Switch Theme:

Transports during Dawn of War mission setup  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

I was in a tournament this past weekend, and this mission was Dawn of War. One HQ and two troop choices.

I put out two trukks; one with Ghazghkull and 10 nobs in it, and one with 12 boyz in it. Simple enough.

Someone on the table next to me said that was illegal, and the tournament organizer agreed with him; as in, dedicated transports count as a unit choice for Dawn of War.

Anyone that can point to rules for me on this one? The DoW rule demonstrates someone with a vehicle putting out just the vehicle with 1 troop choice and an HQ inside and saying that they're deployed. Could use specific help.


   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






The DoW rules never clearly state whether a vehicle counts for deployment purposes or not, although because it uses the term unit and it is known a vehicle counts as a seperate unit for all purposes it's not really an unclear rule, just poorly written.

I believe however there is an example (one of the little gray sideboxes) provided with the Dawn of War rules that clearly shows vehicles counting as seperate units.

edit: should have read the full question, anyway that demonstration clearly says the vehicle counts as his second unit of troops, if you re-read it it clarifies the deployment system almost entirely on it's own.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/03 00:01:34


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

The reason I'm a bit incredulous is because I've been playing Warhammer 40k for almost a year now and if I've been doing it wrong the entire time, no one has ever said anything.

   
Made in us
Morphing Obliterator




The Void

Dashofpepper wrote:The reason I'm a bit incredulous is because I've been playing Warhammer 40k for almost a year now and if I've been doing it wrong the entire time, no one has ever said anything.


Most people don't really have any idea how the rules actually work

Always 1 on the crazed roll. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

That's because a lot of people make the same mistake you did.

 
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




Northern Virginia

drunkenspleen is correct Dash. If you read the little grey box it clearly states that transports are a separate unit.

Think about it this way as well. If in fact transports were not separate units, Black Templars would would be nigh unstoppable in DOW missions. Have crusader squads in dedicated landraider transports for troops and a commander with termies retinue in a dedicated transport landraider. That is 3 close combat squads that reroll all attacks in 3 landraiders in assault range on turn 1 regardless of who deployed first. A little unfair don't you think? Even without alpha strike its a terrifyingly powerful turn 1.

"Paranoia is a very reassuring state of mind. If you think they are after you, you think you matter" 
   
Made in us
Wraith





Raleigh, North Carolina

That game was lame. Just sayin'.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Kirby, I left you a message about the tournament this coming weekend. Wanna go there instead of our friendly game?

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Drudge Dreadnought wrote:Most people don't really have any idea how the rules actually work
insaniak wrote:That's because a lot of people make the same mistake you did.
I didn't! The only time I ever make a Mistake is if I am Drunk, and then it doesnt count

But yeah, Transports are a special case in DoW, as spelled out in the DoW rules.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

So Gwar makes mistakes continuously from rise to rest! (But they don't count)

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




The Eye of Terror

Ooh that's cold.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I dont get why it is "unclear" in the DOW rules - it gives dedicated transports as a specific example, showing they do indeed count as one of your allowed units....
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






It is unclear cause it is only in the examples, not with the rest of the rules. Does it still make sense yes, but certinly not common sense.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




But the rules state units, not selections. units are any independent run models / groups of models.

I guess people forget that vehicles are units...
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Yep, your opponent and the TO were correct. even without the specific example of a dedicated transport in the DoW deployment rules, there's the bit on page 92, Multiple Unit Choices:

Note that occasionally the Codexes allow the player to
include several units in his army at the cost of a single
force organisation slot (like dedicated transports, etc.).
Apart from being bought as a single choice, these units
operate and count as separate units in all respects.

Notice how once again dedicated transports are specifically mentioned................

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: