Switch Theme:

Old transport capacity rule.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot






There used to be a rule regarding Transport capacity that said you could take x amount of models PLUS one IC. Like, 10 Marines in a rhino, plus a Librarian.
Anyone know where this rule was written? Was it 3rd or 4th ed. rulebook? An FAQ? Anyone remember?



Ghidorah

   
Made in us
Plastictrees






Salem, MA

Been playing since 3rd edition and don't remember any such rule. If you wanted an IC in your transport, you always had to leave the squad one below max.

"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Not sure where it came about, but it still holds true.

Whatever your transport capacity is...that *is* your defining characteristic. If you can hold 10 models, you can take nine + an IC, at which point, the IC is attached to the unit (only one unit per transport).

A favorite of mine is to put 10 Nobs + Ghazhkull Thraka (counts as two) into a trukk, and Ghazzy is attached to the nobs. Or 19 Boyz + Mad Dok Grotsnik into a battlewagon.

   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




IIRC the Eldar Waveserpent is (was?) worded like that. A squad of ten guardians or five wraithguard can still find room to cram in their warlock above the capacity.
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal





Eldar Waveserpent Transport section (assuming the codex I am reading is the newest): A Wave Serpent may transport a single unit of up to 12 models (or 5 Wraithguard models and up to 2 characters).

So yeah...but either way, this 4th ed transport rule doesn't seem to be in 5th ed...

7000 pts (Not including Gauss Pylon Network)
Alpharius wrote:Meltdown at the Nuclear Over-reactor!
Run! Run! RUN!
Unit1126PLL wrote:Everything is a gunline. Khorne berzerkers have pistols? Gunline unit. Tanks can't assault? They're all, every last one, a gunline. Planes? Gunline. Motorcycles? Mobile gunline. Mono-Khorne daemons? Bloodthirster has shooting attack. Gunline.
 
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





He talks about the 3rd edition Eldar Codex. Then a Wave Serpent could hold 10 models or 5 Wraithguard and a Warlock.
So it was only if you assumed that a Wraitguard model counted as two normal models (which was wrong) that the Warlock would seem like an extra model.

10 Guardians + Warlock are 11 models so could not fit in or even buy a Wave Serpent.

I don't know anything about what the OP asks for BTW.

In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: