Switch Theme:

quick Chaos Demons question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Major






far away from Battle Creek, Michigan

I'm playing against a Chaos Demons army tomorrow. Quick question: according to their codex, Demons have to divide their army into two groups and then roll to see which group is allowed to DS on turn 1. Does Dawn of War deployment negate this rule for Chaos Demons? Also, in Dawn of War deployment can Demons deploy 2 troops and 1 HQ or do they have to obey their codex rules?
Thanks!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/20 23:13:19


PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.

Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Codex Rules overrule normal deployment.
   
Made in ca
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine





Codex rules take precedence. Daemonic Assault means no deployment, regardless of mission.
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration






Hopping on the pain wagon

And I will round that out with a third agreement.

Kabal of the Razor's Song project log

There is a secret song at the center of the universe and its sound is like razors through flesh. 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






SoCal, USA!

The Codex overrules. Simple as that.

Anything else would be cheating.

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Repost of mine from another thread:


Just to clarify for everyone who isn't already aware, there IS NO CONTRADICTION between the Dawn of War deployment rules and the Chaos Daemon's 'Daemonic Assault' rule.

'Dawn of War' (p93 of the rulebook) says:

"He can then deploy up to two units from his Troops selections and up to one unit from his HQ selections in his half of the table. . ."

and:

"All units that were not deployed, and were not declared to be in reserve during deployment, must enter the game in the Movement phase of their first player turn by moving in from their own table edge, just like units moving in from reserve."


'Daemonic Assault' (p27 of the Daemons codex) says:

"No model in this army is ever placed on the battlefield during deployment. Instead, all of the units in the army always start the game in reserve, even in missions that do not normally allow this rule to be used."


So, as you can see from the Dawn of War rules, the extra units you aren't able to deploy come onto the table on the first turn, but this is different from units you place into reserve, which come in using the normal rules for reserves (typically starting on turn 2).

The Daemon Codex forces the player to put everything he has into Reserves, which is actually something any army can choose to do if they want (in which case other armies start rolling for their Reserves on turn 2).

Of course the Daemons also have a special rule about how their Reserves arrive, which they naturally continue to follow.



And to continue on with what I was saying, Dawn of War doesn't do anything differently than any other mission in that they all allow you to deploy units, the only thing is Dawn of War limits how many units can actually be placed. So if someone mistakenly thinks that Dawn of War somehow overrides the Daemon codex rules (which it doesn't by the RAW) that same idea would have to apply to all missions.

In the end, you cannot willingly break a rule. The mission rules allow to deploy models and the Daemon codex restricts you from doing so. Since deploying your Daemon models before the game begins (or bringing them all in on turn 1) would break the restrictive rules in the Daemon codex, you aren't allowed to do so.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/21 07:20:25


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in ph
Frenzied Juggernaut






daemons DS no matter what mission, scenario, or type of deployment

qwekel wants to get bigger, please click on him and level him up.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: