Switch Theme:

Mystics firing at deepstriking units.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine



Long Island, New York

When drop pods deepstrike within 4d6" of a mystic, how does it work exactly? Reading the daemonhunters mystic rules, it appears that it fires at the pod only as it says "...before the enemy unit moves..."

Does it fire at the pod before it deviates? If so, if the pod is destroyed, is the cargo also destroyed?
After it deviates, but before it deploys its cargo?
After it deploys its cargo?
Does it fire at the unit that deploys?

Will be playing this weekend versus lists with inquisitors so I want to get it right. Thanks.




War is not your recreation. It is the reason for your existence. Prepare for it well.
~CODEX ASTARTES

Give me a hundred Space Marines. Or failing that, give me a thousand other troops.
~Rogal Dorn  
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Covered in the DH FAQ.

You fire after the pod lands and the contents disembark and then you choose to fire at either the pod or the unit.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine



Long Island, New York

Thanks. Can ordnance be placed to cover the pod and the unit rolling against both?

War is not your recreation. It is the reason for your existence. Prepare for it well.
~CODEX ASTARTES

Give me a hundred Space Marines. Or failing that, give me a thousand other troops.
~Rogal Dorn  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

Sure so long as your target is one or the other.

   
Made in mx
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

The title says Mystics firing at drop pods... so I am dying to know what guns can Mystics be equipped with.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





CT, USA

The title of the thread is slightly misleading Green Blow Fly, he means "mystics using their special ability to allow another unit within 12" to fire at deepstrikers." That would be a little long for a thread title though.

...one amongst untold billions.
DR:90S+G+M+B++I+Pw40k05+D++A++/hWD318R++T(G)DM+
 
   
Made in mx
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I thought the distance was 4d6. Just goes to show... hee.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Just wanted to make sure Mystics can use this power while inside a vehicle? In that case the 4d6 is measured from the vehicles hull? Thats the way I been playing it but someone mentioned that Mystics power does not work if they are inside a vehicle?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




To clarify a few issues:

Having one mystic in a unit allows the unit to fire at units deepstriking within 4d6 inches.

Having two or more mystics in a unit allows the unit or another unit within 12" of the mystics' unit to fire at a deepstriking unit within 4d6" of the mystics' unit.

Everything I've seen in the FAQs leads me to believe that the ability works when the mystics are in a transport, and both the 4d6" and 12" ranges would be measured from the hull of the transport vehicle.

This ability can be used each and every time an enemy unit deepstrikes, but the 4d6" range is rerolled for every new target.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/29 05:06:56


 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






SoCal, USA!

@Balzac: That is precisely the way to do it: put the Inquisitor and Mystics in a Land Raider, then place IG Demolishers / SM Vindicators within 12" of the Land Raider. When the Pod drops within 4d6" of the Land Raider, Drop a S10 AP2 pie plate on the Pod, catching half of the guys who Disembark. Lather, Rinse, Repeat.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




If you have two mystics, do you roll 4d6 for each one, or just once for the unit?
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Just once and you only get one shot no matter the number of Mystics in a given unit. The second Mystic just allows the one shot to be taken by another unit within 12" of the Inquisitor unit.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Steelmage99 wrote:Just once and you only get one shot no matter the number of Mystics in a given unit. The second Mystic just allows the one shot to be taken by another unit within 12" of the Inquisitor unit.


Rephrase that to "you only get to have one unit shoot at the deep striking unit" maybe........................................ Also, remember that the shooting unit counts as stationary, regardless of any movement during it's turn.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





True. I meant "shot" as in "having a go at", but yours is more precise and better.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Lancaster PA

Green Blow Fly: Mystics are armed with a Las Pistol and CCW, as are all other Inquisitorial Henchmen unless specified otherwise. I think Familiers and Warrior Henchmen are the only ones that specify off the top of my head.


Woad to WAR... on Celts blog, which is mostly Circle Orboros
"I'm sick of auto-penetrating attacks against my behind!" - Kungfuhustler 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Wehrkind wrote:Green Blow Fly: Mystics are armed with a Las Pistol and CCW, as are all other Inquisitorial Henchmen unless specified otherwise. I think Familiers and Warrior Henchmen are the only ones that specify off the top of my head.


Pretty much. For a while I used 3 servitors with 2 hvy bolters and a plasma cannon along with the Inq's psycannon. Did fairly well against daemons and so-so against Marines/termies. Unit got expensive tho as I added in Sages, Familiars and everything else just to have the Majority 6+ save for as long as possible (4th ed). May have to dig them back out just to see how they would do in 5th.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: