Switch Theme:

"Gets Hot!" wound: AP- or AP2?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran







Is the self-inflicted wound caused by "Gets Hot!" an AP2 wound or an AP- wound?

"Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm." 
   
Made in gb
Ridin' on a Snotling Pump Wagon






AP-.

You always get your armour save against it, as you have not been shot by the weapon!

Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran







Thanks Doc, I just couldn't understand why marine players used plasma when it was a death sentence on a 1...time to buy some bits!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/13 15:37:56


"Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm." 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Bothell, WA

Remember the part saying that normal armor saves apply to a Gets Hot wound. If the would was AP2 no one would get an armor save.

Salamander Marines 65-12-13
Dark Eldar Wych Cult 4-1-0
Dark Eldar Kabal 36-10-4
2010 Indy GT Tournament Record: 11-6-3
Golden Ticket Winner with Dark Eldar
Timmah wrote:Best way to use lysander:
Set in your storage bin, pick up vulkan model, place in list.
 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






Columbus, Oh

BUT....

A normal armor save for AP 2 is still an auto penetrate, isn't it?

My normal assumption was If you roll a 1, then you lose the guy..

If you DON"T lose the guy because you are allowed to make normal armor saves.. can you fire the Plasma Gun again, or did it blow itself up.. and the trooper is just sitting around waiting to suck up another wound from incoming fire...

-Porkuslime

2+2=5 for sufficiently large values of 2.

Order of St Ursula (Sisters of Battle): W-2, L-1, T-1
Get of Freki (Space Wolves): W-3, L-1, T-1
Hive Fleet Portentosa (Nids/Stealers): W-6, L-4, T-0
Omega Marines (vanilla Space Marine): W-1, L-6, T-2
Waagh Magshak (Orks): W-4, L-0, T-1
A.V.P.D.W.: W-0, L-2, T-0

www.40korigins.com
bringing 40k Events to Origins Game Fair in Columbus, Oh. Ask me for more info! 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





porkusslime:

No, a normal armour save is whatever the model's armour save is. The normal armour save of a Tactical Space Marine is 3+. A Tactical Space Marine does not gets its normal armour save against Plasma weapons.

Since Gets Hot! simply inflicts a wound on the firing model, it is able to use the weapon again next player turn if it survives.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






Columbus, Oh

so, the Get's Hot! hit on a Marine from a Plasma Gun, would be at Str 7, and NO AP number, allowing him to shrug it off at a 3+ as if he had been hit, say, by a lasgun?

I had been playing it as if the Marine had been hit with a weapon with the Same Profile as the weapon he had fired. (Thus the AP2 thought).

-P

2+2=5 for sufficiently large values of 2.

Order of St Ursula (Sisters of Battle): W-2, L-1, T-1
Get of Freki (Space Wolves): W-3, L-1, T-1
Hive Fleet Portentosa (Nids/Stealers): W-6, L-4, T-0
Omega Marines (vanilla Space Marine): W-1, L-6, T-2
Waagh Magshak (Orks): W-4, L-0, T-1
A.V.P.D.W.: W-0, L-2, T-0

www.40korigins.com
bringing 40k Events to Origins Game Fair in Columbus, Oh. Ask me for more info! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran







porkuslime wrote:so, the Get's Hot! hit on a Marine from a Plasma Gun, would be at Str 7, and NO AP number, allowing him to shrug it off at a 3+ as if he had been hit, say, by a lasgun?

I had been playing it as if the Marine had been hit with a weapon with the Same Profile as the weapon he had fired. (Thus the AP2 thought).

-P


My new interpretation is this: he suffers an AP- wound with normal saves allowed. So you disregard the Strength, since that is part of the "To Wound" roll, and he's already been wounded. However, you do get your 3+ armor save.

"Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm." 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





porkuslime:

No, the Gets Hot! rule does not say that the firing model gets hit by its own weapon. It says that the firing model suffers a wound and gets its normal saving throw against that wound. groz has it right.
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka





Southampton

Just coming to the aid of Nurglitch and Groz

You definitely get your armour save against Get's Hot! Check out the wording on page 31... "the firing model suffers a wound (normal saves apply)"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/13 19:49:03


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: