Switch Theme:

Tankbusta tankhammers and Bomb squigs  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 alextroy wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Basically, is it one attack or two? It seems like you are saying that it is one attack with two hit rolls..
It is effectively both. It is one attack made by the model that is resolved as two attacks because each of the two hit rolls of the one attack are treated as separate attacks. I know this seems to be a strange concept to you, but the rules are very clear on this point until you get hung up on the Tankhammer Abilities.
And you can only resolve one attack with the Tankhammer, because that is what the Tankhammer rules say.

If you make an attack you need to resolve that attack, so making an attack = resolving an attack. Edit: I forgot the citation here it is. (Quote from the glossary, Resolving an Attack)

Do you understand now?

Spoiler:
Rihgu wrote:

So, by your reading of the rules, when a Gorkanaut makes a Smash attack with its Klaw of Gork (Or possibly Mork) the sequence to making an attack is:
1. Roll 3 to hit rolls. All 3 are 5s and hit.
2. Roll 1 to wound roll. As 1 attack has hit with any of its 3 to hit rolls.
3. Roll 1 save for target unit.
4. Allocate damage from 1 wounding attack to the target.

Or, when a Goff Boy makes an attack...
1. Roll a to hit roll. The result is 6.
2. Immediately roll another to hit roll. The result is 5 and hits.
3. Roll 1 wound roll, because at least 1 of the 2 hit roll attacks was successful.
4. Roll 1 save for target unit.
4. Allocate damage from 1 wounding attack to the target.

Is this correct? And if it is not, why is it not?
No. One attack with multiple hit rolls are different attacks, and are resolved as such. (This is why the Tankhammer stops the second attack from going through).

When a Gorkanaut makes a Smash attack with its Klaw of Gork (Or possibly Mork) the sequence to making an attack is:
1. Roll 1 to hit roll for one of the three attacks. It is a 5 and hits.
2. Roll 1 to wound roll. As this attack hit.
3. Roll 1 save for target unit.
4. Allocate damage from 1 wounding attack to the target.
5. Then repeat for the other 2 attacks that it gets to make from that one attack because of the Smash rules.


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/03/10 22:19:16


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

It says you can only MAKE one attack with the Tankhammer, not that you can only RESOLVE one attack with the weapon.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Kansas, United States

 JNAProductions wrote:
It says you can only MAKE one attack with the Tankhammer, not that you can only RESOLVE one attack with the weapon.


I'm unclear on exactly how you can resolve an attack you didn't make...

Yes, I get that the Goffs rule says you can make an additional hit roll, but the weapon rule says only one can be made. I think, at this point, arguing over the minutiae of semantics is getting everyone nowhere.

Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 JNAProductions wrote:
It says you can only MAKE one attack with the Tankhammer, not that you can only RESOLVE one attack with the weapon.
You have to make an attack to be able to resolve it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/10 18:44:10


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 Octopoid wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:
It says you can only MAKE one attack with the Tankhammer, not that you can only RESOLVE one attack with the weapon.


I'm unclear on exactly how you can resolve an attack you didn't make...

Yes, I get that the Goffs rule says you can make an additional hit roll, but the weapon rule says only one can be made. I think, at this point, arguing over the minutiae of semantics is getting everyone nowhere.
Because you're not allocating another attack to it, you're just getting another hit roll.

I do agree that it's ambiguous-I'd err on the side of "You can get 2d3 mortals" both because that seems to be the best reading, and it's not gonna break the game or anything.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




the weapon does not have a profile, so you cannot get another "Attack with it" It simply grants a benefit if a hit is made with it. It would be literally incapable of wounding, because it has null damage, strength, and AP. It would just count as null. Not to mention the model holding is is dead per sequencing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/10 18:45:49


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





You can't, a lot of the posts on this have become rules lawyering statements which are ignoring that making multiple hit rolls is making multiple attacks and the tankhammer specifically allows the model to make a single attack per each time it fights.

Getting to make another hit roll is RAW making another attack from the rare rule people keep quoting and ignoring the sentence in it that calls out making more hit rolls are treated as separate attacks, which is more than a singular attack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/10 18:48:25


 
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




New side tangent. The model does not die, it specifically states "Remove the bearer" does that mean from the game or from the table?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
New side tangent. The model does not die, it specifically states "Remove the bearer" does that mean from the game or from the table?


I think it means to hand carry it to home depot to find the board stretchers for when wood gets cut too short.
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




If the bearer is "removed from the table" does it count towards morale?
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






Actually, since I've read through the rulebook once again, and can now cite an actual rule, I'm on team "can't".

Since the glossary section, under Resolving an Attack, says "Resolving an attack is the same as making an attack". That clears it up.

Wow! Citing rules is fun, easy, and profitable! And is rule #1 of this subforum, too!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/10 18:54:33


I'm on a podcast about (video) game design:
https://makethatgame.com

And I also make tabletop wargaming videos!
https://www.youtube.com/@tableitgaming 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Not really relevant. The rules already allow you to make more attacks than initially allowed. Let's walk through it.
Shooting Phase wrote:NUMBER OF ATTACKS
When a model shoots a ranged weapon, it will make a number of attacks. You make one hit roll for each attack being made (see Making Attacks, page 18).

The number of attacks that a model makes with a ranged weapon is equal to the number written on that weapon’s profile after its type. For example, a model shooting an ‘Assault 1’ weapon can make one attack with that weapon; a model firing a ‘Heavy 3’ weapon can make three attacks, and so on.
Fight Phase wrote:Number of Attacks
When a model fights, it will make a number of attacks. You make one hit roll for each attack being made (see Making Attacks, page 18).
The number of attacks a model makes is determined by its Attacks (A) characteristic, which can be found on its datasheet. For example, if a model has an A of 2, it can make two attacks.
Note that both of these rules dictate the number of attacks a model may make.
Tankhammer wrote:Each time the bearer fights, it can only make a single attack with this weapon. If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds and the bearer is slain.
Chainsword wrote:When the bearer fights, it makes 1 additional attack with this weapon.
Spoiler:
Core Rules FAQ wrote:Add the following:
Attacks That Make Multiple Hit Rolls
Some rules, typically weapon abilities, tell you to roll more than one hit roll for each attack made , e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, make 2 hit rolls instead of 1’. In these cases, each hit roll is treated as a separate attack that is made against the same target. As such, all normal rules that are triggered by attacks, or that apply to attacks (such as re-rolls or modifiers conferred by other rules) apply to each ‘hit roll’. Note that these additional attacks do not themselves result in more hit rolls being made.
Now note that all four of these rules change, in one way or another, the number of attacks a model may make based on the rules for both the Shooting and Fight phases. They all alter the rules, but none state they exclude the others from applying.

Tankhammer only allows 1 attack with it out of those allowed by your Attacks characteristic when you fight. No Muckin' About adds to what the Tankhammer allows, requiring you to make an additional Hit Roll on an unmodified Hit Roll of 6. There is no contradiction here. No breaking of rules. Just applying the rules as written. Tankhammer does not have a regardless of any other rules statement that prevents more Hit Rolls or attacks so you get to make them when a rule allows or requires them.

Or are we saying that since the rules for the Fight Phase say you get a number of attacks a model gets equal to its Attack Characteristic that No Muckin About doesn't work at all for any weapon? Or that making an additional attack with a Chainsword is illegal because that is more than the rules for the Fight Phase allow?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/10 23:58:14


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 alextroy wrote:
Tankhammer pushes you down from your Attack characteristic to 1 attack with that weapon when you fight.
Citation needed, because the Tankhammer rules say nothing about moving your "Attack characteristic to 1"

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

 DeathReaper wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
Tankhammer pushes you down from your Attack characteristic to 1 attack with that weapon when you fight.
Citation needed, because the Tankhammer rules say nothing about moving your "Attack characteristic to 1"
Let me clarify. Normally you attack your close combat weapon a number of attacks equal to your Attacks characteristic. Tankhammer only allows one of those attacks to be made with it. The rest must be made with a different close combat weapon. That is what I meant by pushes you down (since Tankbustas have A 2) to 1 with the Tankhammer.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/10 23:56:27


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

And "Resolving an attack is the same as making an attack" so if you get 2 to hit rolls from a Tankhammer, you are breaking the rules.

FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
New side tangent. The model does not die, it specifically states "Remove the bearer" does that mean from the game or from the table?
Hmm what I have seen the Tankhammer says "If the attack hits, the target suffers D3 mortal wounds and the bearer is slain."

Was there an FAQ I missed or something?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2021/03/11 00:22:59


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in dk
Longtime Dakkanaut




Danmark

I am fairly confident it states that the Bearer is slain, not the bearer is removed.

Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Beardedragon wrote:
I am fairly confident it states that the Bearer is slain, not the bearer is removed.

Is the most current Orx Codex :
Spoiler:

If it is, it says:
Spoiler:


So you would be correct.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/11 09:08:03


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in dk
Longtime Dakkanaut




Danmark

to be fair, does the sentence: The bearer is removed" pop up in any codex atm at all?

The bearer is removed" sounds kind of annoying to deal with rules wise if its meant to be used on models that "die". like, as someone said, if it didnt die but was removed, do you still count morale? Do they count towards thin their ranks?

Slain" makes more sense.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2021/03/11 10:36:29


Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




sorry, I was just google searching Tankbusta rulessheets. And the first datasheet I say said "removed". I would have gone to BS, but I know how much that source is "beloved" by this sub.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: