Poll |
 |
|
 |
Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 10:51:26
Subject: Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
This question came up in our last game. The question has likely been asked before but i can't find a definitve answer. I've checked the GW FAQ's and found no mention of it either.
As per the rules a template weapon can't be allowed to hit a friendly unit. So firing from the top hatch of a rhino prohibits a template weapon being used as it will hit the rhino.
True or False.
I ask the Dear Dakka folks for their opinion and reasoning.
Please keep it civil though I think we all just want to play by the rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 12:14:54
Subject: Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
by RAW you can't fire from a vehicle where the firing port is above any other part of the vehicle for example a rhino's top hatch.
I have never seen anyone argue about this though, almost everyone seems to realise it's an oversight and allow it.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 13:20:09
Subject: Re:Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 13:54:41
Subject: Re:Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I have seen posts regarding vehicles that fire template weapons. However I'm more interested in the occupants of those transports and wether they can fire or not.
I'm trying to remain impartial in this... As I'll be forwarding the thread to a few friends... So we can agree upon the rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 14:00:20
Subject: Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Frenzied Juggernaut
|
yes they may, i dunno why your friends are having a problem with this. as i've never had a problem with this with any game i've ever played in. it's one of those no brainer things.
|
qwekel wants to get bigger, please click on him and level him up.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 14:39:03
Subject: Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
RAW indicates that they can't; RAI indicates that they probably can. I would personally say "go for it," but if you're going to be a real stickler on the rules, it's probably illegal.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/27 16:03:18
Subject: Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
It's always something you can bring up if somebody annoy you with RAW.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 17:51:15
Subject: Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
By RAW, you can never fire a flamer template period.............
"Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so
that its narrow end is touching the base of the model
firing it and the rest of the template covers as many
models as possible in the target unit without touching
any friendly models."
Oops, it's touching a friendly model (the model firing it!), can't be fired. BTW, I voted Yes.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 18:09:41
Subject: Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
The answer to the question is an unequivocal "yes". Anyone who argues this question with you deserves a sound drubbing with a dredsock.
|
MAKE OF THIS WHAT YOU WILL, FOR YOU WILL BE MINE IN THE END NO MATTER WHAT! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 18:15:48
Subject: Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
don_mondo wrote:By RAW, you can never fire a flamer template period.............
"Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so
that its narrow end is touching the base of the model
firing it and the rest of the template covers as many
models as possible in the target unit without touching
any friendly models."
Oops, it's touching a friendly model (the model firing it!), can't be fired. BTW, I voted Yes.
This was what I was about to say, and that I agree its crystal clear that you can actually use the weapon without hurting yourself.
|
If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 19:32:20
Subject: Re:Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
when firing from vehicles (open topped or otherwise) you fire from the vehicles hull (a rhino allows two models to fire from the vehicle) So for instance if you were firing a flamer you place the end of the flamer on the hull of your vehicle (just like if a infantry/bike model was firing it)
|
"For the emperor!" "E' aint listenin!" *squish* (my fav blood and thunder quote)
BUT NOBS are NO GOOD at CC "ork town grot"
-perhaps the single dumbest comment I have ever heard-
Boss Zagstruck and Her-ORKick intervention, anything you can do we can do better |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 20:29:27
Subject: Re:Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Evasive Eshin Assassin
|
da gob smaka wrote:when firing from vehicles (open topped or otherwise) you fire from the vehicles hull (a rhino allows two models to fire from the vehicle) So for instance if you were firing a flamer you place the end of the flamer on the hull of your vehicle (just like if a infantry/bike model was firing it)
i must have missed that rule... the rulebook says that range and LoS is measured from the fire point so i would think this would include placement of the template. The exception is open topped vehicles, they use the hull.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/03/03 21:27:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 21:04:06
Subject: Re:Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
da gob smaka wrote:when firing from vehicles (open topped or otherwise) you fire from the vehicles hull (a rhino allows two models to fire from the vehicle) So for instance if you were firing a flamer you place the end of the flamer on the hull of your vehicle (just like if a infantry/bike model was firing it)
Incorrect. Check the "Transport Vehicles" rules on p.66, under the heading "Fire Points". The rules for "Open-Topped Transport Vehicles" are on p. 70.
Passengers in open-topped vehicles use the hull. Fire Points for all other transport vehicles.
|
MAKE OF THIS WHAT YOU WILL, FOR YOU WILL BE MINE IN THE END NO MATTER WHAT! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 21:15:13
Subject: Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
Its an oversight. The purpose of the rule is to stop you from flaming your own guys, not to stop you from firing out of transports. There are tons of exampls of flamer weapons that can be mounted on vehicles where the template would touch the vehicle. Combi-Flamers on CSM rhinos for example. Obviously these weapons would be allowed to fire, so there is no reason why ones from passengers wouldn't.
|
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/03 21:42:21
Subject: Can a template weapon be fired from a transport?
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
I agreee with drugde, even the hellhounds cannon underhangs slightly, and for the example of the rhinos firepoint on its top hatch, how exactly would a marine fire out of it, by standing and firing downward and outward, they dont just fire straight through the hull and flames dont act in a collumn with the template, they fire in a cone pattern.
|
Armies I play:
-5000 pts
-2500 pts
Mechanicus -1850 pts |
|
 |
 |
|