Switch Theme:

Real Noob Question!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Yellin' Yoof





So this may be a no brainer, but I just want to double check with those with more experience. Although it may be an unlikely situation, I couldn't find an answer to it in the 5th ed. rule book (didn't look too hard). If there are two enemy units within 6 inches of my unit, and my unit shoots and either destroys or causes it to run away, can I assult the other unit, or do I lose my close combat turn?
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





Nashville/Hendersonville, TN

I don't have the rulebook in front of me, but I believe I read that you have to assault whatever unit you shot at. So, if the unit you shot at is destroyed or runs away, your stuck. At least that's what I remember, but I've only read the new rules once, so I could be wrong.

There is an exception regarding vehicles. If you shoot at a transport vehicle and destroy it, forcing the unit inside to disembark, you may then assault the disembarked unit.

   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





El Paso, Texas

pg 33 states "a unit that fired in the Shooting phase can only assault the unit that it shot at - it cannot assault a different unit to the one it previously shot at.". I see no exceptions which would allow you to charge a totally different unit, except in the case of assaulting multiple enemy units, which still requires you charge the original unit you fired upon.

So in a word, no, if you destroyed the target unit in the shooting phase, you cannot assault any other unit.

Moz:
You: "Hold on, you rammed, that's not a tank shock"
Me: "Ok so what is a ram, lets look at the rules."
Rulebook: "A ram is a special kind of tank shock"
You: "So it's a tank shock until it hits a vehicle, and then it's a ram, not a tank shock, and then it goes back to being a tank shock later!"
Me: "Yeah it doesn't really say any of that in here, how about we just play by what's written in here?"  
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion




Between the Sun and the Sky

Negatory, OP. There is no charging a different unit than you shot at, even if the previous one was wiped out.

Catch me if you can.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Burning Star IV wrote:There is no charging a different unit than you shot at, even if the previous one was wiped out.

True. But if you can reach BOTH units while remaining in coherency, feel free to assault both
   
Made in us
Battleship Captain





Perth

SilentW wrote:
Burning Star IV wrote:There is no charging a different unit than you shot at, even if the previous one was wiped out.

True. But if you can reach BOTH units while remaining in coherency, feel free to assault both

That's a little difficult if you wiped the first one out...

Man, I wish there was a real Black Library where I could get a Black Library Card and take out Black Library Books without having to buy them. Of course, late fees would be your soul. But it would be worth it. - InquisitorMack 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





In which case it isn't possibly to reach both units, is it?

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: