Switch Theme:

Am i Missing something (New Guard Codex??)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Denton Tx

Or does a Valk or a Vendetta have no good use for the scout ability cause there not dedicated transports.

Can someone please clean up this ruling for me!!!

Also Big Rule Book page numbers also for reference!!

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







/facepalm

A Unit may embark on any transport (dedicated or not) in reserves.
If Embarked on a transport with scout or Deep Strike, the unit may enter play inside the transport while it outflanks/deep strikes. (People might say otherwise, even though they are the same people who have no problem with Drop Pods. Just Ignore them)

Or you could use the scout move to just move really really fast and raep side armour with your lascannons if you really wanted to.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/14 17:35:42


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Denton Tx

OK where is this explained in the rule book??

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Page 94, Reserves Rules.
Page 94 wrote:Similarly. the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserve is carrying any of the infantry units and/or independent characters in reserve. If they do, the unit and the transport wilt be rolled for together and will arrive together


Nowhere does it say in order to arrive via an Deep Striking/outflanking Transport the carried unit has to be able to Deep Strike/Outflank. If it did, then SM couldn't arrive via drop pod, since there are no rules saying they may. Instead Drop Pods are just counted as a normal transport that just happens to arrive via deep strike.

And please, one Exclamation/Question mark per sentence is enough.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/04/14 17:41:09


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Denton Tx

Drop pods are dedicated transports tho
Valks and Vend..... are not


 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Denton Tx

Don't get me wrong i just need to know how it works with actual rules that state it can work. That's not to hard to ask is it?


And trust me i want this to work! lol

:: EDIT FOR EXCESSIVE PUNCTUATION ::

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/14 17:44:00


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nickt2245 wrote:Drop pods are dedicated transports tho
Valks and Vend..... are not

As I said, it doesn't matter. The ONLY difference between a Dedicated transport and a non dedicated transport (and please, I must stress the ONLY a lot) is that a Dedicated Transport may have the unit it was bought for start the game deployed and embarked on it, and no other unit may start the game (or embark in reserves) in another squads Dedicated transport.

I have already given you the rules that allow it to work.

There is also an Edit button.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/14 17:44:10


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Denton Tx

Nice Gwar way to be helpful..... You have taken an excerpt of the rule on something these are not and expanded to work for other things. There isnt anything saying that you can deploy inside transports in your deployment zone! Or is there? I need pages to support the issue not Gwar Hammer 40k.

 
   
Made in us
Boosting Ultramarine Biker





Denton, TX

To clarify what the OP is trying to ask....

He is looking for a ruling in the book that specifically states that you may deploy infantry in non-dedicated transports. While pg 94 does pretty much imply that you are able to, it does not say anything about deploying a transport on the table with a squad of infantry already embarked.

While it is pretty much accepted that you can in fact start the game with units deployed in non-dedicated transports, there are no actual ruling in the book that says "You may start the game with an infantry squad deployed in a non-dedicated transport."

5500
3500
2000  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nickt2245 wrote:Nice Gwar way to be helpful..... You have taken an excerpt of the rule on something these are not and expanded to work for other things. There isnt anything saying that you can deploy inside transports in your deployment zone! Or is there? I need pages to support the issue not Gwar Hammer 40k.
You are right, there is no rule specificaly saying you can deploy inside non dedicated transports on the field.

However, there IS a rule saying you may board a transport in Reserves, as I have quoted already.
You can declare that Squad A is embarking on the Valk in reserves, and that the Valk is entering via Outflank/Deepstrike.

Perhaps if you bothered with grammar and readable sentences I might be able to help you better.

@Axyl: you are correct, RaW you cannot deploy in a non dedicated transport if you actually deploy them. If held in reserves, however they may, as it is specifically spelled out in the handy part I quoted there. It doesn't restrict it to dedicated transports only. What RaI might be has no bearing, but I personally feel it is an oversight, but no matter.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/04/14 18:08:57


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Denton Tx


Is there a page number on this........ sorry about grammar I'm infact slowed (i could care less i do not suffer from pride)
Gwar! wrote:However, there IS a rule saying you may board a transport in Reserves

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Read the quote in my second post please. It's on page 94.

Also, you do know that the meaning of slowed is to have been delayed or impeded. It has nothing to do with Mental Capacity, except as a Derogatory and Offensive slang word.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/14 18:13:45


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Denton Tx

thank you

 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Denton Tx

Cool so you just outflank them every time! Thats good enough for me.

 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Denton Tx

EDITED BY THE MODQUISITION.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/14 18:36:18


 
   
Made in gb
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





Axyl wrote:While it is pretty much accepted that you can in fact start the game with units deployed in non-dedicated transports, there are no actual ruling in the book that says "You may start the game with an infantry squad deployed in a non-dedicated transport."


Most certainly there is. You can measure range to units embarked on transports, this allows me to prove that a unit inside a transport in my deployment zone is also legally placed in my deployment zone.

