Switch Theme:

Newbie Rule Clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Scotland

Well after a few friends and I were invited to a day of Apocolypse games we all became addicted to WH40K (again... some 12 years after our last games)

So we have all began building armies afresh and generally spending an obscene amount on our armies of choice.

In just over 3 months we have all created armies from scratch to point values of around 3000 and began weekly games at yours truly... Much to the bemusement of my missus to be.

So you can imagine that over this 3month period we have all read our codex's back to front and have had many confused moments as we have tried to decipher situational rules.

So I'd like to say hi to everyone and then politely ask for some rule clrification from those that have been doing this a lot longer than myself.

Please excuse any noobie questions... cos well i'm a newb!

1: Dreadnought close combat weapons (DCW).
When a dreadnought attacks in CC does it's strength modifier (Str x2 to a max of 10) confer to all attacks on the profile or only to to the number of DCW?

eg. A defiler with 2 extra DCW has 5 attacks on it's profile but only 4 DCW. When charging into an assualt while the defiler get 6 attacks at Str x2 or only 4?


2: Can certain pyschic powers be used twice in one round

Example: Can a Farseer cast doom twice per round as long as he has the power and spirit stones. I read that as long as it is not classed as a shooting attack the power may be cast twice. Is this correct?


3: Does a Chaos Lord's mark confer intself onto an attached squad?

Having a Choas Lord with the mark of Khorne obviously gives him +1 attack at a cheap price. Does attaching him to a squad of CSM's give them all the +1 attack bonus. This would effectively give them a mark at a cut rate cost.


4: Blast markers and cover saves

If a Battle Cannon is fired through a unit to one behind and doesn't scatter. Does the unit get a cover save? Due to it being fired through a unit. Or is cover defined from where the blast originates.

eg. Does the cover save come from the blasts origin (centre point) or is the cover save worked out from the battlecannons point of view. Also is this the same for all scatter blast markers i.e. plasma cannons.


5: Does Embolden allow pyschic tests to be re-rolled?

Like it says on the tin. Are pyschic tests seperate from a leadership test and are thus unaffected by the embolden ability or do they recieve a re-roll?


6: Infiltrate rule

If a unit has the infiltrate rule can it infiltrate when brought in from reserves or is this ability only allowed during deployment?


7: Does a Chaos spawn have a save

The CSM codex says "-" but I have read that daemon's recieve a 5+ invulnerable save.


(and finally)
8: Can a single unit launch a multiple assault on more than one unit.

Example: If two IC are relativley close together (i.e. 8") Can a unit of Orcs 30 strong assualt two IC's in the one assualt move? due to them coming in close contact to both of them? Effectively tying up more than one unit in the one assualt.

Thanks for your time folks!
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Chief Deputy Sub Assistant Trainee Squig Handling Intern






DCW affects *All* attacks made until it is destroyed.

Each Psychic Power may only be used once per turn.

No. He is marked, the squad is not.

Not sure.

Not sure.

I think they can outflank if held in reserves, but otherwise they have to come on from your table edge.

No. Chaos Spawn is not a Daemon. It's a Spawn.

I'm not sure. You can in Fantasy, but it's rare that it happens. Also, if you fired weapons in the shooting phase, you must charge the same target if assaulting that turn.

Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




1. all attacks

2. Yes, but not one's that are shooting attacks

3. No, ICs cannot confer their special abilities onto the unit they join, unless specified in the rule itself.

4. yes, the only time a blast (or ordinance) does not yield a cover save is if it is in the rule or it is a barrage weapon and the target is not 'in' some sort of terrain, being behind it to a barrage weapon does not help.

5. Don't know, don't have the codex, someone else help here please.

6. You can either infiltrate during deployment or be held in reserve and perform an outflank rule as per page 94 in BGB.

7. no, they are daemons, but not from the daemon codex. (I have only looked at the Chaos Dex, and this is from memory, please correct me if I'm wrong, but this one did stick out to me as a what the heck thing.)

8. Yes, as long as you don't break unit coherency (2" between models).

I hope this helps, and good gaming!

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Scotland

Thanks for the quick replies... I was expecting to have to wait at least a day


To clarify No:5

If a defiler fires it's battle cannon at unit (A) that is in the open it wouldn't recieve a cover save.

If another unit (B) was between the defiler and Unit (A) would Unit (A) recieve a cover save?

If the shot scattered wildly into a mass of tanks and units how would cover save be calculated?

By drawing line of sight to the Defiler or radial from the centre of the blast marker.

Again thanks for clearing up a few of those.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Embolden allows leadership tests to be re-rolled and psychic tests are indeed a leadership test.

The Defiler fires its ordnance directly (its not a barrage weapon) so cover saves are worked out just like any other shooting weapon. The position of the blast makes absolutely no difference (only if it was a barrage weapon would it).


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




cover for blast weapons are determined from the shooting model/unit to the target unit(s)

Cover for barrage weapons, are determined from the center of the blast.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Scotland

thanks folks... that will aid us in this weeks set of games.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: