Switch Theme:

Interaction between Lash and Shooting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Ladies Love the Vibro-Cannon Operator






Hamburg

Suppose a Sorcerer with MoS and lash of submission joined a unit.

Can an enemy unit be targeted in the following way:
First, the Sorcerer use the lash (counts as shooting weapon) so that the targeted unit gets moved.
Second, after the unit was being moved, the unit shoots the enemy unit say by flamers.

Or is there no such interaction; that is, the unit must shoot the enemy unit before it gets moved?

Former moderator 40kOnline

Lanchester's square law - please obey in list building!

Illumini: "And thank you for not finishing your post with a "" I'm sorry, but after 7200 's that has to be the most annoying sign-off ever."

Armies: Eldar, Necrons, Blood Angels, Grey Knights; World Eaters (30k); Bloodbound; Cryx, Circle, Cyriss 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control






Yorkshire, UK

As a general principle you see what attacks have hit a unit before you resolve their effects (otherwise you'd always leave plasma weapons until last to avoid killing yourself... )

So I'd go with rolling to hit/measuring templates first, then moving the target with lash after.


Of course the easy way round this is not to join the sorcerer to the unit. If he's already in it he can move away in the shooting phase, lash the target towards his 'old' unit and let them flame away.

Regular, or extra crispy?

While you sleep, they'll be waiting...

Have you thought about the Axis of Evil pension scheme? 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Chimera_Calvin wrote:As a general principle you see what attacks have hit a unit before you resolve their effects (otherwise you'd always leave plasma weapons until last to avoid killing yourself... )

So I'd go with rolling to hit/measuring templates first, then moving the target with lash after.
This all depends on whether you strictly call it a psychic shooting attack or consider it just a psychic power used in the shooting phase, if it were the latter you could do them seperately.

Of course the easy way round this is not to join the sorcerer to the unit. If he's already in it he can move away in the shooting phase, lash the target towards his 'old' unit and let them flame away.

Regular, or extra crispy?
Except you can only move away in the movement phase, not the shooting phase, the rulebook is quite clear on this matter.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Ridin' on a Snotling Pump Wagon






Any Psychic Power which is used in the Shooting Phase comes under the rules of the shooting phase. No loophole there I'm afraid.

And as Calvin said, you roll to hit/wound/whatever with the entire unit, then resolve it all at the same time.

Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

I'm sure he MEANT to say that he could move away in the movement phase

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Mad Doc Grotsnik wrote:Any Psychic Power which is used in the Shooting Phase comes under the rules of the shooting phase. No loophole there I'm afraid.

And as Calvin said, you roll to hit/wound/whatever with the entire unit, then resolve it all at the same time.


Can you provide an FAQ or page number for this?

Assuming you're correct, to what extent beyond resolution, if any, should Lash be treated as a shooting attack? Can the targeted unit get a cover save, for instance?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/18 15:48:53


 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation





Cover saves are only used to avoid wounds from shooting. They can't stop non-wound effects such as Lash or Markerlights.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Awesome. That's perfect, thanks.
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz





Chicago Suburbs Northwest

This is definately a relevant question - my buddy was just plagued with this very question in his last GT.

- Blackbone

Us Blood axes have learnt a lot from da humies. How best ta kill 'em, fer example.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: