other breaks first. Malifaux is about fighting with scalpels trying to hit select areas and hoping you connect more. 
   
Made in us
Wrack Sufferer





Bat Country

Valhallan42nd wrote:Typeline,

It doesn't have to make sense, it just has to be a rule. My guard serve the Emperor, shouldn't they benefit from They Shall Know No Fear?


I'm just speaking out against new wound allocation. Why bother if the next guy in line could pick up the heavy/special.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/16 20:25:49


Once upon a time, I told myself it's better to be smart than lucky. Every day, the world proves me wrong a little more. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Typeline wrote: Under that line of logic shouldn't the next Space Marine in line pick up his dead friend's Lascannon? It's better than a bolter and he's not using so let's leave it there on the ground so it can keep his corpse company, I love the amount of sense that makes.


I tend to agree that its dumb. I think only characters who had wargear should be singled out but ohh well.

I guess you can imagine that the weapon they were carrying was to damaged to fire any longer.


The IG need all the help they can get lets face it vs Orcs, SM, Eldar, and Tyranids IG need all the love they can get they are definatly pretty gimp.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

broxus wrote:I guess you can imagine that the weapon they were carrying was to damaged to fire any longer.


That's exactly what the rulebook tells us to do. It suggests that the weapon was damaged or the rest of the unit doesn't have the training to use it. It's the same reasoning that alows plasma guns that overheat to continue being used until it kills the firer. Then, suddenly it is unuseable. It's a game mechanic. Use whatever fluff you want to justify it.

As to the point, I'm with Yak. The two members of the heavy weapon team are different from the rest of the squad and those two should be rolled for together. I base all of mine seperately but they are clearly marked as part of the weapon team as opposed to normal riflemen. I think by doing otherwise a player would be breaking the rules. If PFist Vet Marine Sarges are on the chopping block the rest of us aren't going to get any breaks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/16 22:36:25


 
   
Made in au
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests






Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.

Ultimately a heavy weapon team with 2 wounds has a lot going for it.

BYE

Industrial Insanity - My Terrain Blog
"GW really needs to understand 'Less is more' when it comes to AoS." - Wha-Mu-077

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

Nice.

 
   
Made in us
Uhlan





page 44 in the IG codex, "Two Guardsmen may form a single weapon crew. A heavy weapon crew must be armed with one of the weapons from the following list:..."

This quote supports Yak's interpretation. Clearly stating both models are armed differently from the other lasgun guardsmen in the squad, but the same as each other.

I play +  
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

broxus wrote:
Yak,

Im not sure since it says in the FAQ that the other model (loader) can fire the weapon its equiped with, which is usually a lasgun. Also the loader can fire a lasgun in the same turn as the HW is fired, only the gunner is really equiped with the HW.

Now I know people can take this to be any way but since they have the loader is equiped with the exact same weapon and has the same stat lines as the normal guardsmen, many could argue they should make their saves with them. This is really the same as rolling a squad sergeant equiped the same as the rest of the squad in a single group.

/broxus



This is an incorrect assumption (as Datajax has pointed out with his quote). Per the IG codex, two models form the heavy weapon team. There is no such thing in the rules as a "loader" or "gunner" and therefore GW must be using these terms as a way to describe the differing models.

But when it comes down to the rules, a HW team is made up of two Guardsmen who are armed with lasguns and the same heavy weapon. They should therefore have their wounds allocated separately from the rest of the unit that just has lasguns.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yak, in the spirit of the rule I think your right. THough, the way its written it could be argued the other way. Also, when it comes to heavy weapon squads will be intresting how you are forced to roll. Would you have to roll three seperate dice for the loaders and 3 more dice for the gunner. It really makes a diffrence if you do it that way. Its much better to treat them all as equiped the same so you would have to kill 3 guardsmen before you start losing heavy weapons.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/17 01:58:17


 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Space Marine




Arkansas

yakface wrote:
broxus wrote:
Yak,

Im not sure since it says in the FAQ that the other model (loader) can fire the weapon its equiped with, which is usually a lasgun. Also the loader can fire a lasgun in the same turn as the HW is fired, only the gunner is really equiped with the HW.

Now I know people can take this to be any way but since they have the loader is equiped with the exact same weapon and has the same stat lines as the normal guardsmen, many could argue they should make their saves with them. This is really the same as rolling a squad sergeant equiped the same as the rest of the squad in a single group.

/broxus



This is an incorrect assumption (as Datajax has pointed out with his quote). Per the IG codex, two models form the heavy weapon team. There is no such thing in the rules as a "loader" or "gunner" and therefore GW must be using these terms as a way to describe the differing models.

But when it comes down to the rules, a HW team is made up of two Guardsmen who are armed with lasguns and the same heavy weapon. They should therefore have their wounds allocated separately from the rest of the unit that just has lasguns.