On the main question GWAR is right, this time, its irrelevant what the passengers can or can't do.. all they're doing at this stage is sitting in their seats until the 'keep seatbelts fastened' sign turns off. There is no requirement for passengers to have the same special rules as the transport, for illustraitive purposes we can point at the abiltiy to move faster than infantry and fire weapons on the move as well... actions which are similarly uneffected by the presence of passengers.

A lot of people tend to get pre-occupied with the rule that lets outflanking units give their dedicated transport their ability, which is nice but irrelevent to non-dedicated transports. The question we need to ask is can the transport outflank? In the case of a devilfish belonging to pathfinders or a valkerie the answer is yes, it doesn't matter where it gets it's abilty from. It has the rule and may use it.


If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Now I'm confused, was the "this time" aimed at "GWAR is right" or "its irrelevant what the passengers can or can't do".

I assume its the second one

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Boosting Ultramarine Biker





Denton, TX

@ Hymirl:

I've run down that road several times. You can also prove it by stating that since a dedicated transport is limited to the unit it is bought with then it would make since that a non-dedicated transport has no limitation.

There are plenty of logical conclusions and 'clues' in the rule book to state that you are able to deploy in a non-dedicated transport, but there is nothing specifically stating that you can....

...a moot point anyway since I am in fact on your side here. You can deploy embarked in a non-dedicated transport.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/14 18:43:46


5500
3500
2000  
   
Made in gb
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





Axyl wrote:...but there is nothing specifically stating that you can....


I feel that demanding specific mentions for everything is taking things too far, the basic rules are more than able to handle the sitation so I let them do it. Similarly theres no rule saying you can specificly deploy in area terrain, or on top of a hill and so on. Nevertheless I agree the end result isn't worth being worked up about... after all I'd need to change my avatar for firefox if I wanted to do that in every thread!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/14 18:52:05



If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

Heres what you do;

Buy 50 guards men. Keep 40 in one block (for surviveability/casultie/massed single target firepower) and shave off 10 to get put into that valk.

That valk can now go ahead and do its job & outflank (with the help of an astropath) and move along @ 6" (after arriving, mostly likely, where you want it, again with the help of the astropath) firing 3 tl-lascannons. It is also a scoring vehicle capable of fast-skimmer movement.

Go ahead & go crazy, get creed, & outflank (using the scouts USR) a 3-strong squadren of Leman Russes.

But ofcourse all of these things costs points & while theres many many awesome things you can do (a 10man strong psyker squad in a chimera, with psyhic shooting attack that = str 10 AP d6 large blasts Or -10 on LD that just requires a passed Psychic tests..which can be combined with infiltrating first round-pinning, hot-shot lasgun wielding storm troopers for auto-pinning purposes) it'll be a case of finding a balance to accomplish everything required in an army.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/04/14 20:07:43


 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Leman Russes with Pask in one just for fun!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/14 20:05:31


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

Gwar! wrote:Leman Russes with Pask in one just for fun!


Exactly my point! With soo many awesome things to choose from.. what will you choose. It will be awhile before really optimised lists come out. "But I can put everything in chimeras!" you say.. Well thats 55pts x how many seperate sqauds? Im thinking bare minimum of three & thats using the more expensive vets. 7 if you wanna use normal platoons. If you dont, guard are still guard @ T3 5+.. Be warned

(General, everyone rant btw)

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in au
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




Australia

Can I hold an infantry squad and transport in reserves and have the infantry squad come on the board in the transport?

109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

Yar.

I ohnestly couldnt tell you the rule or page, I just know that you can.

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I could tell you the page as Gwar has cited it multiple times in this very thread.

Page 94.

"Similarly. the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserve is carrying any of the infantry units and/or independent characters in reserve. If they do, the unit and the transport wilt be rolled for together and will arrive together"

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Sorry for being really slow and dense here. I just need it spelled out.

Unit A buys a dedicated transport capable of Outflanking.

Unit B cannot be deployed inside said transport, if placed on the table during deployment.

Unit B CAN be placed inside the previously mentioned transport and kept in reserve to arrive via Outflank.

Is that correct?

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






No, the rule which disallows a unit from being deployed in a dedicated transport belonging to a different unit also means that the first unit could not arrive from reserves in the second units transport, as deployment is when the models first arrive on the table.

so if Unit A buys a dedicated transport capable of outflanking, nobody can outflank in it except for Unit A, although the transport could also outflank empty.

With regards to the Valkyries and Vendettas, they are not dedicated transport choices but rather fast attack choices, which means any unit can be deployed in them or choose to arrive from reserves in them.

While I have known some people to disagree in the past it is my feeling that this allows any squad to be inside the valkyrie/vendetta when it is outflanking, regardless of what the squad may be.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Ok. I agree.

I just found the text of the previous posts so convoluted that I needed somebody to clear up what was meant.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

Drunkspleen wrote:I could tell you the page as Gwar has cited it multiple times in this very thread.



Whos Gwar?

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Razerous wrote:
Drunkspleen wrote:I could tell you the page as Gwar has cited it multiple times in this very thread.



Whos Gwar?
You rang?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: