Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/21 10:22:03
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Ladies Love the Vibro-Cannon Operator
|
Well, suppose a unit with a flamer is transported in a Rhino.
Two weapons can be fired from inside the Rhino, by definition.
But can a flamer be used from inside, because it will hit a friendly model, the Rhino.
|
Former moderator 40kOnline
Lanchester's square law - please obey in list building!
Illumini: "And thank you for not finishing your post with a " " I'm sorry, but after 7200 's that has to be the most annoying sign-off ever."
Armies: Eldar, Necrons, Blood Angels, Grey Knights; World Eaters (30k); Bloodbound; Cryx, Circle, Cyriss |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/21 10:25:10
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It is an issue with the rules. RAW the answer is generally no you cannot however most people recognize this as being silly so you may want to consider ignoring the RAW in this particular case.
We address it in the INAT FAQ if you're using that (we allow it to be used and not hit the transport).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/21 10:37:43
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Ladies Love the Vibro-Cannon Operator
|
yakface wrote:
We address it in the INAT FAQ if you're using that (we allow it to be used and not hit the transport).
Thanks! That's great.
|
Former moderator 40kOnline
Lanchester's square law - please obey in list building!
Illumini: "And thank you for not finishing your post with a " " I'm sorry, but after 7200 's that has to be the most annoying sign-off ever."
Armies: Eldar, Necrons, Blood Angels, Grey Knights; World Eaters (30k); Bloodbound; Cryx, Circle, Cyriss |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/21 20:21:42
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
Golden, CO
|
Aren't ranges for shooting attacks from inside the vehicle measured from the hull anyway? In which case you would place the template next to the hull to determine range (and in this case, who it hits), so it doesn't actually hit a friendly model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/21 21:19:53
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Actually, in this case, you'd measure from the fire point (pg 66). I can see the marine popping out the top of the hatch and firing a flamer to the side.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/22 12:34:52
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
top hatches open wider that then rhino : ) If you make it so they can open
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/22 13:16:09
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
frgsinwntr wrote:top hatches open wider that then rhino : ) If you make it so they can open
But the point that the model is firing from isn't where the hatches extend to, it's the opening in the vehicle, as per the rulebook.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/22 16:27:12
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
fire point is top hatch... doors are part of the top hatch correct?
Are you trying to say the doors arn't part of the hatch?
Just throwing out an argument you can use if you come upon this.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/22 16:27:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/22 16:41:09
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Imperial Recruit in Training
Calgary AB, Canada
|
On a LR wouldn't you be able to shoot from the side doors? Or am I making a mistake in thinking that the LR can fire with the unit it is transporting?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/22 16:49:01
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Alzger wrote:On a LR wouldn't you be able to shoot from the side doors? Or am I making a mistake in thinking that the LR can fire with the unit it is transporting?
Land Raiders of any type don't have Fire Points.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/22 16:51:13
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Imperial Recruit in Training
Calgary AB, Canada
|
Thanks. I was just thinking of really cool conversions I could do and then thought about the fact that I've never used them like that and that there's probably a good reason.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/22 16:55:10
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Ladies Love the Vibro-Cannon Operator
|
fire point is top hatch... doors are part of the top hatch correct?
No, I don't think so. Fire point is the top hatch, nothing else.
|
Former moderator 40kOnline
Lanchester's square law - please obey in list building!
Illumini: "And thank you for not finishing your post with a " " I'm sorry, but after 7200 's that has to be the most annoying sign-off ever."
Armies: Eldar, Necrons, Blood Angels, Grey Knights; World Eaters (30k); Bloodbound; Cryx, Circle, Cyriss |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/22 19:01:33
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
Murfreesboro, TN
|
The hatch and the doors that cover said hatch are two different things. You cannot fire from the doors, as they are not a listed firepoint.
|
As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.
But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.
Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/23 01:45:52
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
ACTUALLY
http://www.thefreedictionary.com/hatch
By definition the covering for the opening is also the hatch.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/23 01:46:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/23 02:17:42
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
Wrack Sufferer
|
We're not talking english definition here. We're talking game rules definition.
In the INAT FAQ the template mearsues from the sides of the hull correct? Does anyone have objections to this? It gives you maybe an extra inch to work with the flamer
|
Once upon a time, I told myself it's better to be smart than lucky. Every day, the world proves me wrong a little more. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/23 02:20:49
Subject: Flamer from Transport
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Typeline wrote:
We're not talking english definition here. We're talking game rules definition.
In the INAT FAQ the template mearsues from the sides of the hull correct? Does anyone have objections to this? It gives you maybe an extra inch to work with the flamer
Nope weapons fired by passenger are measured from the fire point. We just have an exception saying that template weapons fired by passengers do not hit the vehicle they're being fired from.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/23 02:21:22
|
|
 |
 |
|