Yakface,

You proved my conundrum exactly. "There is no such thing in the rules as a 'loader' or 'gunner' and therefore GW must be using these terms as a way to describe differing models." I bolded the part that proves my conundrum. Since they are differing models, as you say, then, according to wound allocation, they must be rolled for separately, but the IG FAQ states that the "loader" takes the place of the "gunner". So lets say I roll two saves for a missile launcher "loader" and "gunner", I pass the "loader" save, but fail the "gunner" save. According to the IG FAQ, the "loader" takes the place of the "gunner". Would that not effectively give the actual missile launcher "gunner" two wounds? What am I missing here?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Legion91 wrote:

Yakface,

You proved my conundrum exactly. "There is no such thing in the rules as a 'loader' or 'gunner' and therefore GW must be using these terms as a way to describe differing models." I bolded the part that proves my conundrum. Since they are differing models, as you say, then, according to wound allocation, they must be rolled for separately, but the IG FAQ states that the "loader" takes the place of the "gunner". So lets say I roll two saves for a missile launcher "loader" and "gunner", I pass the "loader" save, but fail the "gunner" save. According to the IG FAQ, the "loader" takes the place of the "gunner". Would that not effectively give the actual missile launcher "gunner" two wounds? What am I missing here?



You misunderstand my meaning. When GW refers to a "loader" and a "gunner" they are talking about the actual models. One guy is often holding the heavy weapon ("gunner") and the other guy isn't ("loader"). But from a RULES perspective, this distinction doesn't exist. Both these models are equipped with the heavy weapon.

We are essentially saying the same thing (that you have to kill both models to get rid of the heavy weapon), it's just that *other* people are trying to claim that the "loader" is allocated wounds along with the rest of the lasgun armed models in the unit while the "gunner" gets his wounds allocated separately from the "loader" and the rest of the lasgun armed models in the unit.

This is incorrect from a RAW standpoint as *both* members of the heavy weapon team are armed identically and *both* of them are armed differently from the rest of the lasgun armed models in the unit.

So when it comes to allocate wounds to an IG unit you have the following 'groups' of similarly armed models:

1) Sergeant (assuming he has a pistol & CC weapon).
2) All the Lasgun armed models.
3) The special weapon model.
4) The heavy weapon team.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Space Marine




Arkansas

Ah, ha. Now I see your meaning. It's so simple really. Yakface, you sir are a scholar and a gentleman. Thank you.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






Wauwatosa, WI

And the FAQ list gets longer and longer . . . . ..

DS:60SG++M++B+I+Pw40k87/f-D++++A++/sWD87R+++T(S)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






So... What happens if the IG unit is tank-shocked, and then fails its Death or Glory attack? Does the lascannon transfer to the so-called loader or is it removed when the gunner is removed?

- Craftworld Kai-Thaine
- Task Force Defiance 36
- Sunwolves Great Company
- 4th Company Imperial Fists
- Hive Fleet Scylla - In progress

If the man doesn't believe as we do, we say he is a crank, and that settles it. I mean, it does nowadays, because now we can't burn him. - M. Twain

The world owes you nothing. It was here first. - M. Twain

DR:70+S++G+++MB-I--Pw40k03+D++A+++/rWD-R+T(R)DM++
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

broxus wrote:Yak, in the spirit of the rule I think your right. THough, the way its written it could be argued the other way. Also, when it comes to heavy weapon squads will be intresting how you are forced to roll. Would you have to roll three seperate dice for the loaders and 3 more dice for the gunner. It really makes a diffrence if you do it that way. Its much better to treat them all as equiped the same so you would have to kill 3 guardsmen before you start losing heavy weapons.


I think to do it correctly you would have to seperate the teams into 3 different groups and roll accordingly. It is a change to the way we've been allowed to protect our heavy weapons but, like I keep saying, if it works both ways then it's still fair. I just keep thinking about a 10 man SM dev squad that takes 10 wounds and fails 4 saves. Before it wouldn't have meant anything, but now it could mean that the SM player has just inherited an expensive non-scoring tac squad.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





ive got to ask the question does anyone actually give their sergeant a CCW and las pistol? What would be the purpose in doing this over a las gun. If that gets into combat its dead anyways I think the long range firepower is better. You did forget one thing though that now #$#$ vox casters have to roll seperately. Kinda of a waste now for sure.
   
Made in au
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests






Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.

I always give 'em a LP&CCW combo. Means I have 22 attacks on the charge rather than 20. When I charge with 3 such squads, every little bit helps.

BYE

Industrial Insanity - My Terrain Blog
"GW really needs to understand 'Less is more' when it comes to AoS." - Wha-Mu-077

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: