Switch Theme:

Am i Missing something (New Guard Codex??)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Committed Chaos Cult Marine






If you look in the top left corner of each post, there is a name. This name may be referenced by other people. This is what Drunkspleen was indicating (the name) when he referenced Gwar.

Check out my blog at:http://ironchaosbrute.blogspot.com.

Vivano crudelis exitus.

Da Boss wrote:No no, Richard Dawkins arresting the Pope is inherently hilarious. It could only be funnier if when it happens, His Holiness exclaims "Rats, it's the Fuzz! Let's cheese it!" and a high speed Popemobile chase ensues.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Razerous wrote:Heres what you do;

Buy 50 guards men. Keep 40 in one block (for surviveability/casultie/massed single target firepower) and shave off 10 to get put into that valk.

That valk can now go ahead and do its job & outflank (with the help of an astropath) and move along @ 6" (after arriving, mostly likely, where you want it, again with the help of the astropath) firing 3 tl-lascannons. It is also a scoring vehicle capable of fast-skimmer movement.

Go ahead & go crazy, get creed, & outflank (using the scouts USR) a 3-strong squadren of Leman Russes.

But ofcourse all of these things costs points & while theres many many awesome things you can do (a 10man strong psyker squad in a chimera, with psyhic shooting attack that = str 10 AP d6 large blasts Or -10 on LD that just requires a passed Psychic tests..which can be combined with infiltrating first round-pinning, hot-shot lasgun wielding storm troopers for auto-pinning purposes) it'll be a case of finding a balance to accomplish everything required in an army.


Just a couple of notes. You can't use the Creed Scout ability on a squadron. Psyker Battle Squad maxes at ST 9 balst or -9 on LD (9 psykers and 1 overseer in a maxed out squad).

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Errr, what makes you say you cant use it on a Squadron?
Creed: "Choose a single infantry or vehicle unit"

Page 64 BRB: "Most vehicles fight as individual units and are represented by a Single model. However, some ... operate in units of more than one vehicle, known as squadrons. These follow the rules for normal units..."

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

IIRC, there are a couple more words in Creed's rules behind the ones you have quoted that say something like, not a squadron.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





don_mondo wrote:IIRC, there are a couple more words in Creed's rules behind the ones you have quoted that say something like, not a squadron.

Nope!
Gwar is correct, Creed can give Scouts to any unit including a vehicle squadron.

In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







don_mondo wrote:IIRC, there are a couple more words in Creed's rules behind the ones you have quoted that say something like, not a squadron.
You remember incorrectly my good sir.
As one of the lucky few to have one in my hands, I can quote to you verbatim Creeds rule:
Page 57 wrote:Tactical Genius: During Deployment, choose a single infantry or vehicle unit in your army. That unit has the Scouts special rule for the duration of the battle.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions




Lost Carcosa

The internet is a beautifl thing. I think a lot of people will have it in their hands soon.


Standing in the light, I see only darkness.  
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Hmmm, OK, I misremembered something I looked up last night then.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




So, to be perfectly clear here. The rules DO NOT allow you to deploy a NON-dedicated transport on the table at the start of the game with any unit embarked inside. However, you may place said transport in reserve at which point you can decide to put a unit inside. The transport and the unit will now deploy and/or outflank together when they arrive from reserves.

Dedicated transports on the other hand may deploy on the table at the start of the game (or be placed in reserve) with the unit they are dedicated to embarked (but no other unit).

Do I have this right?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




holden - no, to be clear the rules DO let you do this, as dedicated transportrs say they function as normal transports EXCEPT that only the unit is bought for can be deployed inside. that menas that yes, you can.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: