Switch Theme:

Question about multi-combats w/ vehicles and consolidation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Say a unit assaults an enemy infantry unit and an enemy vehicle (without a WS) at the same time. In the subsequent combat they end up wiping out the enemy infantry unit, but the vehicle is not destroyed.

The vehicle assault rules (p63) say:

"In a multiple fight including enemy vehicles and other unit types, the result of the fight is worked out as normal against the latter, ignoring the vehicles."


So it is clear that the victorious unit would get a D6" consolidation move, but the question is with that consolidation move must the player move his models 1" away from the vehicle? Or can he use the consolidation to move more models into base contact with the vehicle?

The consolidation rules (p40) say:

"A consolidation move may not be used to move into base contact with enemy models, as this can only be done with an assault move. Consolidating models must therefore stop 1" away from all enemy models, including any that might have just fallen back from the combat that the consolidating unit has fought in."


My reading of the rules in this situation is as follows:

1) The models that are already in base contact with the enemy vehicle (or within 1" of it) are allowed to stay there if the player doesn't move them but if he does he must move the models at least 1" away from the vehicle.
2) Models that are not already within 1" of the vehicle may not be moved within 1" of it but could still make their consolidate move elsewhere provided they maintain coherency.


Anyone disagree with that assessment or play another way for some reason?




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

Agree that is the way the rules work.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I see no holes in your logic
   
Made in au
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




Australia

I also agree, you either stay there or you can't end within 1".

109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 
   
Made in us
Yellin' Yoof





Good question Yak, and good logical answer.

I'm glad you posted this question because I started to a few days ago but got it jumbled with an example and not straight forward wording.

If you're not having fun, you're doing it wrong.  
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Chief Deputy Sub Assistant Trainee Squig Handling Intern






Yup. You cannot approach within 1" of an enemy model without engaging it in HTH.

You may no longer Consolidate into HTH, and Vehicles without a WS cannot be 'locked' in combat, being free to simply drive off in their next turn (provided the wheels haven't been buggered in the assault).

Thus, HTH with vehicles is the one time you can be within 1" of an enemy model WITHOUT being locked in HTH.

Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: