Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/21 14:32:35
Subject: IG Leadership rule and Go to Ground
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Just a quick question before a game tonight:
If an IG command squad has "Gone to Ground", does the officer's "Leadership special rule" still work? ie can other guard units within 12" still use the officer's Leadership value; if the gone-to-ground unit has a Standard, can the other units reroll their Morale tests?
|
-S
2000 2000 1200
600 190 in progress
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/21 14:48:04
Subject: IG Leadership rule and Go to Ground
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
The standard works fine, there's nothing in it's rule that suggest it can ever stop working other than the model that is bearing it dieing.
But I take the rulebook FAQ answer that follows to indicate that Leadership could not be used.
Q. If I find a reference to a unit that is ‘pinned’,
does it mean a unit that has gone to ground?
A. Yes, ‘pinned’ is simply a short way of saying
‘gone to ground by failing a pinning test’.
I may be wrong, but me and my regular opponents take this to mean that any reference to a pinned unit applies equally to a gone to ground unit.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/21 17:06:14
Subject: IG Leadership rule and Go to Ground
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Drunkspleen wrote:The standard works fine, there's nothing in it's rule that suggest it can ever stop working other than the model that is bearing it dieing.
But I take the rulebook FAQ answer that follows to indicate that Leadership could not be used.
Q. If I find a reference to a unit that is ‘pinned’,
does it mean a unit that has gone to ground?
A. Yes, ‘pinned’ is simply a short way of saying
‘gone to ground by failing a pinning test’.
I may be wrong, but me and my regular opponents take this to mean that any reference to a pinned unit applies equally to a gone to ground unit.
Ok, I don't have my books on me right now (at work). Where does it say that a pinned unit cannot use the Leadership special rule?
I thought that pinned just made reference to something like "Can't move, shoot or do other voluntary actions". But the Leadership rule, while belonging to the officer, seems to me to be like the Synapse rule on Tyranids - a constant effect. ie it's the *other* unit that "uses the officer's Leadership", it's not the officer doing anything per se.
Unless I just missed an obvious rule somewhere...as I said I don't have my books on me, which is why I'm asking on this forum!
|
-S
2000 2000 1200
600 190 in progress
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/21 18:35:16
Subject: IG Leadership rule and Go to Ground
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Strangelooper wrote:Drunkspleen wrote:The standard works fine, there's nothing in it's rule that suggest it can ever stop working other than the model that is bearing it dieing.
But I take the rulebook FAQ answer that follows to indicate that Leadership could not be used.
Q. If I find a reference to a unit that is ‘pinned’,
does it mean a unit that has gone to ground?
A. Yes, ‘pinned’ is simply a short way of saying
‘gone to ground by failing a pinning test’.
I may be wrong, but me and my regular opponents take this to mean that any reference to a pinned unit applies equally to a gone to ground unit.
Ok, I don't have my books on me right now (at work). Where does it say that a pinned unit cannot use the Leadership special rule?
I thought that pinned just made reference to something like "Can't move, shoot or do other voluntary actions". But the Leadership rule, while belonging to the officer, seems to me to be like the Synapse rule on Tyranids - a constant effect. ie it's the *other* unit that "uses the officer's Leadership", it's not the officer doing anything per se.
Unless I just missed an obvious rule somewhere...as I said I don't have my books on me, which is why I'm asking on this forum!
Page 39 of IG codex:
"Any IG unit w/in 12" of Officer may use his Ld when taking Morale and Leadership tests as long as he isn't in close combat, falling back or *pinned*."
Pinned = Go to ground, but the question is, if you Go to ground, are you pinned?
Personally, I think you can Go to Ground and still give Leadership. But if you fail a pinning test and go to ground, then you can not :\
|
The Happy Guardsman
Red Templars
Radical Inquisitor
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/21 19:35:48
Subject: IG Leadership rule and Go to Ground
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
BoxANT wrote:
Page 39 of IG codex:
"Any IG unit w/in 12" of Officer may use his Ld when taking Morale and Leadership tests as long as he isn't in close combat, falling back or *pinned*."
Pinned = Go to ground, but the question is, if you Go to ground, are you pinned?
Personally, I think you can Go to Ground and still give Leadership. But if you fail a pinning test and go to ground, then you can not :\
Ah, ok, there it is. Fair enough, I'm not going to split hairs over "pinned = go to ground, but go to ground =/ pinned" in a friendly game. I'll take it that Standard is useable but Leadership special rule isn't.
I guess the veteran must plant the flag in the ground before the officer and his unit duck and cover.
Thanks guys!
-S
|
-S
2000 2000 1200
600 190 in progress
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/04 16:11:03
Subject: IG Leadership rule and Go to Ground
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
I've been pondering this myself. What I've found is thus:
The leadership cannot be used if the officer is pinned.
To be pinned, you have to fail a pinning test.
Failing a pinning test forces the unit to go to ground.
A unit who chooses to go to ground is just gone to ground.
So, if you just GTG your command squad, it is just gone to ground, not pinned. Nothing in either the BRB or the IG codex says the leadership cannot be used while GTG.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/02/04 16:33:06
Subject: IG Leadership rule and Go to Ground
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Deewalla wrote:I've been pondering this myself. What I've found is thus:
The leadership cannot be used if the officer is pinned.
To be pinned, you have to fail a pinning test.
Failing a pinning test forces the unit to go to ground.
A unit who chooses to go to ground is just gone to ground.
So, if you just GTG your command squad, it is just gone to ground, not pinned. Nothing in either the BRB or the IG codex says the leadership cannot be used while GTG.
100% agree, great summary!
|
DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
|
|
 |
 |
|