Switch Theme:

Combat Squads, reserves and Dawn of War  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Despised Traitorous Cultist



Helsinki, Finland

As the decision to split SM units into Combat Squads is made when the unit is deployed, can it be used with units in reserve? They aren't deployed on the table per se, and the DA codex strictly forbids this. The same question also applies in Dawn of War missions, where the units in question enter the table on turn one, ie they are not deployed on the table but are not in reserve.

My interpretation has been that both situations, it is not allowed to split the units. But not being a native English speaker, I may be clinging too much on the term "deploy" as a synonym for placing troops on the table before the game begins. What do you think?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






drinking ale on the ground like russ intended

This only works with drop pod units reserves stay together till deployed on the table then they can split.

Logan's Great Company Oh yeah kickin' and not even bothering to take names. 2nd company 3rd company ravenguard House Navaros Forge world Lucious & Titan legion void runners 314th pie guard warboss 'ed krunchas waaaaaargh This thred needs more cow bell. Raised to acolyte of the children of the church of turtle pie by chaplain shrike 3/06/09 Help stop thread necro do not post in a thread more than a month old. "Dakkanaut" not "Dakkaite"
Join the Church of the Children of Turtle Pie To become a member pm me or another member of the Church  
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Really? the rule says when a unit is deployed they can combat squad ... the rule for reserves say when they arrive they are deployed ... same for deep striking.

i thought that the only reason drop pods were include was that they aren't deployed as such more they disembark.
   
Made in us
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions




Lost Carcosa

I agree with Tri. The word Deploy or deployed etc is use in all those cases.

I believe that the rules are saying when a unit is Deployed then its allowed to Combat Squad at that moment.

However, while not specifically said in the rules, I feel this only applies when the unit is first deployed. Useing Gate of Infinity to Combat Squad a unit mid game I dont agree with. However that is my opinion, and not backed up int eh rules as far as I can recall.

Standing in the light, I see only darkness.  
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


You decide whether to combat squad or not when deploying the unit from reserve. So if the unit is deep striking when it becomes available you decide if you're going to combat squad it, and if you do you'd roll for each unit to land separately (the combat squad rules state that the units can be deployed separately).

The only exception to this is with Drop Pods, which because of their special rule they are allowed to effectively split after the unit has arrived on the table (by Deep Striking in the Pod).


So with Gate of Infinity this is not an issue because the rules for GOI say that the Librarian and the unit are "placed back together" on the table using the DS rules. Obviously if the squad was to be split via combat squads they would no longer be together with the Librarian and therefore it is not allowed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/31 04:11:38


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions




Lost Carcosa

Thanks Yak. I knew it wasnt right but didnt have the Codex on me at work to referance the Marine side of the rules.

Standing in the light, I see only darkness.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: