Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 01:40:24
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
So, I don't know if this has been discussed before but if it hasn't:
Do Gaunt broods w/ without number count as another KP when they come back onto the table?
Wording:
Any brood that is removed from play may be brought back into play at the beginning of the next tyranid turn. It moves onto the board from the tyranid player's board edge and has exactly the same profile and armaments as its predecessor.
|
My 40k Theory Blog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 01:45:54
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You get one KP every time a unit is destroyed.
So yes, one KP every time the recycled unit is destroyed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 01:46:17
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine
Houston
|
I'm not sure if I understand why it wouldn't? Among other things, use of the word "predecessor" indicates it's a new unit. If the position is that recyled units are not new units, then it would be impossible to get a kp for the brood at all (unless it was off the table when the game ended) since it would always be refreshing itself.
Brice
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 03:55:16
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
Well with similar units like Saint Celestine, as long as she is on the table at the end of the game, you don't get any KP's for her, no matter how many times she has lost her last wound.
"Any brood that is removed from play may be brought back into play"
It's just being brought back into play like Celestine.
|
My 40k Theory Blog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 12:20:20
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
yes, but if you compare them to the 4th edition counterparts, each without number brood was worth it's value in victory points while saint celestine was only worth victory points if she failed the test or passed but was in reserve(the same situations that now grant a kill point)
sure it's not decisive by any means, but it gives you an idea of intention.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 14:09:02
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Every time a WON-brood enters play it is counted as a new unit.
Can make interesting mathematics in the end where you give up 15 KP out of maximum 12 KP or something
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 14:14:48
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine
Terra
|
Happned to me at a RTT, i was plying nids and got all of my Synapse destroyed.. i had WON and every time a brood was wiped out it came back on my corner.. the eldar player had me boxed in for almost 3 turns..
I ended up giving him over 1000vp's in WON returns...
"ok so i got 2700vp to your.... AHEM!...Good game..."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 15:31:15
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
AtraAngelis wrote:
I ended up giving him over 1000vp's in WON returns...
Without Number specifies "may" and is therefor optional.
Yes, you gave him those points.
shrug
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 17:02:03
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
I don't really see that it is counted by a new unit anywhere. Sure in the old VP system it gave new VP everytime it entered. However that system is outdated with 5th ed rules. If we still tried to interpret KP's by the old VP system than combat squads would only be worth 1/2 a KP when destroyed. (which they are not)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/14 17:02:35
My 40k Theory Blog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 18:12:36
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Have you checked the codex? It is pretty clear there.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 19:29:10
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Praetorian
|
coredump wrote:Have you checked the codex? It is pretty clear there.
Just for ease, it says under without number that victory points are scored as usual for the brood and its replacements entirely separate broods, extending a 4th ed codex to 5th ed rules, this would mean they are worth another kill point if they are recycled.
so yes, its pretty clear in the codex.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 19:51:25
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Ridin' on a Snotling Pump Wagon
|
Yup. Kill Point per Brood, regardless of how many times said Brood has been chinned.
This is different from Celestine, as her entry states otherwise.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 21:37:21
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
Murfreesboro, TN
|
Without Number: great for objectives missions, balls for Annihilation.
|
As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.
But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.
Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 23:25:53
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
But victory point doesn't equal kill point scoring in all cases in 5th ed. So that's not really the be all/end all ruling for this case. I think it could be considered either way per its wording. Wording: Any brood that is removed from play may be brought back into play at the beginning of the next tyranid turn. It moves onto the board from the tyranid player's board edge and has exactly the same profile and armaments as its predecessor. First line seems to indicate it is the same models. 2nd sentence seems to indicate its not. Per RAW it seems it only really counts as a new unit for Victory points And yes, I know that some of you are going to claim that it is just an oversight of 5th edition and GW would want to FAQ it. But there are plenty of other things in the tyranid codex (symbiote rippers) that have rules that are just gotten rid of in 5th, with no intent by GW to change them.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/14 23:26:15
My 40k Theory Blog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/15 04:15:46
Subject: Without number and killpoints
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Timmah wrote:But victory point doesn't equal kill point scoring in all cases in 5th ed. So that's not really the be all/end all ruling for this case.
I think it could be considered either way per its wording.
Wording:
Any brood that is removed from play may be brought back into play at the beginning of the next tyranid turn. It moves onto the board from the tyranid player's board edge and has exactly the same profile and armaments as its predecessor.
First line seems to indicate it is the same models. 2nd sentence seems to indicate its not.
Per RAW it seems it only really counts as a new unit for Victory points
And yes, I know that some of you are going to claim that it is just an oversight of 5th edition and GW would want to FAQ it. But there are plenty of other things in the tyranid codex (symbiote rippers) that have rules that are just gotten rid of in 5th, with no intent by GW to change them.
No, RAW it does not. The use of the word "predecessor" unequivocally indicates that the new unit is a separate entity from its predecessor.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|